We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (86)
Filter reviews
86 results
Traveler rating
27
46
10
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
27
46
10
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsguest housenight marketthe rivertwin roomair confew minutes walkquiet streetmangoguesthousebalconymekong
Filter
Updating list...
62 - 67 of 86 reviews
Reviewed July 10, 2012

I stayed at the cheaper of the two Hoxieng Guesthouses run by the same person; I believe it is called Hoxieng Guesthouse 1, which of course what I am reviewing here.

We are long term travelers with basic needs - general level of cleanliness and enough space for our (minimal) stuff. This place met both of our needs nicely.

We ended up with two twin beds because the doubles were full, which was fine. The room had two windows but was not as bright as we usually like, however it was fine. The room has both a fan and AC, which can be nice while you are waiting for the AC to cool off the place. The room also had a TV with movie channels and a wicker rack with shelves. The bathroom could have been updated a bit, but it was totally sufficient. They manage to clean it every day, even if you are gone for just a short bit.

They include shampoo and soaps. Downstairs you can get water, coffee, and bananas. They also have two wifi routers. They weren't always working when we were there, but the good news is that the owner actually cared and tried to fix it when we said something. The family seems to live and hang out at this guesthouse (as opposed to the other one they own). We thought it gave a more authentic feel than the higher priced, more tourist targeted guesthouse down the street. Also, someone was always around if you had a problem. We paid $12.50.

Room Tip: Closer to the front would have stronger wifi connection, but we did have a connection in our room at the back on the second floor.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LifeDocumented
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

The guesthouse was fine but very noisy with children running around, with the thin walls it felt like you were coming through the door each time. The bathroom was basic and needed to be done up. I stayed in one of the downstairs room.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChloeUK19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

First off, good guesthouse and great value. Free bananas and water, reasonably friendly staff. Good Wifi, and lots of books to borrow.

Now to the confusing part (the explanation will be confusing as well unfortunately)

We got off the boat from Huay Xai and entered Hoxieng 2. The receptionist (#1) gave us a price for double room at 160,000 LAK (around $20). We decided this was a bit too expensive, and asked if they had any cheaper.

The receptionist (#1) brought us to Hoxieng 1. They said a double room was 120,000 LAK (Around $15). After looking around the room, she said she could give the room to us for 110,000 LAK (around $14).

After we checked in, the receptionist (#1) said there are better rooms upstairs with a balcony, and they were the same price we were paying. But, it was currently occupied, but the guests would check out the following day. She told us to tell her at noon the next day, and she will transfer us.

The next morning, we went up to the desk and inquired about the balcony room. It was a different receptionist (#2). She didn't know whether it was the same price or not, and spent about three minutes on the phone with someone. The volume on the phone was loud, so we heard the woman on the other side say (cent dix), or 110. We "think" we heard this, but it is entirely possibly we heard incorrectly. When she got off the phone, she told us the price was 150,000 LAK (around $19). At this point, we knew the prices just kept changing and changing, so we obviously decided not to switch rooms.

Later that day, we decided to ask again, and this time receptionist #1 was there. She said no it was not the same price, the upstairs room was actually 170,00 LAK (Around $21). This clearly confused us, since this same woman (#1) told us the day before it was 120,000 LAK/110,000 LAK.

We found all these price changes rather funny, so later that day we went to Hoxieng 2 again to ask the price of their cheapest room, just to see. The man at the desk said it was 190,000 LAK (around $24).

The next day, we were looking at pictures of Hoxing 2 (but we were at Hoxieng 1), and to be funny, asked receptionist #2 how much a cheap double room was at Hoxieng 2. The response was 200,000 LAK (around $25). A few hours later, we asked receptionist #1 how much the same double room was, and her response was 250,000 LAK (around $31).

When we tried to extend our stay for a day, an old woman who works there was helping us find a paper to write a receipt. She opened up a notebook and plopped it right in front of us while she looked for a receipt. We absolutely should not have looked, but since it was in front of us, we glanced at it. It detailed the different prices everyone paid in the hotel at that moment, and not one was the same price.

Our conclusion is unfortunately that they constantly change the price depending on who is asking. This is probably normal, but we felt they did it to a greater extent. What doesn't make sense is that they do have rates posted outside Hoxieng #2 and on the website, but we were quoted different prices.

Of course it is entirely possible that all of this was miscommunications due to language barriers, and the more expensive prices they quoted were for better rooms than the cheapest. We don't want to rule that out. And although this post seems to imply it, we did not spend our entire time worrying about this =). It just ended up being a funny experience that we pursued.

Overall, it's a good guesthouse, and I do recommend staying here.

But they really should post prices at Hoxieng 1, or at least have a standard pricing system. But if they can't do that, just remember who they told a specific price to, and don't raise the price the next day because they forgot what they said the previous one. It really damaged our view of the guesthouse.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jveritas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2012

I did not book the hotel in advance. So I just walked around and found this place,lucky me. I stayed at Hoxieng2 for 2 nights.Hoxieng2 is abit more expensive than Hoxieng1. It was nice and clean. You would feel like home than guesthouse or hotel. I like the wooden floor. The staffs are so friendly. Mostly they are fully booked. I will stay here again for my next visit.

Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
Thank Dang P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2012

We booked a bit late our stay in Luang Prabang so chose this guesthouse out of need but were so pleasantly surprised! It is located in a little lane between the river and the main market road which makes it convenient and yet secluded. We were surprised by the 'solid' feeling of the place: spacious with gorgeous teak floors. Our bedroom at the front of the house had a wonderful balcony.
The bed was very comfy and we had a fridge to keep drinks cold.
The only problem we had was the bathroom - when we shower the water run through a sort of canal between the bath and the wall and poured all over the floor and the shower curtain which was far too long was a bit mouldy. So although the bathroom looked very nice the showering experience was not so good.
They had wi-fi and a computer in reception available to guests.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HendrikM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews