We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rooms with balcony are good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hoxieng Guesthouse 1
Ranked #49 of 257 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Rooms with balcony are good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

We stayed both in Hoxien 2 and 1. Recomended by LP it was our first choice, however the only triple room in Hoxien 2 ended up facing a wall, being dark and stuffy. To our luck it was only available for one night, so we moved to Hoxien 1 into a first floor room with balcony. It is less stylish than Hoxien 2, quite simple, well, basic..., older, but a lot more friendly.
Overall good value for money, owner friendly and helpful, great wifi connection.

Room Tip: Chose a room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hajnal G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    43
    10
    2
    1
See reviews for
6
36
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

Can't recommend it enough. I've visited several times, and the family are so trustworthy. Hoxieng 1 was one of the first guesthouses in the street (before the actual road was even built!), and its still one of the cheapest while still having decent and comfortable facilities.

Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank R33f_Diver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

I can't believe no one else has mentioned the neighbour who plays traditional music VERY LOUDLY at 6.50 every morning!! Or is this a new thing? Every morning for about 25 mins and then.....off.
My first night was the room directly behind the reception. Good Wi-Fi in here but very noisy as its next to the families/guests common area. The first morning I mentioned the loud music to the owner but he (of course) didn't know what I was talking about.
I got moved to the room directly above for the rest of my stay. The Wi-Fi is not as strong up here and you get the door slamming and stamping up and down the stairs and corridor.
The second morning the music kicked off again and I opened the window to have a look and low and behold the owner was in the alleyway between the two properties. He saw me up there and slunk away sheepishly. Later when I confronted him he said his wife had gone around and had a word with the neighbour. Alas this brought no change. This is a not a fault with Hoxieng as I can imagine this music ca be heard over quite a large area.
The room was ok but the shower room needs a really good clean and I couldn't bring myself to touch the shower curtain. The room gets made up every day.
This place is OK, but I would find a quieter area if given the choice again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank poperock7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Our group of 3 arrived in Luang Prabang after 2 days of travelling on the Mekong Slow boat from thailand, where we stumbled upon this lively street/lane, only to find that all the backpacker hostels were fully booked. The owner of Ho Xieng found us wandering the streets and offered us a room for three in Ho Xieng 2 Guesthouse (same ownership). We were pleasantly surprised. There was a warm, comfortable feel to the guesthouse. It was very peaceful and the rooms were well furnished, with the highlight being the rooms heated power shower. Although this was a little pricier than the more established backpacker hostels down this street, it was money well spent. We had two very comfortable nights sleep, our laundry was done efficiently and we felt completely re-energized after a strenuous couple of days travelling. The location is also great. This guesthouse is for those travellers who are happy to treat themselves a little.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

Things couldn't have started any worse on our arrival at hoxieng 1. After a two day slow boat journey from Chiange Khong all we wanted was a simple check-in with our pre booked double room! A simple check-in was the last thing we received when we were informed that they had sold our room and the guesthouse was full despite having our booking.com confirmation in his hand!

What then ensued was a back and forth debate! Being 1 of two guest houses they wanted to put us in hoxieng 2 for a single night and then move over to hoxieng 1 the next day! They were trying to reach a solution as was I, however I wasn't prepared to move rooms as it was there error therefore we shouldn't be inconvenienced. After a little more debate we were then given a room for four nights in hoxieng 2 for the same price which they say is a little more expensive. I was happy with this solution even if it did take them a while to get there!

As for the place itself! The rooms were fairly small in size. Bathroom was reasonable and it was clean! Staff as a whole were friendly and did try and help where possible!

The location is excellent, close to the river, close the night market and about 10-15 minutes from the bar areas and the popular Utopia bar!

Despite being a good stay I cannot and would not recommend this guesthouse simply because selling our pre-booked room is a massive error and we really didn't need the hassle of negotiating for our room. This same road has lots of other guest houses and they all looked very reasonable and you would probably get it cheaer as Hoxieng if farily expensive compared to the competition. If I were to return I would try a different one on the same street!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

We arrived Luang Prabang late noon and had no idea where to stay in. After briefly studying the city map we told the taxi to take us to Joma Bakery, fill our stomach first and only then make a decision. Proved to be good decision as we naturally started with the lane right next to Joma and had a look at a couple of guest houses before settling on Hoxieng 2. We were shown 2 rooms at ground floor, one with twin beds and another with a king sized bed. We immediately liked what we saw. The rooms are spacious, equipped with fan, a/c, small fridge, flat screen tv, an electric kettle (a rarity in Laos guest house!) and the bathroom was big! I also liked the fact that the room has 4 windows and ventilation fans in the room itself as well as in the bathroom. We were given 2 bottles of water and 2 sachets of coffee per day. We got bath towels as well as hand towels. The wooden floor felt great underneath our feet and the bathroom tiled floor was of a higher quality. At 150,000 kip per night (after hard bargaining) it was worth it, though this certainly is way above our budget, we ended up staying for 3 nights. Good wi-fi signal in our room and there is an internet station at reception area. The central hot water heating system is a bit dodgy though as the temperature could suddenly spike up in the middle of cold shower! The owner and the staff were pleasant and accommodating. The location itself is central to everything. A post office and money exchange service just around the corner. The mighty Mekong just a few meters down the lane. Laundry service, bicycle hire, massage, small grocery store, food stalls, tuk tuk stations...all under 3 minutes of walking. The Morning Market and the Night Market which we enjoyed were just 7 minutes walk. You do not have to go far to observe the beautiful morning alms procession as the monks would pass through the main road right in front of Joma. We are already recommending this place to friends.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrevelLingMinahs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

Didn't have much interaction with staff to comment on service but the guesthouse is clean and the rooms are spacious. One day we were in our room when it was cleaning time so they couldn't d it but they had the courtesy to knock on the door and bring us fresh towels. The ac works well too. They let us use a shower before our night bus and it was nice and clean. Centrally located in a quiet side street.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mini79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.2 mi away
Pakam Guest House
Pakam Guest House
#51 of 257 in Luang Prabang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kounsavan Guesthouse
Kounsavan Guesthouse
#38 of 257 in Luang Prabang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
0.0 mi away
Philaylack Villa
Philaylack Villa
#25 of 257 in Luang Prabang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Villa Chitdara 2 Guesthouse
Villa Chitdara 2 Guesthouse
#31 of 257 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.1 mi away
Charming Place Hotel
Charming Place Hotel
#57 of 257 in Luang Prabang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa Laodeum
Villa Laodeum
#77 of 257 in Luang Prabang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hoxieng Guesthouse 1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoxieng Guesthouse 1

Property: Hoxieng Guesthouse 1
Address: 40 Ban Hoxieng, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 257 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Hoxieng Guesthouse 1 1.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hoxieng Guesthouse 1 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoxieng Guesthouse Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing