We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed feelings”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Luang Prabang
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
MuongLao Riverside by Villa Xandria
Ranked #141 of 261 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings”
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Pros:
Perfect location on the riverfront.
Seating area by the river.
Large room upstairs.
Very clean and modern, with character.

Cons:
Room downstairs was dark, smelly and bathroom was very small. We asked to be moved. The girl at the desk said we couldn't, but when we asked another member of staff the next morning he moved us straight away. The rooms upstairs are SO much better.
When we called they said they were full, but agoda said they had room so we booked online.
One member of staff in particular seemed disinterested, like she couldn't be bothered. She also bad mouthed the other member of staff for giving us a discount, but if he hadn't and allowed us to change rooms we wouldn't have stayed the extra 2 nights.
When we returned to the area 3 weeks later, we wanted to stay here, but the lady (who was bordering on rude) wanted to charge us extra (even more than if we had booked online) despite the fact that we were returning customers.

Regardless of the poor customer service, we loved our stay here.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Cluelessduo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    20
    8
    4
    3
See reviews for
4
30
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

I am so keen for people to enjoy the experience of Luang Prebang that this is nowmy third attempt at submitting this review. This hotel is right on the Mekhong, front rooms have small balconies looking on to the river. This is a good place tp stay for anybody visiting this tranquil town. A cupboard in the room would have been nice, but this was more than makeup for with cleanliness, clean towels everyday and the always charming and helpful Kim. My personal views that excessive Western luxury would be out of place in this serene town with a history of having suffered so badly badly at the hand of the West. Luang Prabang is a must for the serious traveller and this is a perfect place to stay. Clean , affordable, close to everything and helpful staff.

Room Tip: Front rooms are quiet at this time of year and great for view of river
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

This is a lovely little corner guesthouse. The staff are very welcoming and helpful and the breakfast is one of the best we encountered in SE Asia and the tables across the road overlooking the Mekong are a the perfect breakfast setting. The rooms are clean, spacious and comfortable. If I ever return to Luang Prabang I'll stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

This little guesthouse was on the street running along the Mekong River and it had seats to sit out right along the banks...fantastic view and atmosphere. We stayed here for two weeks in February and it was great, thanks especially to Khim our desk manager. He was friendly , helpful and so good to us. We would love to retrun and see him once again because we became friends with Khim. It was a special time for us.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank polyannaOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hanoi
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

A great small comfortable relaxed guesthouse. Great location on the Mekong riverside with a private riverside terrace with seating and a few minutes to lots of good restaurants on the Mekong riverside, the town centre and the Nam Khan riverside. Khim one of the receptionists is extremely friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Rooms upstairs have a private balcony overlooking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vietnamlocalHanoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Comfortable rooms and helpful staff who often would go out of their way to help out. The best feature of this place though is the great location overlooking the Mekong River. Get a balcony room if you can. Have breakfast or lunch across the road on the banks of the river. Spectacular views, good options & good value. Short walk up the hill to the main street. Everything is only a short walk - including the night markets & the boats departing for Thailand, Cave of the Buddhas etc. Enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the river!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pantherboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

MuongLao is definetely worth it if you don't want to spend too much money and still have a very decent room. I liked the simple but good breakfast, rooms were clean and beautiful and cleaned every day. The staff takes care of you and helps you out where possible.

Room Tip: Only a few rooms. A room with a balcony is probably the best place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David19051981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.0 mi away
Villa Chitdara 2 Guesthouse
Villa Chitdara 2 Guesthouse
#31 of 261 in Luang Prabang
178 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mekong Sunset View Hotel
Mekong Sunset View Hotel
#55 of 261 in Luang Prabang
119 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Chitchareune
Villa Chitchareune
#115 of 261 in Luang Prabang
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ammata Guest House
Ammata Guest House
#54 of 261 in Luang Prabang
106 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nammavong Guesthouse
Nammavong Guesthouse
#200 of 261 in Luang Prabang
41 reviews
0.2 mi away
Symoungkoun Guest House
Symoungkoun Guest House
#117 of 261 in Luang Prabang
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MuongLao Riverside by Villa Xandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MuongLao Riverside by Villa Xandria

Property: MuongLao Riverside by Villa Xandria
Address: Watnong Village, Souvanakhampong (Mekong River Roed), Luang Prabang 1234, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #141 of 261 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Muonglao Riverside By Villa Xandria Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing