We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sayo on the Mekong” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sayo River Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sayo River Guest House
Ranked #149 of 258 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Luang Prabang, Laos
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Sayo on the Mekong”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Very pleasant. We are three women staying in the large room upstairs. Beautiful views overlooking Mekong. Small dining area, fridge, services daily and a huge very clean bathroom. We are staying for a month so were able to negotiate a special price. An extra bed was even moved into the room for us and there is still pleanty of room to accommodate three single people. The room has aircondioning as well as two fans. After a while the reception staff do relax and are very nice. I would recommend this place as it is aneasy walk to just about everything. Enjoy!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrisie66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    49
    24
    13
    11
See reviews for
7
63
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012 via mobile

Massive nicely furnished room, 2 big beds so we took 1 each :) mosquito nets, big clean bathroom, stocked fridge, tv, wifi, book swap. BEAUTIFUL view over Mekong and few steps down the bank to sit on the shore and watch the sun go down. Bliss. Nice staff who make u coffee whenever u want!
Only thing to note is if you're going to be out late, let them know, u have to holler over the locked gate for a few minutes to rouse the night guy!
I'd stay again for weeks at a time!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Becci D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012 via mobile

If you don't care about being made to feel welcome this is the place for you.
Average room, tiny balcony, no breakfast included at TOP dollar prices.
Stayed one night and the next morning found somewhere the same price with staff that were actually happy to see you with breakfast included and much better views.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Julian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Luang Prabang hotels

Melbourne
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

We stayed in the guesthouse that overlooked the Mekong River for 8 nights. Sayo have 2 others in LP, Laos. We had a huge triple room upstairs. It was clean, had a fridge and a lockable chest (byo padlock). the room was serviced everyday. The bathroom was a higher standard of than most hotels in SE Asia. Breakfast was not included but we were very close to riverside cafes and only two blocks from the main shopping/eating street. We really didn't have any interactions with the mildly disinterested staff once we'd checked in. Luang Prabang must be the most laid back city in SE Asia. Don't miss the Kuang Si falls, a river cruise up to the cave of 1000 buddhas, and the Elephant Village. Lots of fun.

Room Tip: Downstairs was cheaper and slightly smaller. We had one night there after a trip away and it was fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ilovecambodia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

I agree with the other good reviews here. The room was lovely and it was really nice having a balcony overlooking the Mekong.

Just a couple of tips:
- Take your laundry elsewhere. These guys charge per item (rather than by weight) and our quite small bag of laundry came to $11. Outrageous!
- If you want to see the dawn alms-giving, let them know the night before. I came downstairs at 5.30am and found I was locked in (not great if there'd been a fire!) I eventually woke the person on night duty but it took about ten minutes of shouting and knocking (and feeling guilty!)

Room Tip: Upstairs with balcony was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RoseWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

I stayed at the Sayo Guesthouse along the Mekong River. It was clean and well-maintained. The staff spoke decent English. Our room was spacious, but nothing spectacular. A bit over-priced, but for $25 USD, it's still affordable.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jordansale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
114 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012

To get here from the river, walk up the slipway to where the tuk tuk are parked and hang a left. It's a 10/15 minute walk parallel with the river in the very safe historic part of town, full of guest houses and eating places - no problem. Or if you're wilting in the heat, get a tuk tuk, shouldn't be more than about 20,000 kip max (£1.60) but go easy on the bartering, this really isn't Bangkok despite being called ‘touristy‘, it's an extremely poor country and people need to make a living. From the airport, top price is 50,000 Kip but this is often contested as being too much, you decide, just make sure you’re clear that it’s the Sayo River guest house as there is also a Sayo guest house.
I was here in the low season, April, so it was basically a buyers market, plenty of rooms to choose from. Rooms were from $25 to $40 USD ($40 currently £25 or 320,720 Kip or 1,2600 Thai Baht). We went 'cheap' and had a massive room (number 5 left - some others were a little dark) on the ground floor with joy of joys - a bath as well as a shower - working perfectly, mosquito nets on request, double and single bed, lockable box (though the whole thing could be lifted) big refrigerator stocked up daily with water and beer and soft drinks, fly chopper and two air con units all working perfectly, clothes drawers but minimal clothes hanging and Wifi - a bit hit and miss, OK out on the ‘patio.’ TV is indecipherable. No tea/ coffee facilities in the room but they’ll make you tea at the reception desk as many times as you like. To be honest though, I was pinching myself to get all this for just £17 sterling per night, terrific value! The staff are lovely, really friendly, a little shy. Room payment can be in Thai Baht no problem not just Dollars and Kip. There’s a small book swap library and if you can - bring books, many many books, LP desperately needs them. The Mekong can be seen through the tall trees opposite the guest house, rooms are cleaned daily with no fuss, no matter how late you leave the room. We felt so chilled out here we extended our initial 3 days to 10 just because it was so relaxing and well within budget. It’s a very pleasant area to explore on foot or bicycle, plenty of Wats to visit, gourmet restaurants as well as cheap local ones, not a burger chain in sight! There’s a small laundry just along the street which if memory serves right, 10,000 kip per kilo of washing. Our first night in LP was spent in a flea pit, we were so glad we found this place, it’s really a great and easy base for exploring Luang Prabang, it feels “of the place” rather than a swanky tourist hotel and we have very happy memories of our stay here. When we return, (LP gets you like that!) we’ll head straight here.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maddoghere4d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.0 mi away
Sala Prabang
Sala Prabang
#31 of 70 in Luang Prabang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Laodeum
Villa Laodeum
#76 of 258 in Luang Prabang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
0.0 mi away
Apple Guesthouse
Apple Guesthouse
#14 of 258 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mekong Sunset View Hotel
Mekong Sunset View Hotel
#46 of 258 in Luang Prabang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sokdee Guest House
Sokdee Guest House
#150 of 258 in Luang Prabang
3.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nammavong Guesthouse
Nammavong Guesthouse
#199 of 258 in Luang Prabang
3.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sayo River Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sayo River Guest House

Property: Sayo River Guest House
Address: Vat Xieng Thong area, along the Mekong River, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Hotel Style:
Ranked #149 of 258 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sayo River Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Sayo River Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sayo Guest House Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing