We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable, friendly”
Review of Philaylack Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Philaylack Villa
Ranked #26 of 268 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 24, 2008

I should mention, first, that I'm not accustomed to "guest houses," being an American on my first visit to South-East Asia. As a hotel-only patron, I wasn't sure what to expect. Just 12 days earlier, I'd stayed in a terrible, dirty, non-serviced room on the Vietnam/Cambodian border. The rest of my travels, I'd been in private apartments, with a friend.

So I can say that I was very relieved to arrive in Luang Prabang and have the tuk tuk pull up to the Villa Philaylack. The building looks quite new and welcoming. "Mr. Anoum" (written phonetically) had taken our reservation the night before. (+856 7125 3025). It may take some time to communicate in English. Just remember to use simple sentences: "You have room?" (My Asian friend told me that Americans use too many words, which just confuses people.)

Our room was on the second floor of the detached building. All the walls, floor and ceiling were wood/wood panel. The tile in the bathroom was clean and contemporary, with just the earliest traces of mildew in the grout. (I suspect that by 2010 the bathrooms may look a little shabby if they aren't kept up.)

The room included two bottles of (Red Cross) water, wrapped hotel soap, fresh (not new) towels and toilet paper. We opted to not recieve our air conditioner remote, and paid $2 less per night ($14/night instead of $16). There is a ceiling-mounted fan over the bed (which was dusty on our arrival, so we washed the grill in the shower).

Clean towels, drinking water, soap and toilet paper were brought in every day of our three-night stay. The staff were pleasant , honest and helpful (but try to be back before they close the gate at 11:30pm, or you might experience some light crankiness).

Laundry service was 8,000kip/kg.

The only major drawback to Villa Philaylack is the location. If you go there, you're going to think I'm crazy for saying this, since it's really only a handful of blocks from then central area (where the tour booking companies and night market are). But especially when you are trying to get somewhere in heat of mid-day, you'll probably start to wonder about the dozens (and dozens) of guest houses closer to the "center of things."

We moved to a place closer in for our last two nights, and while we enjoyed much shorter walks to our favorite restaurants and massage spas (and the balcony view of the Mekong) we were less than thrilled with the service, cleanliness and staff of the second place.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank textheavy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (131)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 131 reviews

Reviewed March 10, 2008

A nice little guesthouse located in a quiet street of Luang Prabang close to the Mekong, which is very clean and has very friendly staff. I stayed on the second floor of the Villa in room 205, which has two large windows, A/C, a fan, a bathroom, a queen size confortable bed. The floor, ceiling and walls are made out of wood - mahogany color.

The staff speaks good English and the breakfasts were excellent - especially the fruit salad which was huge, varied and very fresh every time. Please note that the breakfast is not included in the price of the room which is around $16 US a day.

I would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GlobetrotterOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2008

After paying overflated prices at several other guesthouses in the town I discovered Philaylack Villa and was impressed by the overall standard of the place and the room charges. The highlight for me was the kindness and helpfullness of the owner and her staff. Their kindness and attention were first rate. The food is of a high standard and aways served wih a smile.

The location is ideally placed for restaurants, shops, internet cafes and the Maekong River. The night market is a 2 minute walk and is well worth a look. I have recently returned from my 3rd stay at Philaylack Villa and fully intend to stay there again should I return to Luang Prabang.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank alrashid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2007

Impressed with this guesthouse. We(two families totalling eight persons) stayed in this guesthouse for 4 nights after checking out of our orginial unimpressive guesthouse after the first night..
Only two years old - clean rooms with showers and air con in the old silversmithing side of town near the Mekong. Food was excellent and very cheap. Highly recommmended

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank expatos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2016, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank suwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016
Thank すぬおか8181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank MariaLopukhina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.1 mi away
Phanthasone Guest House
Phanthasone Guest House
#28 of 268 in Luang Prabang
60 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hoxieng Guesthouse 1
Hoxieng Guesthouse 1
#55 of 268 in Luang Prabang
81 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pakam Guest House
Pakam Guest House
#49 of 268 in Luang Prabang
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rattana Guest House
Rattana Guest House
#51 of 268 in Luang Prabang
98 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mali House
Mali House
#35 of 268 in Luang Prabang
14 reviews
0.2 mi away
Manichan Guesthouse
Manichan Guesthouse
#7 of 268 in Luang Prabang
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Philaylack Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Philaylack Villa

Address: Ban Wat That, Watthat, Luang Prabang, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 268 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range: $21 - $24 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Philaylack Villa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Philaylack Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing