We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good for viewing the alms procession”
Review of Villa Senesouk

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa Senesouk
Ranked #86 of 269 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Here the main attraction are the front balcony rooms that face the early-morning alms procession. The rooms themselves are decent, with a lot of dark wood, very firm beds, limited outlets, and fuzzy tv. We didn't hear much street noise.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greg_in_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (259)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 259 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2013

Booked through Agoda and got a nice deal. Loved the wooden floors and furniture . The room was clean and free wifi was not bad. I got a room with the balcony facing the beautiful Wat Sen. Very convineient if you want to see the alms ceremony in the morning (the hotel staff will also help you participate, if you wish). No breakfast, but there are other options closeby.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sanjay K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Very convenient location! Right in front of a beautiful temple on the main street, and yet very quite and comfortable. The morning alms giving was right in front, and the guesthouse made arrangements for us to participate in the ceremony, which was one of the most memorable experiences in Luang Prabang. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Beautiful wooden furniture gave the place a very authentic feel. Great value for money. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trippple_T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Plusses:
Relativley quiet, large, interesting, dark wood room in the newer back building.
Relatively large bath with separate shower.
Firm, comfortable bed.
Free wifi.
Desk staff pleasant and helped move luggage.
Room and common areas clean.
Good AC
$50

Minuses:

Desk staff English marginal.
No in-room safe; safe available at desk but not convenient for daily cash access.
No breakfast.
The day before our departure the front desk could not arrange a taxi for our 7:30 AM flight; could only order a Tuk Tuk which is not want we wanted for the about file mile trip with luggage. Hailed a taxi on the street the day before and arranged for a 6:00 AM pickup which worked out OK.
WiFi did not work in room; only worked in common areas.
Lighting not good for reading although lots of lights.

Room Tip: Newer rooms in back are nicer and quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DBC1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Villa Senesouk is a family owned house at the quiet end of the main road running through LP. As a World Heritage Site the restoration of the old French colonial architecture has been a major draw. LP is well and truly on the "must see" tourist map drawing in visitors from all ends of the economic spectrum, hence for its size, it is a busy destination.

Senesouk benefits from being directly opposite Wat Saen and a few monk's steps away from two more large wats & monasteries further down the road. At dawn tour buses bring in the less fortunate out-of-town punters to watch the alms-giving procession of monks, whilst you only have to fall out of bed in the early morning, grasp a cup of coffee and witness hundreds of monks passing by. This is a gentle, thought-provoking spectacle and one that should be respected. Sadly not all tourists do, jostling as they thrust their cameras into the faces of the monks. Shamefully embarrassing.

The hotel does not offer food or drink but has filter coffee (Lao) and tea (bag variety & loose Lao) on tap in reception and in a room on the lower ground floor off the stone courtyard. Rooms come in two flavours, standard and superior. The old building facing the road house the standard rooms with a/c but pretty basically furnished. The bathrooms are even more basic and need updating but one does not go to LP to sit in a bathroom (hopefully), or even a bedroom come to that. The superior rooms are in the building to the rear, which do not benefit from a river view and one has to question the higher price.

Wifi is available throughout the hotel, although Laos does not boast the fastest connection.

The Lao are modest and friendly - struggling to come to terms with tourism, emerging from under the dead hand of command economy Communism. In general they are not so "smiley" as Thais but confidence will likely flow with relaxation. The food and language share much with Thailand, and the Thai Baht is readily accepted, frequently in preference to the domestic Kip. It is also a bit more comforting to have prices not quoted in the tens of thousands (of Kip), which makes things sound so expensive. So if you are arriving at LP via Thailand, you can freely use your Baht without the hassle and cost of a second currency conversion.

Do your exploring on bike, both town and mountain versions are available to rent for the day. To truly benefit from LP's laid back life, pedalling and stopping when you like cannot be beaten. The night market brings in traders by the hundred offering much the same tourist wares, although local silverware is to be admired. The main tourist office is helpful and a sensible place to start. LP is delightful and a pleasurable part of the world worthy of a stay of a few days.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Stayed 2 nights here and loved the place, especially when weighted against the cost of a room - I walked in from the street and was quoted $40 for the cheaper rooms and $50 for the higher standard rooms in the back. You might therefore be ale to get it cheaper if you book in advance. For that price, the place is amazing - great location, beautiful wooden floors and finishings all over, a spacious nicely decorated room. You leave your shoes (or flip flops) at the entrance, loved the feeling of the floors on my bare feet! I see others have complained about the bed, but it's all a matter of preference - I loved the mattress, precisely because it was hard.

Wifi worked well when I was there, payment by card at check out (charged in US$) worked just fine, note there is a 4% surcharge for paying by card.

The place was recommended by a friend who had stayed there and she had noted it's in a quieter part of town, which is also what many other travellers have noted in reviews. It might have been just my luck, but there was loud music late in the night on both nights (a Saturday and a Sunday night), while on Sunday morning I was woken up by what I assume were prayers of the monks blasting through a loud speaker in the monastery just across the street, but that i take as part of the scenery, so just be warned (no prayers Monday morning though, it must have been. Sunday thing). These would be my only complaints.

I had already watched the alms on the previous two mornings (staying in a different hotel) and was too tired to rise again that early, hence I did not benefit from the location in this respect, but if you are in Luang Prabang you MUST get up early (5:45 am or so, to be in the street at 6:00 am!) to see the alms and for that purpose, this guest house is ideally located. The alms would probably be the most magical experience you will have in this town. Lots of people have noted the guesthouse is not 'in downtown', but that's a misnomer for Luang Prabang - the whole main street from one end to the other (night market on one end, Wat Xieng Thong at the other) takes 20 mins average paced walking (30 mins very leisurely pace), this property is about 5 mins from Wat xieng Thong and 10-15 mins from night market, with plenty of nice boutique sand galleries on the way.

The 3 Nat restaurant just 50 meters down the street and is a great place for dinner with excellent service.

If you are on a budget, then you'll get plenty of mileage at this place.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
Thank Mpivanova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I love Villa Senesouk. A very picturesque clean little guesthouse across from a Wat that provides an unparalleled vantage point to watch the local monks take alms. We had a room on the second floor the gave right on the street. Fantastic location with excellent bakeries nearby. We only had two issues: 1) the bed was VERY hard (so hard we started to get bruises); and 2) the WiFi signal was very weak in our room. The real issue was the bed. We managed, but we can see how this could be a real problem for some. .

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdamSargon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.3 mi away
Villa Lao Wooden House
Villa Lao Wooden House
#40 of 71 in Luang Prabang
147 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villa Meuang Lao
Villa Meuang Lao
#35 of 71 in Luang Prabang
219 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Laodeum Nam Khan View
Villa Laodeum Nam Khan View
#38 of 71 in Luang Prabang
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Manichan Guesthouse
Manichan Guesthouse
#7 of 269 in Luang Prabang
517 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oui's Guesthouse
Oui's Guesthouse
#64 of 269 in Luang Prabang
38 reviews
0.2 mi away
Saynamkhan Hotel
Saynamkhan Hotel
#22 of 269 in Luang Prabang
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Senesouk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Senesouk

Address: Sakkarine Rd | After sisavang Rd 200 mesters, Luang Prabang, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 269 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range: $32 - $49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Villa Senesouk 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Senesouk luang prabang, Yes right now Villa Senesouk had 27 rooms with three building, The new building it's not completely yet, But the Old building that facing to temple and the Deluxe building are completely available any time,So now 19 rooms both building are already service to any guests to stay at Villa Senesouk, It's very nice building with lao style, The room ornament with lao old mix lao new style, Who had stayed this Hotel is attracting to come back or recommend their friends to stay, All 19 rooms had a private bathroom with cold and hot shower , Air conditioner, Cable TV, Fridge, Each room had two window, Cofee, Tea and drinking water free for any time but a breakfast and transportation are not including a room rate5 rooms had balcony with views from Vat San and 4 rooms with views garden or the Deluxe building , ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Senesouk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Senesouk Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing