We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Horrible Service, nightmarish really”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sayo River Guest House
Ranked #150 of 257 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Horrible Service, nightmarish really”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2013

We returned to the hotel to find about 25-30 staff having a drunken, loud party immediately in front of the hotel complete with loud music and screaming. When I asked how late the party would last I was told," maybe 11:30pm or midnight." Then I was informed that the party had been disclosed to all guests at the time of booking. It had not. Certainly for $60/night you can expect no drunken staff parties to disrupt your slumber. The manager was very inconsiderate and asked if I wanted to feel responsible for ruining the staff's fun. We found a significantly nicer and cheaper hotel around the corner, packed our bags and left. This hotel had the worst service imaginable. They didn't even apologise.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndrewLucas81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    49
    24
    13
    11
See reviews for
7
63
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013

This was a decent stay in Luang Prabang. A little overpriced at $25 a night, but the room was spacious with hot water and in a great location walking distance to the restaurants and night market. Mosquito net was provided but could not be used as it was the incorrect size. What lets this place down tremendously is the manager at the front desk. They are very unfriendly, breakfast is served without a smile or any conversation and the only time they bothered making conversation is when it suited them - which was organising our overpriced transport to the airport. I would recommend staying here if it works with your budget - just don't expect any service and go elsewhere for all your transport, tours & information.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AngusLizaJabour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burgdorf, Switzerland
Level Contributor
147 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

We had a very spacious room overlooking the Mekong, but no balcony. The room was clean, the bed good, the mosquito net just fitting. The bathroom was good, the shower providing hot water. Breakfast was included. The manager speaks poor English and is very unfriendly. Don't bother asking him for some informations.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tariwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

Good location, we stayed in a ground floor room, I think there was only one other guest while we were there.

I had read pretty decent things about this place on TA before staying, so perhaps they were having an 'off week' but I’ve stayed in $5 per night places and this was the worst sleeping experience we had in SE Asia (including sleeping on wooden floors with no mattresses and on the ‘sleeping-buses-of-doom’).

Our room at Sayo River had a cracked toilet cistern, leaking aircon unit, ripped mosquito nets on the windows and ripped nets over the beds (which were single nets for double beds). A visit to reception meant trying to attract the attention of staff who gave the impression they would rather you wouldn't interrupt their constant television watching. The final straw was a breakfast of rubbery eggs, Nescafe (billed as fresh coffee) and Sunny Delight (billed as fresh orange juice). We gave up after two nights and went elsewhere.

Luang Prabang is beautiful, but it’s also pretty expensive by Asian standards. However, in my opinion a few more dollars spent for a mosquito free night with friendly staff and a decent breakfast is worth it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank danielrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Luang Prabang hotels

Sligo, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed here for two nights after reading a good review in Lonely Planet. Location wise it is very good, a short walk from the night market, cafes and river. After checking us into a room with a balcony we were later moved to another room because of some confusion over our booking. The staff seemed to be unaware of our reservation through booking.com. Our room was spacious with a TV and fridge but unfortunately we had to share it with a few lively geckos. We informed the receptionist on duty that our room had some extra guests and he tried to remove them but to no avail. We also had some creepy crawlies making themselves at home in our room so we found it difficult to relax. Two sleepless nights later and we were not sorry to be leaving Sayo River Guest House behind.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Caroline R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

Love this place. Local. Quirky. Bend over backwards to make sure your stay is free from any difficulty. Can arrange absolutely anything. Free coffee in the morning, not a bad breakfast either. The rooms are spacious, clean and harboring a well stocked fridge. Balcony with an unparalleled view.creaky wooden floors, good pressure in the showers,rocking ac. do your best to get a room upstairs so you can sit in the morning and watch the fog lift from the Mekong. I have been to LP 7 times in the last few years and don't stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: Get a room upstairs if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

I love Luang Prabang, and hope it will not turn into a Disney caricature, Holiday Inns, cotton candy, and meaningless plastic souvenirs. The Sayo Guest House is an almost perfect location - a few short blocks to the night market, and just one block to the river, with its many cafes, peaceful scenery, and spectacular sunsets. Across the street is a monastery, and one can watch the evening chanting from the courtyard and hear the drum beating to call the monks. Another short walk brings you to a viewing spot to watch the monks collecting alms. For me, like the late legendary hotelier Ellsworth Statler, the first three criteria of a good hotel are location, location, location, and the Sayo is nearly perfect on this score. My room, 01A, was spacious, well furnished, with air conditioning, a ceiling fan, TV with multiple language channels, a mini bar and two complimentary bottle of drinking water daily. The guest bath is not up to three star standards, but functions well, and the hot water is always available. Local touches, such as the handmade Lao paper lampshades, are charming. My room had a kind of loft with an extra bed. You cannot stand fully upright in the loft, but it served well as an extra bedroom, when a college friend who lives in Laos, stayed overnight. Breakfast is adequate; eggs to order, fresh fruit, baguette with butter and jam, and a choice of Nestle or Lao coffee. While the garden is not professionally landscaped, it is none the less a lovely place for breakfast. This is not a Holiday Inn, and I was thankful for that. I knew where I was and I reveled in the joy of a lovely guest house in one of the most picturesque villages in the world. The staff complemented the experience, with warm, friendly service, smiles, and always a cheerful "Sabai dee" to passing guests in the lobby. Very fairly priced.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PatrickLAX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.0 mi away
Sala Prabang
Sala Prabang
#30 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Laodeum
Villa Laodeum
#77 of 257 in Luang Prabang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
0.0 mi away
Apple Guesthouse
Apple Guesthouse
#12 of 257 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sayo Naga Guesthouse
Sayo Naga Guesthouse
#81 of 257 in Luang Prabang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mekong Sunset View Hotel
Mekong Sunset View Hotel
#50 of 257 in Luang Prabang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sokdee Guest House
Sokdee Guest House
#122 of 257 in Luang Prabang
3.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sayo River Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sayo River Guest House

Property: Sayo River Guest House
Address: Vat Xieng Thong area, along the Mekong River, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Hotel Style:
Ranked #150 of 257 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sayo River Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sayo River Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sayo Guest House Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing