We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ignorant staff but the room we got at the...”
Review of Sokdee Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sokdee Guest House
Ranked #88 of 266 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 4, 2010

ignorant staff but the room we got at the front was lovely. Good A/C, TV and clean. We paid 25 dollars per night for a double room. Stingy on the toilet paper and the bed had a huge towel instead of a sheet to sleep under. Bizarre. Grand place though!

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colsku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sokdeeresidence, Manager at Sokdee Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2017

Thanks for staying with us. We are glad you enjoyed your time here and we hope to see you again someday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (182)
There are newer reviews for Sokdee Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

139 - 145 of 182 reviews

Reviewed May 25, 2010

We booked a fan room without a/c for 100.000 kip based on the fact that they did have WiFi. In all fairness, the WiFi worked, but the room was dirty and the bathroom was VERY dirty and had this disgusting smell to both number one and two, all mixed together. The staff is extremely rude, unhelpful and untrustworthy. One night we arrived at 10 pm and asked the night guard to sell us a big water bottle. He charged us 15.000 kips. Because we thought it was very expensive, the following day we asked in reception how much a big bottle was and they told us 5.000 Kips. We complained about this, but they didn't care at all. Anyways, stay at some other place. We moved to Villa Shayada, which for the same rate gave us a very clean room with a/c.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mmhbcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sokdeeresidence, Manager at Sokdee Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2017

So sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay. Thanks for the feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2010

A decent place to stay - nothing fancy, just nice clean rooms. Remember to barter - prices are always negotiable. Would have been better if breakfast had been included.
The $60 rooms on the front looked very overpriced.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HikingTone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sokdeeresidence, General Manager at Sokdee Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2017

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay here and we hope to see you again someday. Thank you so much for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2010

The owner of this place and the four other associated guesthouses and hotels is laughing all the way to the bank in his expensive 4WD. Accommodation in Luang Prabang is pricey and this is the cheapest place in town (that we could find) so they have a constant flow of customers. They quoted us 130,000kip for a double room but we haggled down to 100,000kip based on the the fact that there was no TV, air con, wifi, breakfast, or view. This is still a hell of a lot more than we would usually pay in SE Asia. (The staff are all on commission by the way, so you should definitely haggle - we overheard them quote somebody else 160,000kip for the same room).

The room was not clean, floors hadn't been swept, cobwebs everywhere, bathroom very dirty. The pressure from the shower was ridiculous, you could lick yourself clean faster, and there was hardly ever any hot water. The staff weren't exactly rude, but they were pretty unhelpful and disinterested.

We stayed two nights before heading off an an overnight tour, and foolishly booked another night for when we got back for convenience. They wouldn't give us anything in writing and, needless to say, when we arrived back they told us they had let our room and we would have to take a more expensive room instead, 150,000kip. He showed us the room and it was identical to the one we had been in before! What a joke!

If we went to Luang Prabang again we would save up and pay extra - 170,000kip (US$20) should get you something nice.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BG10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sokdeeresidence, Manager at Sokdee Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2017

Sorry you did not enjoy your stay. Thank you for your helpful feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2009

the staff is not friendly at this place. no smile, no service, and they overcharge you for the room. our neighbour payed half price because he was malaysian and our other neighbours payed 50% more because they were english!? when you stay here, do not stay at the old guesthouse, but stay at the new part. the most expensive rooms are very nice indeed and luxurious. overall... difficult call... average at the best!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TurboN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sokdeeresidence, Manager at Sokdee Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2017

Sorry you did not enjoy some parts of your stay. We are happy to hear about the parts you enjoyed but we also thank you for this helpful feedback on the parts you did not enjoy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2009

We arrived off the boat to find guesthouses in Luang Prabang were 2/3 times the prices in our guidebook - a big shock compared to Thailand. We wanted wifi as we had some late night calls to make back home, so took a room in the Sokdee in slight desperation. The rooms were rather down at heel and for the same price (we paid 130,000 KIP exc. breakfast) we found a lot better elsewhere (see Muonglao Guesthouse). The wifi was extremely slow which turned out not to be a problem elsewhere in Luang Prabang. The clincher for us, though, were the people - all unfriendly and bordering on rude once they'd got us through the door.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill_Oxted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sokdeeresidence, Manager at Sokdee Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2017

So sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay. Thanks for the feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2008

Arrived at this guesthouse in Luang Prabang with few other options as the town was very busy as it was difficult to get accomodation. We left another small guesthouse in town because the bed was just a board so accepted this one after a brief viewing as the bed seemed better.

How wrong we were.
I checked the sheets and although the bed had been made to look "fresh" they were soiled sheets and I requested nicely for them to be changed. It followed with a rant and a sulk from worker.

Upon further inspection, the place was filthy dirty but with no other option we had to stay for two nights. The bathroom, the floors, the furniture, the walls etc. everything dirty. Shortly after we arrived a worker arrived to clean the bathroom with a toilet bush. He went in for 1min, made some noise and left again.

Every dealing we had with the staff and owner was difficult. They continuosly tried to rip us and other guests off. When leaving they would not take the money from us the night before insisting they would be up at 6am the next morning. They were not. Then wanted to charge us for 3 nights instead of two.
All the staff just sit around all day. the only gusthouse in town with no sheets on the line. Place like a building site also.
Then some of the staff made up a bed each night on the balcony outside our room and slept there for the night.

Be warned. Only stay here as a very very last resort

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank lorhig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sokdeeresidence, Manager at Sokdee Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2017

Sorry you did not enjoy your stay. Thank you for your helpful feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.0 mi away
Xieng Mouane Guest House
Xieng Mouane Guest House
#43 of 68 in Luang Prabang
45 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pakam Guest House
Pakam Guest House
#60 of 266 in Luang Prabang
63 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Laodeum
Villa Laodeum
#74 of 266 in Luang Prabang
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mekong Sunset View Hotel
Mekong Sunset View Hotel
#50 of 266 in Luang Prabang
122 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sokdee Residence
Sokdee Residence
#51 of 68 in Luang Prabang
83 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Champa
Villa Champa
#63 of 266 in Luang Prabang
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sokdee Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sokdee Guest House

Address: Xatikhoumman Road | Ban Vat Nong, Luang Prabang, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 266 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range: $11 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sokdee Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Very nice, clean and comfortable rooms near the city center and the river side. The guesthouses are removed from the hustle and bustle of the city but still an easy walk to the night market, cafes and temple. We just had a change in management and keen to make you stay as good as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Sokdee Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing