We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Symoungkoun Guest House
Ranked #160 of 266 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 5, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights at this guesthouse. The staff are very friendly. They really do try their best to communicate with us though their English can be limited. Everyone is just so nice, from the manager down to the cleaner. The location of this GH is not at the "center." Meaning, you have to walk a couple of yards (1-3 minutes) to get here and this can work for or against this place. If you want relative peace and quiet and away from the bustle of LP, this is the perfect place for you. Symoungkoun is right in front of a monastery so you can be assured of serenity.

Complimentary tea, water (hot and cold) and coffee is served throughout the day and you can get a discounted rate if you book during the low season. They also offer bicycle rentals (the best way to go around the town) and tours.

If you want to do alms giving in the morning, you can order a basket of rice from the store next door for LAK20,000 (around US$2) and mats will be lent to you for you to sit/kneel on during the ceremony.

There is also no curfew so you can stay out for as late as you want. A stay-in receptionist sleeps on the couch in the reception area to let you in.

The room is clean but very basic with A/C and fan, tv, towels, private bathrooms, tissue and small bars of soap.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor MAY be noisier
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redhotchili09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (56)
There are newer reviews for Symoungkoun Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

19 - 25 of 56 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2012

I stayed 11 nights at this guest house...i just fell in love with luang prabang. The location of the guesthouse is amazing...on the main street but in the quiet side of it. In front there are lovely temples where you can see in the morning their alms procession. Staff is really friendly and smily. Around there are 2 yummy bakeries to have breakfast with good food and lovely atmoshpere...and on the left side also a nice spa. In stayed in room 4, the most beautiful room overlooking the temple...sometimes from my bed i could hear the monks singing while they were doing gardening...big room, air conditioning fan tv and hot water. They also rent bikes there which is the easiest way to discover luang prabang. I really loved staying at SYmoungkoun guesthouse!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Valeriaf75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

We stayed here one night as a substitute for Phasith GH when they couldn't accommodate us on the first night. Symoungkoun is at the end of the main street, near to some of the more upscale places and across from a temple. The rooms were clean with TV and AC. They offer toilet paper, soap and towels.
I would stay here again just in one of the upstairs rooms away from reception.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SHY1202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2012

The owner gave us a nice discount since the guesthouse wasn't fully booked. He has been a novice in one of the temples for three years and a knowledgeable friendly local. The young people working here are eager to work in tourism in a more friendly way than many other Laotians. Walking distance from important places, bikes for rent and at sunrise you can see the monks taking alms across the street. Lovely.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Bart K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2012

Good location,near by the main streent in Luang Prabang.and It’s only about 5 mins walk from Wat Xieng Thong.
We spend 5 nights in Symoungkoun.Every mornig you can weak up in the temple alms, and just walk out to the GH you can watch the monks collecting the alms. The room, alought very simple, but is clean and bright. Breakfast is not served. and no hair dryer >< that’s really Inconvenient for girls.The house keeper is very frindly. Alought he seems to not talk well in english, but still do his job well.We all very enjoy this trip, and really thanks Symoungkoun’s people a lot.

我們五個人是在2012年1、2月到龍坡邦6天自助行 全程都是住在Symoungkoun這家民宿 房間屬於簡單 較小 但非常明亮 乾淨 管理人員非常和善 可以用簡單的英文 加 一些肢體動作 來溝通 沒有吹風機是我們覺得唯一不方便的地方 有冷氣、電視、有熱水可以洗澡 沒有早餐提供 可以租腳踏車、機車
住在這間民宿真的是很棒 位置相當的好 清晨可以聽到寺廟的鐘鼓聲、讀經聲,民宿網頁上介紹有名的僧侶托缽 真的就在民宿前 你只要早點起床 就可以看到。另外 很有名的景點如相通寺( Wat Xieng Thong )就在附近 走路只要5、6分鐘就可以到(只可惜 我們去的時候 它正好正在大整修)
我們非常享受這次的旅行 玩的很開心 感謝Symoungkoun民宿的朋友幫忙 強力推薦

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hungjune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012

the price is very cheap and the boss is very nice.it is also near temple
,market,museum.

Room Tip: rooms are quieter and sunny.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank phoebe634
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

This Guesthouse is very clean and cheap.
It is very close distance from the main street.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank richin2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.0 mi away
Sokxai Guest House
Sokxai Guest House
#127 of 266 in Luang Prabang
16 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Somphong
Villa Somphong
#20 of 266 in Luang Prabang
176 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Senesouk
Villa Senesouk
#77 of 266 in Luang Prabang
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Khoum Xieng Thong Boutique Villa
Khoum Xieng Thong Boutique Villa
#11 of 266 in Luang Prabang
105 reviews
0.4 mi away
Apple Guesthouse
Apple Guesthouse
#14 of 266 in Luang Prabang
223 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lao Lu Lodge
Lao Lu Lodge
#5 of 153 in Luang Prabang
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Symoungkoun Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Symoungkoun Guest House

Address: Sakkarin Road | Ban Khili, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #160 of 266 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range: $11 - $34 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Symoungkoun Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Symoungkoun Guesthouse is located along the mainstreet of Sisavangvong. It has 6 rooms right in the city and near to amenities such as banks/ATMs, restaurants/pubs, spa/massage, internet cafe, tourist office & tour agencies. Other famous attractions such Royal Palace Museum, Phousi Hill, Night market and a dozen of temples are all within walking distance. Every morning there are not less that 500 novices/monks walk past this guesthouse for the traditional alms giving, unique in Luangprabang. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Symoungkoun Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing