We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value for money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Philaylack Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Philaylack Villa
Ranked #27 of 258 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
48 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

Stayed here for a week during the Luang Prabang Film Festival in December 2012. Location was great, within walking distance to Joma Bakery and noodle soup shops. Wifi is inconsistent. Room was spacious with dark wood interior. Quite cozy. Hot water in the bathroom worked well. Overall, there's a nice chill vibe to the place which I enjoyed.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emaleth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    53
    19
    7
    3
See reviews for
3
52
29
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg
Level Contributor
45 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

We booked 3 nights via the integrated booking function in this tripadvisor page, that links to agoda. If you open the Philaylack Villa and click on the agoda booking link, you will be transferred to the booking page of Philaylack Guesthouse 2!
Philaylack Villa is right in the middle of "downtown" Luang Prabang, Philaylack Guesthouse 2 is a 15 minute Tuk Tuk drive away.
We arrived in the evening and had to look for a different guesthouse as we wanted to stay downtown - that why we wanted to book Philaylack Villa.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wiraroundtheworld365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
371 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

While I was booked at the second Philaylack guesthouse, my tuk-tuk driver accidentally took me to the first, of which I was unaware. The first guesthouse is much closer to town. Typical Lao exterior/infrastructure: pleasing to the eye, open courtyard with several wood tables and chairs. A wonderfully friendly lab greets you. An easy check-in process (the young woman did not seem to notice that I was at the wrong guesthouse). The room was lovely. Quite spacious, shiny dark wood, two fairly comfortable twin beds, open closet, modern TV, very clean. Pillows arranged on each bed in a nice flowwer design. Night table between the beds with two complimentary, mini water bottles. (They were replaced each day!)

It was only later that night a sweet young hotel staffer let me know that I was booked into the wrong guesthouse. She said I could stay the night and offered for a tuk-tuk to take me to the other one free of charge the next day. I asked if she had room in the guesthouse so I could just stay there instead due to wonderful atmosphere and close proximity to town. She said she would look into it and the next AM let me know I was fine to stay there, no extra charge.

Overall, very nice front desk staff (some sour faces occasionally but overall fine). One of the particularly nicer staff let me use the reception area computer for some time while trying to locate my lost Iphone and for email and other tasks days therafter.

There is the typical bathroom/shower combination; it's very clean and not buggy.

The guesthouse is on a relatively quiet lane, with some other guesthouses. It's about a five-minute walk to the Hmong night market and night food market and then just about a 10-15 minute stroll further into town. Also about a 15-minute walk to the bars in the so-called "Entertainment Village." Therefore absolutely perfect location.

Wifi is not great but you want to be out and about in LB anyway!

Note that the front gate closes 11-11:30pm and you have to ring a bell to get back back in. Laundry is done for 8000kip/kilo and it smells wonderful.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank genibre69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
95 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

We only spent one night here as we couldn't get into our Luang Prabang accommodation until our second night. The location is excellent, just off the main street with easy access to the whole of town. Shower was hot, wifi bit slow but go to the Joma Bakery around the corner for that. Room small but adequate. We had a TV included without extra charge, and at 10pm on a Saturday night we could flick between three live 3pm Premier League matches (which, living in London, I have never been able to do before!)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trowbridge Wiltshire
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 6 nights in the end because we loved it so much.
philaylack is located down a nice small street about a 5 mins walk away from the town centre and a 1 min walk from the river.
the rooms are very spacious and clean, I wasnt to keen on the wooden walls decor lol but everyone has there own taste.
The hotel staff are extremely friendly and polite.
We would like to thank do? The young guy who worked on the front desk, he was lovely so smiley and helpful. He was more than happy to arrange our on ward travels and advise of good places to go. He even invited us to a local nightclub with him and his friends if we wanted to go.
Its a very short walk into the town centre which is stunning
we did have breakfast a few times here which is really nice and reasonable.
would definatly recommend this guesthouse you will have a very enjoyable stay, we look forward to returning in the future.

Thanks philaylack :)

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gemma_shrp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

I stayed for seven nights here and enjoyed every one of them. The staff are so friendly, helpful and courteous. They invited me to eat dinner with them on a couple of occassions. I must say they cook very good meals though there is no meal service except breakfast. The guest house is situated in the middle of everything. Go out of the villa turn left, two minute's walk will bring you to the Mekong river and a host of fine restaurants along the water front. Sunsets are fabulous by the Mekong. Turn right it will bring you to the main road. A left turn here and two minutes down the road will bring you to cafe Joma. A couple more minutes will bring you to the night market where you can browse and eat some very good Laotian food for less than $2.00. Most of the temples and other places of interest are closeby.

Though there were no fridges or safes in the rooms the service was excellent. You can use the fridge at the reception to store your milk and beer. The girls at the reception speak good English and will give you directions to where ever you want to go. They have a very quick laundry service. They prepare a good breakfast with hot baguettes for less than $2.00. When I visit Luang Prabang again I will stay in the Phylaylaack Villa. Very good value for money.

I was sad to leave the friendly staff and the homely atmosphere.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shanthi398
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

Initially intending to stay for 2 nights, we ended up staying for 9 nights at Philaylack Villa.

The staff are helpful, and friendly, with a couple of them able to speak a good level of english. The guesthouse has free wifi (as do many of the guesthouses), with incredibly spacious rooms and a larger than normal bathroom (compared to most places in southeast Asia). The room also comes with cable TV, and includes a free bottle of water everyday. Rooms are cleaned spotlessly daily. In addition to this, the guesthouse serves breakfast, and rents bicycles & motorbikes. Rooms are fitted with both AC and fans.

Located roughly 5min walk from the main street, where the night market is situated, resulting in less thoroughfare by tuk tuks and vehicles, making it a quite 'neighbourhood' to stay in. 2min walk is a bakery which serves some great breakfasts, and a good cup of coffee (which is hard to find).

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on the top level
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrkleinsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.2 mi away
Kounsavan Guesthouse
Kounsavan Guesthouse
#35 of 258 in Luang Prabang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
0.1 mi away
Phanthasone Guest House
Phanthasone Guest House
#33 of 258 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aham Corner Guesthouse (Aussie Sports Bar & Guesthouse)
Aham Corner Guesthouse (Aussie S...
#68 of 258 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hoxieng Guesthouse 1
Hoxieng Guesthouse 1
#47 of 258 in Luang Prabang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
0.7 mi away
Phone Praseuth Guesthouse
Phone Praseuth Guesthouse
#4 of 258 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rattana Guest House
Rattana Guest House
#69 of 258 in Luang Prabang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Philaylack Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Philaylack Villa

Property: Philaylack Villa
Address: Ban Wat That, Watthat, Luang Prabang, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 258 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Philaylack Villa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Philaylack Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing