We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sayo River Guest House
Ranked #153 of 266 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Sayo has three Guesthouses in Luang Prabang. We stayed in two of these.

Initially for 2 nights at one close to the Presidential Palace: Very central location with decent places for breakfast close by. Quiet street as well, which was nice. The room we stayed in was slightly dated, but more than good enough for what we needed.

Subsequently we found they had a place overlooking the Mekong and after checking out prices, the guest on the Mekong was definitely value for money as it was cheap but very well equipped, with very good rooms and free coffee and tea. Had nice little balcony with table and chairs which we used a lot to have our Crepe dinners.

The staff in both places are helpful when asked but aren't overbearing.Location is still pretty central. For $15 a night for double room I recommend it to anyone wanting to stay close to the river without paying extortionate prices.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tonyrfsa09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (111)
There are newer reviews for Sayo River Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 111 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2012

Very pleasant. We are three women staying in the large room upstairs. Beautiful views overlooking Mekong. Small dining area, fridge, services daily and a huge very clean bathroom. We are staying for a month so were able to negotiate a special price. An extra bed was even moved into the room for us and there is still pleanty of room to accommodate three single people. The room has aircondioning as well as two fans. After a while the reception staff do relax and are very nice. I would recommend this place as it is aneasy walk to just about everything. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrisie66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012 via mobile

Massive nicely furnished room, 2 big beds so we took 1 each :) mosquito nets, big clean bathroom, stocked fridge, tv, wifi, book swap. BEAUTIFUL view over Mekong and few steps down the bank to sit on the shore and watch the sun go down. Bliss. Nice staff who make u coffee whenever u want!
Only thing to note is if you're going to be out late, let them know, u have to holler over the locked gate for a few minutes to rouse the night guy!
I'd stay again for weeks at a time!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becci D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

If you don't care about being made to feel welcome this is the place for you.
Average room, tiny balcony, no breakfast included at TOP dollar prices.
Stayed one night and the next morning found somewhere the same price with staff that were actually happy to see you with breakfast included and much better views.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Julian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We stayed in the guesthouse that overlooked the Mekong River for 8 nights. Sayo have 2 others in LP, Laos. We had a huge triple room upstairs. It was clean, had a fridge and a lockable chest (byo padlock). the room was serviced everyday. The bathroom was a higher standard of than most hotels in SE Asia. Breakfast was not included but we were very close to riverside cafes and only two blocks from the main shopping/eating street. We really didn't have any interactions with the mildly disinterested staff once we'd checked in. Luang Prabang must be the most laid back city in SE Asia. Don't miss the Kuang Si falls, a river cruise up to the cave of 1000 buddhas, and the Elephant Village. Lots of fun.

Room Tip: Downstairs was cheaper and slightly smaller. We had one night there after a trip away and it was fi...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ilovecambodia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

I agree with the other good reviews here. The room was lovely and it was really nice having a balcony overlooking the Mekong.

Just a couple of tips:
- Take your laundry elsewhere. These guys charge per item (rather than by weight) and our quite small bag of laundry came to $11. Outrageous!
- If you want to see the dawn alms-giving, let them know the night before. I came downstairs at 5.30am and found I was locked in (not great if there'd been a fire!) I eventually woke the person on night duty but it took about ten minutes of shouting and knocking (and feeling guilty!)

Room Tip: Upstairs with balcony was great.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoseWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

I stayed at the Sayo Guesthouse along the Mekong River. It was clean and well-maintained. The staff spoke decent English. Our room was spacious, but nothing spectacular. A bit over-priced, but for $25 USD, it's still affordable.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jordansale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.1 mi away
Villa Laodeum
Villa Laodeum
#74 of 266 in Luang Prabang
113 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mekong Sunset View Hotel
Mekong Sunset View Hotel
#50 of 266 in Luang Prabang
122 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Namsok Guesthouse
#72 of 153 in Luang Prabang
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Apple Guesthouse
Apple Guesthouse
#14 of 266 in Luang Prabang
223 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sokdee Guest House
Sokdee Guest House
#88 of 266 in Luang Prabang
182 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mekong Sunset Guesthouse and Restaurant
Mekong Sunset Guesthouse and Res...
#84 of 153 in Luang Prabang
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sayo River Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sayo River Guest House

Address: Vat Xieng Thong area, along the Mekong River, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Hotel Style:
Ranked #153 of 266 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range: $17 - $34 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sayo River Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Sayo River Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sayo Guest House Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing