We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exotic Hotel in Charming Neighbourhood”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Aleppo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Martini Dar Zamaria Hotel
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Aleppo
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam
Level Contributor
429 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Exotic Hotel in Charming Neighbourhood”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2010

gem of a Hotel tucked in a vibrant and colorful neighbourhood. I love the courtyards and alleyways. 3 mins away from a lively square where local youths hangout, and local bread are sold. A great place to soak in atmosphere. The only problem is communicating with taxis can be a problem, so make sure you have the Hotel name and address written in arabic

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sodesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    20
    7
    4
    2
See reviews for
9
24
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Turkey
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2009

We were a group of friends who are hotel owners and trael agents.Location is very good,rooms are nice and clean and breakfast was good.All around Syria,no mather where you stay,service is poor.They don't meen bad but do not know tourism yet.The towels are allways worn out and grayish,I guess the water is pretty bad but smell clean:-)) The "red head" receptionist is an Armenian girl who is helpfull but thats all.If they have more prof. staff and change the towels,they are in a much nicer neighbourhood than "mansouria".

Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank DortOda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2009

Great location but poor and arrogant service (except for the red-headed woman at the front desk.) Our room was very small and not very clean. I would ask to see a room before accepting it. After one day, we left and went to the Mandaloun which was excellent.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bruce2NewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait
Level Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2009

After a hair raising taxi ride by a friendly taxi driver in the wee small hours of the morning we arrived at the hotel.
After a speedy check in, we were directed to our rooms which were located in the adjacent building to the main hotel, down a small alleyway. The rooms were large and charming, decorated in the local style. The bathrooms were a good size, and the water pressure good. As we found in all of Syria, the mattresses are a bit hard, but we had no trouble sleeping off our endless sightseeing. Breakfast is buffet style, and quite expansive in choice. We had dinner in the hotel one night - it was very good and inexpensive. All in all a great location and good value for money.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissyQw8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2009

The hotel itself is extremely attractive. I was in the main building (apparently there are others) and I liked the style a lot - courtyards, fountains, Middle Eastern arches. It's also very well located (although perhaps a little tricky to find first-time - like every Syrian hotel I stayed in) close to a nice little pedestrian square and within easy walking distance of the old city.

The restaurant on the roof is also extremely attractive with a terrific night-time view of the city. The problem - again - was the service. At first I was seated away to the side with a constant stream of waiters walking past me and not giving me a menu. I then changed tables of my own accord before finally being given a menu - fifteen minutes after arriving. A succession of mishaps then followed - dirty glass, waiting a long time for food only to see starter and main dish arrive simultaneously, the main dish was then cold and not particulary tasty either. I was then over-charged and had to wait even longer to receive the amended bill. Such poor service was very frustrating and it was compounded at breakfast time. Tables weren't cleared, the place was a bit messy. No big deal (not as bad as the restaurant proper) but room for improvement there.

The room itself was good too, again I liked the style, and kept clean enough. The problem was the music from the restaurant immediately above. It was very loud and went on quite late (1am) so I had trouble sleeping on week-end nights.

In short, the hotel is good, well-located and if you don't mind a little-less than 5-star standards then the hotel service is fine (forget about the restaurant though). The things is, for the price you pay you expect better value-for-money. It's a little pricey considering it's not New York or Paris so, while I wasn't altogether unhappy, I would expect more.

Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank CypLibero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2009

This hotel was one of the best hotels we stayed in during our trip of Syria. We stayed in one of the old houses, about a 1 minute walk off the main house. The main house has reception and the restaurant. Our room came off an internal courtyard, which was beautiful and quiet. The room was very tastefully decorated and comfortable. The bathroom was a little small, but clean. The roof-top restaurant is delightful and frequented by both locals and tourists. The food was very, very good and reasonable. The service was efficient if a little cool. But we didn't care, as we were so happy to be in such a lovely place. Syria is a fascinating place. Aleppo was intriguing and special.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SydneyPearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2009

We stayed in this hotel with 3 children for 3 nights.
You cant beat the location or the service at this hotel.
The rooms were a good size and the hotel is very charming - decorated in typical Syrian style.
Highly recommend this one and great value too.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank global_nomad_pacific
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Martini Dar Zamaria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martini Dar Zamaria Hotel

Property: Martini Dar Zamaria Hotel
Address: Jdaideh Alhatab Square, Aleppo 13114, Syria
Location: Syria > Aleppo Governorate > Aleppo
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Aleppo
Hotel Class:4 star — Martini Dar Zamaria Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Also Known As:
Martini Dar Zamaria Aleppo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing