We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of Villa Senesouk

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Senesouk
Ranked #93 of 271 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 8, 2013

LOVE this place. Great place to sit and chill on the balcony and watch the monks. At the end of the main drag, so not too noisy. Super rooms, although the beds are a bit hard. Very friendly staff and helpful with info for getting around Luang Prabang.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank photogfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (259)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 259 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2012

We have spent a week there in April 2011 and we enjoyed it a lot!
Is not situated in the downtown but is just a 5 minutes walking from the main temple and the night market, in front of the hotel you have an important temple. You can rent bikes to go around Luang Prabang from the hotel.
Is important to ask for the new rooms of the hotel, the old ones are not bad but older. Very clean rooms, good situation... good staff, we really enjoyed a lot.
We will strongly recommend the hotel for your stay in Luang Prabang.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xaviur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

The real advantage of Senesouk is its location on a fairly quiet stretch of a main street a short walk to shops, restaurants, and markets. And the staff is friendly.

We have stayed at Senesouk several times, staying in both the rooms in the separate back building in the upstairs front rooms with balconies over looking the street in the original hotel.

Each has their advantages.

We prefer the upstairs front rooms. Yes they are nosier, not as modern and not as large as the ones in back, but the balconies are great to watch the dawn march of the monks seeking alms (although the tourist groups arriving in vans can be loud and very annoying) and just to watch life go slowly by in Luang Prabang.

There are issues with Senesouk. The wifi did not work during our last stay. Even the computer, which was turned on, for guest use in the back building could not get on the Internet. The staff didn’t seem too concerned that it didn’t work and explained that it has not worked for sometime.

There is no breakfast but there are excellent places for breakfast near by, including the open-air Morning Glory and, a little further away, Le Café Ban Van Seng (owned by the L’Elephant Restaurant), both with working Wifi.

But saying all that, the location and cost make it a good value for a few nights in Luang Prabang.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ERBfd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2012

If you stay here, pay a little extra for the street facing rooms and watch the monks from the comfort of your balcony; we didn't and regretted it.

That said, I wouldn't wholeheartedly recommend you stay here.

Our room was fine, the price was good and the location fantastic but checking in was slow and on checking out we were charged a price 20% higher than we had been quoted, since we had a flight to catch and I didn't have my original paper work on hand we had to pay up. Perhaps that was an isolated incident but it spoiled the memory for us and knocked-off one star from my rating and would stop me from returning personally.

The only thing to say if you're not on a very tight budget you might want to consider paying a bit more and going somewhere with a pool, it gets pretty hot and the town is well suited to mid afternoons spent around a pool.

Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank BrendanLeG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

I picked this plc coz it's opposite the temple where the morning alms procession passing every morning,and we were satisfied coz we got to see it from the balcony. The ritual every mornings start very early and we can hear the noice from the street pretty loud. So it's good for 1-2 days to get the best view of the morning alms,and then u can move to other side,more expensive rooms or different hotel like we did. But this hotel is convenient located too so if u don't bother to move is really doesn't matter.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MissFluppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

Stayed here with a friend. Staff was helpful. Great little restaurants just to the left of the hotel with internet. Wonderful to awake early, get a coffee, sit on your balcony, and watch the monks as they process quietly to the temple right in front of you without being disrespectful. Night market just a 10 minute walk away. Quiet place to stay but just minutes away from everything. Bike rentals just a 5 minute walk away.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marciabarham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

We were there for Pi Mai Lao and were glad to have a room in the rear block, away from the noise. Nice quiet end of town, great bakery a few doors away! Room was great and nice to have a verandah to sit outside...

Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
Thank carobendo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.3 mi away
Villa Lao Wooden House
Villa Lao Wooden House
#40 of 71 in Luang Prabang
149 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villa Meuang Lao
Villa Meuang Lao
#34 of 71 in Luang Prabang
221 reviews
0.2 mi away
Phone Praseuth Guesthouse
Phone Praseuth Guesthouse
#3 of 271 in Luang Prabang
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Manichan Guesthouse
Manichan Guesthouse
#7 of 271 in Luang Prabang
523 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oui's Guesthouse
Oui's Guesthouse
#55 of 271 in Luang Prabang
40 reviews
0.2 mi away
Saynamkhan Hotel
Saynamkhan Hotel
#21 of 271 in Luang Prabang
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Senesouk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Senesouk

Address: Sakkarine Rd | After sisavang Rd 200 mesters, Luang Prabang, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 271 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range: $32 - $36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Villa Senesouk 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Senesouk luang prabang, Yes right now Villa Senesouk had 27 rooms with three building, The new building it's not completely yet, But the Old building that facing to temple and the Deluxe building are completely available any time,So now 19 rooms both building are already service to any guests to stay at Villa Senesouk, It's very nice building with lao style, The room ornament with lao old mix lao new style, Who had stayed this Hotel is attracting to come back or recommend their friends to stay, All 19 rooms had a private bathroom with cold and hot shower , Air conditioner, Cable TV, Fridge, Each room had two window, Cofee, Tea and drinking water free for any time but a breakfast and transportation are not including a room rate5 rooms had balcony with views from Vat San and 4 rooms with views garden or the Deluxe building , ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Villa Senesouk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Senesouk Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing