We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Professional staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
Ranked #14 of 69 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Ancaster, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Professional staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

We had booked to stay 3 nights at the Lotus Villa in a Water Lilly room but on account of an admin error ended up being allocated an inferior room. Upon learning of the mix up, Evelyn and her staff moved us into an available Water Lilly room, found us alternate suitable accomodation,moved our luggage and on top fully refunded us the cost of the accomodation. She was most apologetic of the error by the booking clerk and more than compensated us for the inconvenience by personally ensuring that we were completely satisfied. We would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to any one visiting Luang Prabhang.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Muna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

858 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    538
    246
    59
    13
    2
See reviews for
134
428
98
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hawaii
Level Contributor
102 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

My wife and I were scheduled to stay in the Frangipani room but, because of an unexpected circumstance, we ended up in the Orchid Suite instead. The suite is a very large room with a sitting area, a nice balcony from which you can watch life on the street, a good sized sleeping area with a very comfortable bed and a bath"area" that included a sink area, a separate toilet and a shower that made it seem like you were outside. In the shower was a large flat rock to stand on and smaller rocks all around.

Breakfasts were very nice. You order off of a menu and, though there is not a large number of choices, everything was cooked to order and was very good. Some of the dishes were different than what we are used to but that's one of the great things about traveling - seeing and experiencing how other people live.

What made the Lotus Villa stand out for us, however, was the staff. Everyone went out of their way to make our stay memorable. At one point there was a crack in the hose for the shower. I mentioned it in the morning and it had been completely taken care of by the time we returned to our room. We met many wonderful people during our trip to SE Asia and the staff at the Lotus Villas were among the best.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mauigirl808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

This was our second trip to Luang Prabang and our first stay at Lotus Villa. We found the court yard garden was a great place to start and finish the day, making socialising and meeting others very easy, althought the provision of privacy was also there when you wished. Our room was extremely comfortable and spotlessly clean. The Villa is perfectly located being within easy walking distance of all that you might want to visit in the Old Town. Our visit (7 days) was a truly memorable and fantastic experience, made even more enjoyable through the outstanding service of Evelyn and her staff. We will certainly return to Lotus Villa again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Foxy52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pope Valley
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

Our 5 night stay here was a real success...the architecturally designed rooms are comfortable, if a bit spartan, but the staff is extra friendly, always helpful, and breakfast in the courtyard/garden was a great way to start the day. We were completely satisfied in every way, and felt lucky to have fou d the place.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Roy andSusan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
175 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

It is easy to fall for the trip advisor trap, and perhaps we did at the lotus villas. The location is great, in the middle of the original part of town. The service was very attentive, the manager and staff were always happy to help with any request. ( tea / coffee making facilities etc), though the outsourced laundry was our worst asian laundry experience.

 I had booked and paid in advance and was somewhat disappointed with our room, waterlilly. The bath was in the bedroom and the shower in the toilet. The configuration of the room meant it was difficult to open the shutters, windows and let in natural light.I did tell the manager and she upgraded us to the suite for a last three of six nights. A much more comfortable room and ambience.

We participated in the Alms ceremony one morning, the kitchens did provide the sticky rice but at USD 20 for the two of us it must be the most expensive rice in Laos.

Breakfast was quite adequate but nothing more.

I think we fell for the "highly rated "Trip Advisor hotel, and paid the price, this hotel would be great for $45 a night not $100. There are plenty of great places to stay in Luang Prabang at half the price. I must stress we enjoyed our stay, but while travelling around Asia I feel I have the experience to say this hotel is too expensive for what it offered.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank andrew f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rianja, General Manager at Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear relaxingPerth,

Thank you for this post, as it gives us the opportunity to discuss our hotel, as well as the alms - both of relevance to possible future guests! Forgive me if I spend a few minutes on this, as I think your observations, and our thoughts on them, will be of great help to Trip Advisor readers.

You indeed booked a Waterlily room - a room that is described on our website as having a bathtub, (in a beautiful wood housing) right there in the room. (Privacy screen available on request as per our hotel information book). There is also a photo. I am not sure how this was missed, but nonetheless upgraded you, as you noted, and without being asked to do so.

The toilet-at-the-farther-end-of-the-shower configuration is classically Asian. I lived that way for three years in Seoul, before moving to Laos over two years ago. But it's quite true - it's not for everyone. Of course we provide Lao rattan bath slippers. The Orchid Suites and Frangipani rooms have the western configuration most of us are accustomed to. Thank you for raising this, so that readers are fully informed. (Previous reviewers have mentioned this too.)

Regarding the laundry - you did not inform us there was a problem. Please do let us know what happened, so that we can ensure the same does not occur with other guests.

In closing, the alms are very important and deserve special attention.

I was not aware you were unhappy with the alms until I read about it in your review. I contacted you immediately and you informed me you had had 3 pots of rice and an (unspecified) quantity of wrapped sweets from a shop across the street.

As I discussed in my reply to you, the alms rice is US$5/pot (2.5 kg premium quality rice) and this pays for the rice, and goes to the couple who purchase the rice, get up extra early to cook it fresh, and then bring it to the hotel. The funds go to this couple - the hotel does not receive any payment for this.

So this accounts for $15 of the $20 you paid. Without knowing what type of sweets you received, or the quantity, it is difficult for me to assess if you were overcharged for the remaining $5. (You very kindly suggested that any overcharge go into the orphanage donation box.)

It's worth noting that street vendors, on the other hand, sell poor quality rice, rarely fresh-cooked, and often prepared in unsanitary conditions. It is not uncommon to see monks throw this rice away as soon as it is put in their basket. These vendors will charge much more than $5 if they think they can get away with it. (And it goes without saying this is utterly disrespectful of the alms ceremony.)

Thank you again, relaxingPerth, and I hope the above is helpful to you, and to the Trip Advisor community. That, after all, is what all of us want: as travelers, the information we need to make fully-informed decisions about our bookings, and as hoteliers, to know how best to make our guests' stay with us, a happy one.

With Very Best Regards
Evelyn

Evelyn Napier
General Manager
Lotus Villa
Laos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

Lotus Villa in Luang Prabang was a perfect place for us to stay. Its clean and cosy and the rooms are large. Evelyn, Watt, and the rest of the staff couldn't have been sweeter or more helpful, service here is spot on. Watt organized rice and fruit so we could take part in giving alm to the monks right outside the door at 6 am which was a great experience. Breakfast was delicious too. We would recommend this place to any independent traveller.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BRMallorca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rianja, General Manager at Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear BRMallorca,

Apologies for the delay in replying, but we've been busy! Thank you so much for taking the time to write.

We're glad you liked your room: the designs (different for each room-type) are indeed cosy and, we feel, even more importantly, of a unique "feel" and approach. Our maiban (housekeepers) work very hard to keep them spotless.

The alms giving is very special and Laos is the only country where it is still taking place. We arrange for guests to participate (if they wish) in a meaningful and respectful way. The rice is of premium quality, prepared fresh in the morning at the home of a Buddhist couple, and delivered to the hotel door, from the stove. We do not receive any commission or other payment for this.

Thanks again BRMallorca! May your travels always be happy and safe.

With Best Regards,
Evelyn

Evelyn Napier
General Manager
Lotus Villa
Laos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

Well-managed, nice guesthouse, very nice people.
But the facilities are a bit short and doesn't really deserve its #2 ranking (2013/09)

pos: nice rooms. mine had 2 balconies, front and back so great air flow through - this is v rare!
pos: v helpful and friendly staff
pos: close to centre, very convenient
pos: nice breakfast in pleasant garden

neg: none of he usual facilities in the room: no fridge, no way to heat water, no cup for making coffee or tea, not even a glass to put clean water in to brush your teeth.
neg: pay amount full in advance. I am always suspicious of hotels that require this.
neg: no mosquito net and no mesh on the windows, so you have to sleep with the windows closed - given that there is both Dengue fever and Malaria in Laos
neg: no drawers or shelves for stuff - so have to live out of your backpack. ok for 1 night, not for a week.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank m c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rianja, Manager at Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear M C,

Thank you for taking the time to post this review. This is what makes Trip Advisor work!

In particular we appreciate your comments as this gives us the opportunity to update the Trip Advisor Community, to say we are delighted to inform all of you that there are now mini-fridges in every room. (They were on order during your stay, but took awhile to arrive...)

Your comments also remind us to advise Trip Advisor readers to always read the hotel information book in the room. Several of the things you listed as wanting to have - a way to have in-room hot water, extra drawer-storage space, for example - are covered in our information booklet placed on the bedside table.

The other thing to remember is that wherever you travel and wherever you stay, always inform management immediately if there is something you would like to have. A good hotel will move heaven and earth to meet your needs. Hotels usually have good reason(s) for deciding not to stock something in a room. But that doesn't mean it's not available.

In our case, we have mosquito nets on hand which can be set up immediately. Cups for brushing one's teeth, and tea & coffee facilities, can be made available in moments. (And the spacious storage drawer is on rollers under the bed...)

So for all travelers, remember, just because it's not there, does not mean you cannot have it! Always ask. We pride ourselves on our service and our creativity. If it is humanly possible - we'll do it!

Thank you again M C, and all the best for all your travels,

Evelyn
ps - explaining our payment-in-advance policy would take more time and space than available here. If asked, we always provide a detailed explanation. Plus, we are flexible. Once again, it's just a matter of raising the question. So - never hesitate to ask your hotel-of-choice about anything you are not 1000% comfortable with.

Very best,
Evelyn
General Manager
Lotus Villa
Luang Prabang
Laos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.3 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#1 of 69 in Luang Prabang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#15 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
0.0 mi away
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
#6 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 69 in Luang Prabang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
1.0 mi away
Lakhangthong Boutique Hotel
Lakhangthong Boutique Hotel
#22 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
0.1 mi away
Burasari Heritage
Burasari Heritage
#7 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel

Property: Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
Address: Ban Phone heuang, Unit 3, Kounxoa Rd | Ban Phone heuang, Unit 3, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Luang Prabang
#11 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the UNESCO precinct of Luang Prabang, Lotus Villa is an established boutique hotel with 15 tranquil rooms and 2 suites. Nestled amongst cafes, temples, restaurants and local life, you are part of the enchanting atmosphere of the UNESCO World Heritage precinct by simply stepping outside the doors of the hotel. Neither a standard hotel nor a guesthouse, we strive to bring you the perfect synergy of both. Ideally located in between the mighty Mekong and Namkhan Rivers, a short walk to the heritage listed temples Wat Nong and Wat Xieng Thong as well as the Royal Palace are surrounded the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lotus Villa Laos Hotel Luang Prabang
Lotus Hotel Luang Prabang
Lotus Hotel Laos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing