We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay, good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sayo River Guest House
Ranked #152 of 260 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Warsaw
Level Contributor
59 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay, good location”
Reviewed November 18, 2011

We liked LP so much that we stayed for almost a week. What we especially liked about Sayo Guesthouse was it's calm atmosphere, perfect location and friendly staff. It really felt like temporary home. Last but not least we got a low-season rate which was well below what is listed on their webpage. The house is a bit run down, but this is actually what makes it authentic and atmospheric. Rooms were cleaned daily. No breakfast served, but this only give an opportunity to explore LPs lovely cafes. Definitely recommended.

Room Tip: We had a room on patio side and it was very pleasant. For views on the Vat you should request rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AventureroPolaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    49
    24
    13
    11
See reviews for
7
63
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Couldn't recommend this guesthouse enough. The staff are really friendly, while the rooms are spacious and secure with views over the Mekong. It's only a five minute walk from the town centre and night market - perfect location as it's nice a quiet at night.

We went on an overnight trip and they took care of our backpacks, held a room for us and when we got back our bags were already waiting in the room. It really felt like a temporary home for us.

We were two couples - my husband and I on a year long trip and on a budget, our friends coming out for a holiday. There's three different brackets of room types and prices which meant we could all stay within our own budgets. Very affordable all round though - about $25 per night for us and $30 for our friends, although there's even bigger rooms for $40.

There's no restaurant, so breakfast isn't included but there's lots of lovely cafes with riverfront seats on that road - we loved Saffron which did a good coffee.

We looked at a lot of rooms in Luang Prabang and for this price this was definitely a good option.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms overlooking the Mekong have great balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KathKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
103 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2011

We moved here after deciding to spend some extra time in Luang Prabang and the place we had been staying was booked out for the extra days. We looked up and down the riverfront and picked this place based on the rooms vs. cost.
We had a nice big room on the ground floor with outside chairs and table overlooking the river. The place is quite and tranquil in an excellent location up the pointy end of the peninsular. The only slight problem was the shower flows across the whole floor and across the entrance to the bathroom door so you have to be very carefull not to slip over as you enter the bathroom. Breakfast is not included but we enjoyed trying out the many cafes near by.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Takemeaway01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2011

We booked this guesthouse while on the bus from Luang Namtha. We arrived at 1.30am and were greeted by 2 staff who showed us our room.
The first night we stayed in one of the upstairs rooms, but decided the following 4 nights to stay in one if the ground floor rooms instead as they are only $20USD p/night.
The rooms are large and have everything you need- hot water, a/c, fan, fridge.
We were a short walk to 3 of the best eateries in the town- The Big Tree Cafe; Saffron; L'Elephant. Also very close to Big Brother Mouse when we helped local kids with their English for 2 hrs each day.
I found it lovely to be so close to the main street but away enough to not hear the traffic.
We hired a scooter and were able to put it inside the gates at night time which was very handy considering the scooter hire place was holding our passports until we returned the scooter!!
Thank you for a wonderful stay!!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindel-Jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2011

We stayed for one night - went for a tour and went back to SAYO RIVER for a further 7 nights.. $40 no breakfast and although there are cheaper alternatives however, having stayed at a dearer place this is quiet. We had an upstairs room overlooking the Mekong with balcony, fridge with beer, lemonade and pepsi and free bottled water daily, air con and ceiling fan...The rooms are light and airy which can be a rarity. It is walking distance to everything, although we hired a bike as well.

Room Tip: Upstairs with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EstherDarwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerville, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2011

We were warned that it could get noisy. Luckily, the monks at the eponymous Vat Xieng Mouane located just opposite the Sayo Guest House decided to take pity on all late risers and did not begin their chanting and drumming until well into the afternoon. The guest house is an old house, barely renovated from the palatial home it must have been even 50 years ago and that is its core appeal. It’s solid and spacious and, at its price, a steal. (That said, Luang Prabang seemed unduly expensive compared to general prices in the region, including the Laotian capital, Vientiane.) We stayed in one of the extremely roomy duplex rooms upstairs with large windows overlooking the monastery. While there are no balconies in this guest house, it still meant we were perfectly positioned to see the monks receiving alms every morning. A large bed both at entrance level and a smaller bed in the loft space above were huge pluses. While the front windows had lovely views of Mount Phousy, the large bathroom ensuite—replete with wood-encased bathtub and dressing table carved out of a solid slice of tree trunk—had a window that framed tiled roofs and the hills on the far bank of the Mekong. Minus: no breakfast provided at all, let alone one included in the tariff. But there are a number of good restaurants within striking distance. Also, the small fridge in the room did not work so we could not store food in it. Other than that, no gripes at all. Some other reviewers have talked about reservations not being honoured. This was a concern for us, so we sent periodic reminders about our arrival right until a day before we showed up on their doorstep because we were visiting in peak tourist season and quite particular about where we stayed. The owner sent an email confirmation, which we printed out and clung on to until we’d checked in! Yet others have complained of pushy front desk staff trying to sell tours, etc., but we found that a polite decline always worked. The folks in Lao don’t seem aggressive salespeople. Among the staff, Khamsao (or just Sao) stood out as helpful and eager to please. In a town of overpriced hotels, this is a reasonable (relatively), well-run and clean hotel. Top marks for the spacious rooms, dated and authentic. Would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peneliti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
102 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Sayo Guest House, Xieng Mouane location for three nights in January. We booked this hotel because we liked its location across from the Xieng Mouane temple. We stayed in room A5 which is upstairs and faced the temple across the street.

The room itself is quite large. It has nice hardwood floors and very tall ceilings. There were two or three big windows letting in a lot of light. The ceilings were so hi, in fact, that there were only 7 foot walls separating the bathroom from the room which had maybe 15 foot ceilings. The bathroom itself was okay. It is the type of bathroom that has the shower as a shower head attached to the wall spraying over the room. No separate shower stall. This was fine when showering but was slightly annoying when trying to use the bathroom afterward as the floor was wet for hours. The room has a television with a few cable channels and a mini-fridge. There is a mosquito net over the bed but when we went to use it there were a few holes that we had to fix with tape.

The service was fine. Nothing exemplary but nothing awful.

This historic portion of Luang Prabang is relatively compact and this hotel is right in the middle of it. One thing to note, which may be common knowledge but was news to me, is that on some days, at around 4:30am the temples beat big drums that are very loud. Because of the temple across the street and a few more nearby, we had a couple of 4:30 am wake up calls that we were not expecting. This being said, this hotel is early on the morning alms route for the monks so you can quite easily view the ritual before it gets overrun with tourists further down the route.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sundinkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.0 mi away
Sala Prabang
Sala Prabang
#31 of 69 in Luang Prabang
250 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sayo Naga Guesthouse
Sayo Naga Guesthouse
#86 of 260 in Luang Prabang
46 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mekong Sunset View Hotel
Mekong Sunset View Hotel
#60 of 260 in Luang Prabang
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pakam Guest House
Pakam Guest House
#48 of 260 in Luang Prabang
61 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Laodeum
Villa Laodeum
#81 of 260 in Luang Prabang
110 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sokdee Guest House
Sokdee Guest House
#88 of 260 in Luang Prabang
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sayo River Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sayo River Guest House

Property: Sayo River Guest House
Address: Vat Xieng Thong area, along the Mekong River, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Hotel Style:
Ranked #152 of 260 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sayo River Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Sayo River Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sayo Guest House Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing