We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sayo River Guest House
Ranked #130 of 265 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 7, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 8 nights and thought it was a good place.

We were traveling on a budget and found this to be a great option for $40. Our room was huge and had a very nice bathroom with great hot water and pressure. The bed was comfortable and the room had a fridge, however, there was NO safe. Also, each room has a little sitting area, which is a nice touch. There is no breakfast, but so many cheap options nearby. Free wifi.

The location was great, across the street from Mekong river, and away from any wats that might wake you at 4am. Walking distance to everything.

The staff were okay - they were not the friendliest of people, but also not mean. We had laundry done twice with no incident.

While there was no glam to this hotel, it's a good option for those on a budget. We recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (112)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 112 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2011

We liked LP so much that we stayed for almost a week. What we especially liked about Sayo Guesthouse was it's calm atmosphere, perfect location and friendly staff. It really felt like temporary home. Last but not least we got a low-season rate which was well below what is listed on their webpage. The house is a bit run down, but this is actually what makes it authentic and atmospheric. Rooms were cleaned daily. No breakfast served, but this only give an opportunity to explore LPs lovely cafes. Definitely recommended.

Room Tip: We had a room on patio side and it was very pleasant. For views on the Vat you should request rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AventureroPolaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Couldn't recommend this guesthouse enough. The staff are really friendly, while the rooms are spacious and secure with views over the Mekong. It's only a five minute walk from the town centre and night market - perfect location as it's nice a quiet at night.

We went on an overnight trip and they took care of our backpacks, held a room for us and when we got back our bags were already waiting in the room. It really felt like a temporary home for us.

We were two couples - my husband and I on a year long trip and on a budget, our friends coming out for a holiday. There's three different brackets of room types and prices which meant we could all stay within our own budgets. Very affordable all round though - about $25 per night for us and $30 for our friends, although there's even bigger rooms for $40.

There's no restaurant, so breakfast isn't included but there's lots of lovely cafes with riverfront seats on that road - we loved Saffron which did a good coffee.

We looked at a lot of rooms in Luang Prabang and for this price this was definitely a good option.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms overlooking the Mekong have great balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KathKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2011

We moved here after deciding to spend some extra time in Luang Prabang and the place we had been staying was booked out for the extra days. We looked up and down the riverfront and picked this place based on the rooms vs. cost.
We had a nice big room on the ground floor with outside chairs and table overlooking the river. The place is quite and tranquil in an excellent location up the pointy end of the peninsular. The only slight problem was the shower flows across the whole floor and across the entrance to the bathroom door so you have to be very carefull not to slip over as you enter the bathroom. Breakfast is not included but we enjoyed trying out the many cafes near by.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Takemeaway01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2011

We booked this guesthouse while on the bus from Luang Namtha. We arrived at 1.30am and were greeted by 2 staff who showed us our room.
The first night we stayed in one of the upstairs rooms, but decided the following 4 nights to stay in one if the ground floor rooms instead as they are only $20USD p/night.
The rooms are large and have everything you need- hot water, a/c, fan, fridge.
We were a short walk to 3 of the best eateries in the town- The Big Tree Cafe; Saffron; L'Elephant. Also very close to Big Brother Mouse when we helped local kids with their English for 2 hrs each day.
I found it lovely to be so close to the main street but away enough to not hear the traffic.
We hired a scooter and were able to put it inside the gates at night time which was very handy considering the scooter hire place was holding our passports until we returned the scooter!!
Thank you for a wonderful stay!!

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cindel-Jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2011

We stayed for one night - went for a tour and went back to SAYO RIVER for a further 7 nights.. $40 no breakfast and although there are cheaper alternatives however, having stayed at a dearer place this is quiet. We had an upstairs room overlooking the Mekong with balcony, fridge with beer, lemonade and pepsi and free bottled water daily, air con and ceiling fan...The rooms are light and airy which can be a rarity. It is walking distance to everything, although we hired a bike as well.

Room Tip: Upstairs with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EstherDarwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2011

We were warned that it could get noisy. Luckily, the monks at the eponymous Vat Xieng Mouane located just opposite the Sayo Guest House decided to take pity on all late risers and did not begin their chanting and drumming until well into the afternoon. The guest house is an old house, barely renovated from the palatial home it must have been even 50 years ago and that is its core appeal. It’s solid and spacious and, at its price, a steal. (That said, Luang Prabang seemed unduly expensive compared to general prices in the region, including the Laotian capital, Vientiane.) We stayed in one of the extremely roomy duplex rooms upstairs with large windows overlooking the monastery. While there are no balconies in this guest house, it still meant we were perfectly positioned to see the monks receiving alms every morning. A large bed both at entrance level and a smaller bed in the loft space above were huge pluses. While the front windows had lovely views of Mount Phousy, the large bathroom ensuite—replete with wood-encased bathtub and dressing table carved out of a solid slice of tree trunk—had a window that framed tiled roofs and the hills on the far bank of the Mekong. Minus: no breakfast provided at all, let alone one included in the tariff. But there are a number of good restaurants within striking distance. Also, the small fridge in the room did not work so we could not store food in it. Other than that, no gripes at all. Some other reviewers have talked about reservations not being honoured. This was a concern for us, so we sent periodic reminders about our arrival right until a day before we showed up on their doorstep because we were visiting in peak tourist season and quite particular about where we stayed. The owner sent an email confirmation, which we printed out and clung on to until we’d checked in! Yet others have complained of pushy front desk staff trying to sell tours, etc., but we found that a polite decline always worked. The folks in Lao don’t seem aggressive salespeople. Among the staff, Khamsao (or just Sao) stood out as helpful and eager to please. In a town of overpriced hotels, this is a reasonable (relatively), well-run and clean hotel. Top marks for the spacious rooms, dated and authentic. Would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peneliti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.3 mi away
Manichan Guesthouse
Manichan Guesthouse
#7 of 265 in Luang Prabang
512 reviews
6.3 mi away
Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort
Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort
#1 of 1 in Ban Xieng Lom
247 reviews
1.5 mi away
Luang Prabang View Hotel
Luang Prabang View Hotel
#19 of 70 in Luang Prabang
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#3 of 70 in Luang Prabang
831 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#18 of 70 in Luang Prabang
281 reviews
0.7 mi away
Villa Maly Boutique Hotel
Villa Maly Boutique Hotel
#10 of 70 in Luang Prabang
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sayo River Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sayo River Guest House

Address: Vat Xieng Thong area, along the Mekong River, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Hotel Style:
Ranked #130 of 265 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range: $28 - $55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sayo River Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sayo River Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sayo Guest House Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing