We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”
Review of Philaylack Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Philaylack Villa
Ranked #25 of 260 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Value for money”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Initially intending to stay for 2 nights, we ended up staying for 9 nights at Philaylack Villa.

The staff are helpful, and friendly, with a couple of them able to speak a good level of english. The guesthouse has free wifi (as do many of the guesthouses), with incredibly spacious rooms and a larger than normal bathroom (compared to most places in southeast Asia). The room also comes with cable TV, and includes a free bottle of water everyday. Rooms are cleaned spotlessly daily. In addition to this, the guesthouse serves breakfast, and rents bicycles & motorbikes. Rooms are fitted with both AC and fans.

Located roughly 5min walk from the main street, where the night market is situated, resulting in less thoroughfare by tuk tuks and vehicles, making it a quite 'neighbourhood' to stay in. 2min walk is a bakery which serves some great breakfasts, and a good cup of coffee (which is hard to find).

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on the top level
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrkleinsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    56
    20
    7
    3
See reviews for
4
52
30
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

The rooms are ok sized with a double bed, lockable wardrobe and drawer, tv and air con. The bathrooms are wet rooms, but the shower although hot wasn't the greatest. We stayed in two rooms and both were the same.

The staff at the guesthouse were great and really friendly and most of the time there English was good. They offer a reasonably priced laundry service, free wifi, and I believe they do breakfast but we didn't try it.

The first night we stayed there it was very noisy, but I think this was due to a group of (school?) boys staying there and the next day the staff apologised. The other nights it seemed quiet though so I think it was just a one off.

The location is about 5 minutes from the night market and from there the strip of restaurants is not much further.

I think for the price the guesthouse was reasonable.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crouch3005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xi'an, China
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed there for 3 nights, the guesthouse is in a good location, you can walk to get to many spots, especially the night market, less than 5 minutes to walk. The front desk girl is helpful, and friendly.

However, the neighbors are terrible, they burn the sticks to cook supper, it makes the room smoky every afternoon. Every morning you can hear the baby crying, the chatting from the neighbors, as they get up early, and the soundproof of the hotel is poor.

Another thing is, we booked the living land and bus ticket to Mengla from the front desk boy, he charged us 350,000kip/person for living land, and 180,000kip/person for bus. Actually, the real price is 320,000kip/person for the living land, 140,000kip/person for the bus.

Tip: Avoid booking any ticket or activity from the front desk, they will charge more than the real price!

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms beside the firewood using neighbors, and don't book anything from the front desk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arthur X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Very clean, nicely decorated, quiet, and comfortable bed with good aircon. We had no regrets staying here for 4 nights, and would go back if we could! Staff were helpful although their english is sometimes limited - there always seems to be at least one who can speak well.

Room Tip: Visit the Kuangsi waterfalls, the hotel can arrange for this easily!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
129 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 5 nights in a double room with fan and aircon for 108,000 kip per night and really enjoyed our stay.

The room and bathroom were a decent size, the wardrobe and drawer both lock-able, which had been a concern after I read the review concerning a stolen iPhone charger, but we felt comfortable locking our valuables in there and made sure the window and doors were locked whenever we went out (we were on the ground floor).
The staff came in everyday to replace the towels, replenish toilet rolls and left one bottle of complimentary water per day.

The wifi connection was ok in the room, but required you to position yourself in one of the corners to pick it up (room 106) and so we made much use of the table and chairs outside our door under the covered walkway to access the net and which were also great to sit out and relax of an afternoon/evening.
The GH has a fridge with well priced drinks available early morning to very late evening (6,000 kip for can of coke, 11,000 for a large beer Lao - restaurants serve cans anywhere from 6-9,000 kip and beer Lao 10,000-12,000 kip) and well worth it for the convenience.

The staff were always present in reception and the courtyard and went out of their way to be friendly and offer their help if needed.

We booked our seats on the mini bus to Vang Vieng through them for 115,000 kip pp - which was slightly cheaper than all the agencies on town and had our laundry done for 8,000 kip per kilo (they wanted 10,000 kip per kilo further into the town centre). The laundry was quick and efficient and came back smelling great with no damage at all.

The hotel is on the 1st street past the JoMa Bakery (heading out of town away from the tourist info centre) about 2/3 of the way down on the left hand side. I thought I should be specific as we had a tuk tuk driver from the bus station who didn't seem to know Luang Prabang at all and it ended up costing us more as he went round in circles and asked some of the other drivers for directions!
The guesthouse was seconds from the riverfront walking down the hill and a couple of minutes along the main strip to get to the start of the night market. Luang Prabang is a relatively small town and everything is within easy walking distance but there are plenty of tuk tuk drivers around touting for trade to the waterfall or Pak ou caves. All I can say is haggle haggle haggle if you need one, and especially in the low season you have the advantage as there are so many to choose from.

For a cheap eat overlooking the meekong walk to the bottom of the road, turn left and walk to the last restaurant on the riverfront (approx 5-7mins walk). You'll pass plenty of expensive restaurants that charge by the 100g for steak or fish but this one is very well priced for the food and the view.

All in all a lovely relaxing few days and we wouldn't hesitate to recommend philaylack to those planning a stay in Luang Prabang.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicki432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights and we have not a single complaint! The room was clean and not old or run down at all, as we were on the ground floor we were a little worried about security however this was not an issue. The rooms are cleaned daily and you are provided with complimentary water. The wardrobe in the room is lockable and we were comfortable leaving our valuables in the room. The staff are helpful and always present in the lobby and the courtyard, they recognise you when you come in and are always smiling. They also allow you access to the kitchen to use the hot water for tea/coffee. Really good location, 5 minute walk to Night Markets and sights in Luang Prabang. One of the best guesthouses/hotels in this price range that we have stayed at in Laos.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ScottandManisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviewed May 12, 2012

Booked on agoda for $13/night, and the place turned out to be a really great value. Clean rooms, good air conditioning, good location. The staff had limited English, but it doesn't really effect the quality of your stay. The only issue we had was that my iPhone charger was stolen off the night stand in our room on the last night of our stay, we locked all of our valuables up in one of the dresser drawers and locked the door and windows whenever we left the room. I guess it was my fault for not locking it up, but seriously who steals a phone charger??? After bring up to the staff that my charger went missing, we had to argue with them for an hour and only ended up getting 40000 kip compensation (not even enought to buy a cheap knock off charger), we even had to empty our luggage to prove to them that we weren't hiding it. I know it's just a phone charger and not that big of a deal but a quality iPhone charger is hard to come by in Laos and it was a major inconvenience trying to research the next part of our trip without a way to get online, the staff showed no empathy.

If you keep a close eye on your belongings, I suppose this would be a good value option in Luang Prabang. But I personally would look elsewhere, I would not recommend a place with business practices such as this.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank g0blue12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.0 mi away
Hoxieng Guesthouse 1
Hoxieng Guesthouse 1
#51 of 260 in Luang Prabang
81 reviews
0.2 mi away
Manichan Guesthouse
Manichan Guesthouse
#7 of 260 in Luang Prabang
496 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pakam Guest House
Pakam Guest House
#47 of 260 in Luang Prabang
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Charming Place Hotel
Charming Place Hotel
#57 of 260 in Luang Prabang
29 reviews
0.5 mi away
Apple Guesthouse
Apple Guesthouse
#12 of 260 in Luang Prabang
217 reviews
0.2 mi away
Golden Lotus Place
Golden Lotus Place
#2 of 260 in Luang Prabang
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Philaylack Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Philaylack Villa

Property: Philaylack Villa
Address: Ban Wat That, Watthat, Luang Prabang, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 260 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Philaylack Villa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Philaylack Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing