We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great discovery” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hoxieng Guesthouse 1

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hoxieng Guesthouse 1
Ranked #47 of 258 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
201 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
“Great discovery”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2012

We booked a bit late our stay in Luang Prabang so chose this guesthouse out of need but were so pleasantly surprised! It is located in a little lane between the river and the main market road which makes it convenient and yet secluded. We were surprised by the 'solid' feeling of the place: spacious with gorgeous teak floors. Our bedroom at the front of the house had a wonderful balcony.
The bed was very comfy and we had a fridge to keep drinks cold.
The only problem we had was the bathroom - when we shower the water run through a sort of canal between the bath and the wall and poured all over the floor and the shower curtain which was far too long was a bit mouldy. So although the bathroom looked very nice the showering experience was not so good.
They had wi-fi and a computer in reception available to guests.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HendrikM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    43
    10
    2
    1
See reviews for
6
35
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2012

I am absolutely in love with this place. Hoxieng Guesthouse I is fantastic-has all the amenities one could want. Free-wi-fi, nice, cozy rooms, central to everything in town but more importantly the family that runs this place are absolutely lovely. They treated me like a princess and I extended my stay for much longer... now I consider it my second home. I upgraded to Hoxieng II guesthouse because it is brand new, both guesthouses have cable television; (not that I ever watched,) however, I had free wifi in all my rooms, there is a fridge, free coffee and hot pot in each room, flat screen t.v's, hot water with great water pressure some of the rooms have big bathtubs and the beds are very comfortable. In addition, I am so central to Joma bakery, the night markets, Utopia, The beautiful Mekong river, great restaurants. The Hoxieng family that run the place make it so homey...Mee Mee, Cat, "Bruce Lee" aka Tome, Janette and Grandma. They are so endearing. This place gets booked fast so its smart to make an early reservation. I have such an affinity for this place that I would never consider staying anywhere else in Luang Prabang!!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2011

Beautifully finished throughout, the rooms are the nicest & most luxurious we seen in Laos, we had the best sleep in the very comfy bed and all amenities are provided; ac, tv, fridge, hot water filter, comp coffee. We even had a bath! The private balcony was a relaxing place to while away an evening reading and watching locals & backpackers go about their business below. Staff were so so, as is common throughout much of Laos, they were friendly enough but seemed to spent more time snoozing in Reception than anything else really! Overall a great find and would highlly recommend! (Just don't mistake it for it's older relative across the lane!)

Room Tip: Front facing room on the 1st floor - private balcony & nice views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LulaBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, Korea
Level Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2011

We were unexpectedlyfierced to spend the night due to a double booking elsewhere necessitated by others' medical emergency. But rather than stay just one night, we decidedly to stay two nights for the following reasons:

1. Very good value for high season ($35 per night).
2. Very comfortable room with personal balcony.
3. Excellent bathroom that looked liked it belong to a two-star hotel rather than a guest house.
4. Surprisingly excellent Wifi connectivity.
5. Flat screen TV with the best channel selection we've seen in SE Asia.
6. Excellent location close to all major sights and less than a minute's walk from Jomo Bakery in one direction and the Mekong River in the opposite direction.

Here are the negatives:
1. Often no one is at the front desk so one naturally wonders about security.
2. No restaurant and breakfast.
3. It was a bit noisy during the daytime due to cross alley construction plus other noise from a bustling urban community.

Considerations:
1. There are now two guesthouses of the same name on the same alley. We stayed in the one on the southside, closer to the middle of the block.
2. Only a few rooms have a balcony.

Overall, though not the cheapest, Hoxieng is probably one of the best, hidden values in Luang Prabang.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TomCoyner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2010

We accidently stumbled onto this little gem. We had nothing organised when we arrived in Luang Prabang. The taxi driver dropped us near the post office and pointed down the laneway next to JoMa's cafe indicating that there plenty of guest houses in the area. The guest house cost about $25US a double. The room was air conditioned, well furnished and with a very comfortable. bed. The owners were hospitable, helpful and friendly. The guesthouse was only a few minutes walk from the centre of town and from the Mekong River. We were given the room directly opposite the reception. Nice room but a little noisy. I think it would be better to ask for a rear room or one on the top floor. Still, all in all, a very pleasant 4 day stay and good value for your money.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maggie-Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2008

We were recommended this guesthouse by people we met on our travels, and were really impressed.

The guesthouse is obviously family owned, and run effeciently by a lovely lady who can't do enough for you.

The rooms were small but well equipped, although the ground floor rooms behind reception were a little noisy, go for the 1st floor ones.

Location is within walking distance to everything Luang Prabang has to offer, but for the pagodas further afield you can rent bikes from places on the same street.

Our highlight had to be the free stcky rice cakes the owner handed out to everyone in the afternoon, we started to look forward to 3pm everyday!

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
Thank TravellingRoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.2 mi away
Pakam Guest House
Pakam Guest House
#50 of 258 in Luang Prabang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kounsavan Guesthouse
Kounsavan Guesthouse
#35 of 258 in Luang Prabang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mekong Moon Inn
Mekong Moon Inn
#24 of 258 in Luang Prabang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Villa Chitdara 2 Guesthouse
Villa Chitdara 2 Guesthouse
#29 of 258 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
0.7 mi away
Phone Praseuth Guesthouse
Phone Praseuth Guesthouse
#4 of 258 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
0.2 mi away
Golden Lotus Place
Golden Lotus Place
#2 of 258 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hoxieng Guesthouse 1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoxieng Guesthouse 1

Property: Hoxieng Guesthouse 1
Address: 40 Ban Hoxieng, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 258 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Hoxieng Guesthouse 1 1.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hoxieng Guesthouse 1 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoxieng Guesthouse Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing