We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap Guesthouse”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Symoungkoun Guest House
Ranked #117 of 261 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Taipei, Taiwan
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cheap Guesthouse”
Reviewed May 21, 2012

This Guesthouse is very clean and cheap.
It is very close distance from the main street.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank richin2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    18
    9
    6
    5
See reviews for
Families
0
22
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2012

We spent 2 nights in this guest house. The room is clean and price is reasonable. Sometimes there was no eletricity & water in the afternoon but it does come back short while. Good location, we enjoyed cycling at morning across the street & near the river. The staff is nice & helpful.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank skhorhd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denpasar, Indonesia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2012

I love the place which faces Symoungkoun Wat, every morning I can see the morning alms in front of the guesthouse. It's also near from the market, many Wats, National Museum and Mt. Phousi. The people there are nice, they are so helpful, thanks KC and staffs!

Room Tip: if you want to see the monks parade, then choose the front room, but abit noisy in the morning (bell...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anggiajenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2012

It cost 120k Kip or USD15 for a twin bed room.

We stay one night and decided to move to another guesthouse based on 2 reason, first the price is out of our budget and the price that paid is not really worth the value. Second, the water is very small and always run out of water especially in the afternoon.

Overall, the staff is nice and helpful. Room is clean. The major issue is the toilet. Unless you don't bath else you might facing short of water. The shower water is super super small (not sure is it only the room I stayed), but this guesthouse water supply is base on the water level which around 6pm only can get water if you finished the water earlier than 6pm, you have to wait.

Location consider fine. Advantage is near to the temple which you can wake up early to see the monk walk pass infront of the guesthouse.

Everything is good, beside the water and the worth of value. Water is very important to me ! :p

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heilongxiaobao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2012

We stayed here after arriving pretty late in Luang Prabang due to slow boat breakdowns.
We were a group of 4 and the manager agreed to let us have a triple room for 160,000kip - so 40,000 each.
The beds were comfy enough & the room & bathroom clean enough. The sheets were somewhat threadbare and the shower wasn't hot but after 45mins of looking we were just glad of a bed for the night. Also, if like me the mozzies love your blood, there aren't mozzie screens on the windows.
Free tea, coffee & water apparently - though we forgot to chek this out. Check out time in the room stated as 12 noon but a sign on the stairs says 11:30 - if you stay here I'd double check with the staff........
Good view of the Monks' alms parade from the street side windows.
Not sure if reccommed this place, but I wouldn't avoid it.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jo_thomson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2012

This place is a nice guesthouse out a way from downtown on the peninsula in Luang Prabang. It's a nice old building and the rooms are simple, but pleasant. I had the backroom which was a good bargain at $15/night.

Two complaints though, perhaps it is the design of the building, but I could hear EVERYTHING that anyone did in the building. This included my fellow guests using the toilet, the staff waking up at 3am and various creaking doors and flooring. I thought at first it was a one night thing, but I was woken up every night that I stayed there.

The second isn't so much a complaint as an observation. While the staff were super friendly and nice, I often found that they disappeared (especially the one English speaking one) at times when I needed them the most. While I realize that I shouldn't except round the clock service from a guesthouse, it was a bit irritating at times.

Overall, with so many similar options in Luang Prabang, I think next time I would skip this place.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yozhik202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Luang Prabang hotels

Zagreb
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2012

We stayed at Symoungkoun in February, 2012 and were very satisfied with our choice.
The GH has the perfect location at the tip of the peninsula, just across the street from several temples. Every morning, you can watch the monks collecting the alms from your room window.
It is only 5 minutes walk from the night market and the pubs/restaurants area.
The guesthouse is a perfect solution for budget travelers. The rooms are basic, but clean and spacious enough. Breakfast is not served, but there's complimentary coffee/tea at the reception. There are several breakfast opportunities close by.
The staff were extremely nice. The negative reviews I read here about them being pushy etc. must have referred to someone else, as these guys were nothing but nice and unobtrusive.There's free WI-FI although the signal in the room was quite weak.
We had no objections staying here, as a matter of fact, we felt quite at home and would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If possible, chose a room facing the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rope_ka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.0 mi away
Sokxai Guest House
Sokxai Guest House
#129 of 261 in Luang Prabang
16 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Deux Rivieres
Hotel Villa Deux Rivieres
#28 of 261 in Luang Prabang
154 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Senesouk
Villa Senesouk
#86 of 261 in Luang Prabang
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Oui's Guesthouse
Oui's Guesthouse
#56 of 261 in Luang Prabang
37 reviews
0.1 mi away
The View Pavilion - Boutique Hotel
The View Pavilion - Boutique Hot...
#22 of 148 in Luang Prabang
82 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ammata Guest House
Ammata Guest House
#54 of 261 in Luang Prabang
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Symoungkoun Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Symoungkoun Guest House

Property: Symoungkoun Guest House
Address: Sakkarin Road | Ban Khili, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 261 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Symoungkoun Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Symoungkoun Guesthouse is located along the mainstreet of Sisavangvong. It has 6 rooms right in the city and near to amenities such as banks/ATMs, restaurants/pubs, spa/massage, internet cafe, tourist office & tour agencies. Other famous attractions such Royal Palace Museum, Phousi Hill, Night market and a dozen of temples are all within walking distance. Every morning there are not less that 500 novices/monks walk past this guesthouse for the traditional alms giving, unique in Luangprabang. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Symoungkoun Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing