We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well situated on the Mekong riverfront”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sayo River Guest House
Ranked #153 of 268 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 29, 2010

We stayed there for 4 nights at US$40 a night. Very large rooms with fridge, T V and A/C. The bathroom was huge and had a bath, but no shower curtain and try as we might, we still managed to flood the floor, with the floor waste being behind the toilet and the whole floor had to get wet before it would dry as the water made its way across the floor to the outlet. The staff were helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob-Carol-Pinjarra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (111)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 111 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2010

We are a gay couple who visited Luang Prabang.
Firstly, there was a mix-up with the taxi at the airport picking us up. From then on, the staff at the guesthouse were extremely unhelpful and rude. We requested an upstairs room, but due to a lot of bookings (don't know why!) we had the room downstairs next to the reception. This was noisy and the decor was old an tired. It was impossible to use the shower without spraying water all over the bathroom and the windows afforded no privacy to walkers-by on the street.
We were told there was a midnight curfew but found the place to be closed up at 11:30pm. The staff were not helpful in changing our bookings for a river cruise (which they had booked for us) due to a clashing timetable. The room rate does NOT include breakfast and there are NO tea or coffee facilities in the rooms.
The guesthouse is a medium walk from town. The US$40 rate per night is steep considering there is no breakfast provided. I would suggest staying closer to town, especially as our room did not have a view of the Mekong River.
The website says it is popular with younger travellers, but I did not see any other younger couples while I was there.
The Lonely Planet guide for Vietnam, Cambodia, Laos & the Greater Mekong (2009) had a good review, which it appears was quite out of date.
Overall, an extremely disappointing experience.

Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
1  Thank DumbaMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2010

The guest house is a bit worn down, and the price is on the rather high end for the standard offered (I was charged 40 USD per night for a single room upstairs). The bathroom was improvised (an open roof solution into the bed room, the bathroom floor was leveled with no real darin, so every time you take a shower the whole floor gets wet. The staff constantly try to push excursions and taxi bookings on you.

On the plus side is free wifi and location. Comfortable bed.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank todolan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2010

At $50 US per night the Sayo River Guesthouse is not a great deal in Lao terms. Having said that we did stay there for three nights, had no problems with our stay and the location was quiet and we had a good view of the river from the little balcony out front of our room.
The room itself was quite big had a big, foam mattress bed, daybed, fridge, tv, aircon and a bathtub which was a good thing as the shower hose was a bit short for us (we're both taller than 180 cm).
The staff was relatively helpful and you could have coffee (nescafe) or tea at any time. There is no breakfast but there are a couple of good opptions nearby.
Don't bother trying to bargain down the price for extended stays, we were there during slow season and the management wouldn't budge which is unusal for Luang Prabang. Basically we ended up staying because we wanted a river view and none of the other guest houses had one on the day we arrived and we couldn't be bothered to move our bags for two nights but if you shop around there are better deals to be had even along the river.
There is a bit of grinding for transport from the staff as well which can be a bit off putting, they trailed my husband around town as he went to barter with the tuk tuks for a ride out to the airport.
All in all a pleasant enough stay but it could be better priced.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pina_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2010

Aussie friends recommended Sayo River Guest House and we weren’t disappointed. In fact there were quite a few other Australians there when we stayed – but this wasn’t a bad thing! The room was a little cramped for 4 of us, but as we spent most of our time when in the room lying on our beds gasping because of the heat this didn’t matter. The air con worked well and there were fans too – fortunately, otherwise we would have died it was so HOT outside! The price was US$40 for a family room which was pretty good. Everything worked well, service was great, staff were friendly and helpful. The prices in the minibar were the same as in the local shops, so we emptied it every day – why don’t more hotels operate like this?
We did a 2 day mahout adventure and the staff were happy to store our luggage for free and reserve us the same room when we came back. They even moved our stuff back in to the room which was a nice touch – like coming home! Just like to mention here how good the 2 day mahout course with All Lao Travel service – we would give it 6 out of 5 if that were possible – don’t miss it.
Sayo River Guest House is a great laid back place to stay. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NameIWantedWasTaken7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2010

huge room and bathroom with big bath - both clean.
owners/staff had nothing going for them.
the real problem with the place is that it had no atmosphere or character whatsoever and it wasn't particularly cheap.
its main good point is that its right on the river.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2010

We came looking for rooms after a one night, terrible stay in Rattana guesthouse. We looked at a lot of places- 3 Nagas (nice but at $190 per night much more than we wanted to pay), Apsara (our room at Sayo was larger & better, and theirs was over $100USD per night), Mekong Riverview (very nice rooms, we met the owner & he seemed very nice & spoke excellent English but also too expensive at $190USD per night).

We looked at a $40 downstairs room which was huge but decided to go with the $50 upstairs room as it had more privacy & we were warned about first floor rooms in Asia- if you leave the windows open even with bars on the windows they use devices to get stuff from your room. That said, our room was very large.

Pros
big room - queen bed plus day bed, desk, & table plus 2 chairs

huge bathroom but floor still gets wet when taking a shower. Plus you had to hold the shower head in your hand

refrigerator in room- larger than a dorm sized refrigerator
lots of windows
nice wooden floors
cable TV with some English channels
hotel overlooks Mekong River with nice views although partially blocked by trees
2 ceiling fans worked well also & helped distribute the AC better

Cons:
poor reading lights

AC is too small for room (manager admitted this) so is not large enough to keep running constantly- AC would "freeze up" overnight making terrible noises as it iced up.

Staff would turn AC off when we left the room (we like to return to a cool room & not wait several hours for the room to cool off! They seem to turn off the AC in most rooms in Asia when guests leave)

manager interested in selling overpriced tours, overpriced tuk-tuks, laundry & beverages for refrigerator & was a little pushy about this, but still very nice

no real "lobby"
night "security" was asleep when we left early at 5:30am
no internet
no free (or any) breakfast at all
somewhat overpriced for the $50 we paid
about a 10-15 minute walk into town (however location is quieter & we liked the location)

don't ask staff for recommendations on anything as they want to "steer" you to places I suspect they receive kickbacks from

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DianeER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.1 mi away
Villa Laodeum
Villa Laodeum
#71 of 268 in Luang Prabang
113 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Namsok Guesthouse
#73 of 155 in Luang Prabang
1 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sokdee Guest House
Sokdee Guest House
#91 of 268 in Luang Prabang
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Apple Guesthouse
Apple Guesthouse
#14 of 268 in Luang Prabang
223 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mekong Sunset View Hotel
Mekong Sunset View Hotel
#46 of 268 in Luang Prabang
125 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sokxai Guest House
Sokxai Guest House
#128 of 268 in Luang Prabang
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sayo River Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sayo River Guest House

Address: Vat Xieng Thong area, along the Mekong River, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Hotel Style:
Ranked #153 of 268 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range: $17 - $35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sayo River Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Sayo River Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sayo Guest House Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing