We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A feeling of total tranquility...amazing place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
Ranked #13 of 70 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Toulouse, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“A feeling of total tranquility...amazing place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

This hotel was recommended to me and now, it's my turn to recommend it to others! An amazing place, with great staff and management! Breakfast is just simply fresh, tasty and delicious, served in the beautifully kept garden. The Lotus hotel is excellently located, just a 5 minute walk to the main street and 10 minute walk to the night market. Our room was the frangipani room, which was perfectly decorated and clean.
A little hidden gem! If ever I go back to Luangprobang, I will defiantly come back!
Thank you to you all!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie2878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

841 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    530
    237
    59
    13
    2
See reviews for
130
420
97
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

I, my wife and our 19 month old stayed here for the Lao New Year in 2013 and it was lovely. Central, perfect location for viewing the morning alms distribution for the monk - off the main, heavily touristed drag. No pool, but that's not a big deal. Simple, but wonderful breakfast. Great location for wandering around the beautiful old town.

For babies - they have good baby cots and it is very quiet.

Evelyn was managing the place when we stayed and she was incredibly responsive by email and no less so when we arrived. Her staff was young, but friendly and sweet.

We would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ianandleah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level Contributor
241 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

It is hard to know where to begin to describe the fantastic experience we had at the Lotus Villa. My husband and I stayed there for 5 nights in July 2013. The location was perfect: on a quiet, residential street but just minutes from the shops, restaurants and activity of the main road (5 minute walk at most). Also an easy 5 minute stroll to the Mekong and to its tributary in the opposite direction.

The staff is exceptional. They were always polite and eager to assist with any question or issue. Their smiles were a welcome greeting after returned from a hot day of touring. I have visited 22 countries on 6 continents and am hard pressed to think of another lodging where I was so comfortable and made to feel like I was at home. What stands out is how easy Lotus Villa made everything for us: need laundry done? no problem. You would like to participate in the almsgving? of course. Laundry is sent out for 10,000 kip per kg (about US $1.25) and returned in less than 24 hours. If you would like to participate in the almsgiving, they can arrange it for 20,000 kip ($2.50) per person. Every request is handled professionally and courteously. The staff seems genuinely happy to be working there and helping you out.

Our room on the second floor (#14) overlooking the patio was just right for us. A bit tight once luggage gets inside, but manageable. The shower area is open and you would think water would flow directly into the sink area but it did not. A large bottle of water is given to you each day and we certainly used every drop of it. There are no dressers but there are hangers for a few things. No TV or phone, but none necessary in this wonderful environment. Outside our room was a small table and two chairs on a shared balcony. I'm sure it is pleasant in cooler weather but it was too humid to take advantage of it, even in the evening. The air conditioning worked very well. There is free internet available in the rooms and on the property, but it was a bit sporadic while we were there. The room also had a booklet describing not only hotel services but also Lao customs and protocol. Even though I had read most of this in my guide book, I appreciated that they provided this. There are no elevators here,

Breakfast is served each day on the patio area beginning at 7:15. You can choose from eggs, French toast, fruit and juices. Everything was delicious. The one thing I would have preferred, since I am an early riser, was to have breakfast begin a bit earlier or at least have access to coffee until service starts. Not a complaint, just a desire.

Regarding seeing the monks processing: We took advantage of the fact that Lotus Villa is directly on the monks' route and observed them each morning. What an experience to see the culture in action, right at your doorstep! It was solemn and respectful on this quiet street, just as it should be. After watching this ritual three mornings in a row, a guide we were working with arranged for us to participate (at our request). However, when he came to meet us in the early morning, we were shocked to have him lead us up to the main street, where he had set up our mats and rice. Our mouths fell open and we did not know what to say--the atmosphere was like a carnival, with all kinds of noise and the complete antithesis of what we had witnessed in front of Lotus Villa. I had so looked forward to participating in giving alms and this was a tremendous let down. Lotus Villa came to our rescue and, on our last morning, was able to arrange for us to participate in front of the inn. Such a special memory for us.

A few miscellaneous notes: You are welcome to borrow umbrellas from the lobby if the weather looks questionable. For a $5 refundable deposit, they will give you a padlock and key to use on the safe in your room. It is about a 15 minute walk to the Night Market--very low-key bargaining but lots of identical merchandise--and about the same walk to Mt. Phousi (20,000 kip--not a difficult climb and a nice view of the city). Big Brother Mouse, around the corner, is a philanthropic endeavor where volunteers are welcome from 9-11 am and from 5-7 pm to help people learn English. We enjoyed it so much that we went twice!

If I ever have the pleasure of returning to Luang Prabang, there is no doubt I will stay at the Lotus Villa. You should as well. I wish I could bring it with me to every place I visit. Thank you, Evelyn and all the staff, for your outstanding hospitality.

Room Tip: I personally would not want a room that opens onto the patio but I am sure all rooms are fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CKF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
209 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

One of the reasons we keep coming back to Luang Prabang is Lotus Villa and the staff. This was our fifth stay at Lotus Villa and we wouldn't consider staying anywhere else in Luang Prabang. I enjoy staying at Lotus Villa more than any of the other hotels in the 10 countries I have visited in Asia.Whilst it lacks several of the things commonly found in 5 star hotels such as a TV and even a fridge it more than compensates for this with the calibre of the staff. They really make you feel at home and several of the other guests when we were there were regulars.
The staff speak excellent English are very attentive to the needs of the guests.
Lotus Villa is a small boutique hotel with a tranquil courtyard which instantly makes you feel relaxed. Breakfast, whchis served in the courtyard is really delicious. There are a great range of choices but each one is good and the soup is our favourite.
The rooms are spotlessly clean and well maintained.
Another good reason to stay at Lotus Villa is the great work that Andrew does with the Orphanage School and the other villages that the hotel supports.

Room Tip: Ask about the possibility of visiting the orphanage school if you have time. You can't help but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk - midlandss
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed at the Lotus Villa for 4 nights, and enjoyed every moment. We opted for a room on the first floor where we were able to observe the alms ceremony from our balcony, without any fuss or distraction for the monks, then retire for another hours sleep, perfect! Breakfast was truly yummy, especially the homemade preserves which we kept having daily! It was great to be able to get a ‘proper’ coffee in the morning, strong and not in the slightest bitter! The Lotus Villa was tucked down a side road, was about 5 minutes walk from the main bars and restaurants, and about easy ten minute walk to the start of the daily night market. The staff were very friendly, attentive, and a real asset to the Lotus Villa. They took care of our washing needs at a very reasonable price. A great choice for your stay in Luang Prabang.

Room Tip: Double Balcony rooms are best for observing Alms ceremony just be prepared to listen (occasionally...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vans998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goulburn, NSW
Level Contributor
78 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

Our group of 8 stayed here for 5 days. The hotel is in an excellent location, walking distance to everything. The staff were so helpful and friendly. The manager, Evelyn was charming and organised anything we needed. She also provided a lot of local info which was very helpful.
The rooms were large and clean with a little balcony. The wifi did go off when it rained, but that was common in Laos and not really a problem. The breakfast in the garden was lovely. The air con died in the night and was immediately fixed the next day with no problems.
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and hope to return!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NSWChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

Stayed at Lotus Villa in June for 9 nights. Had originally booked five nights, but with a flight cancellation on Lao Airlines and a change in our schedule, we decided and were happy to stay on at Lotus Villa in Luang Prabang another four nights.

We were booked into a Lotus Room for the five nights but were upgraded free of charge upon arrival to the Orchid Suite. It was low season in Luang Prabang. The Orchid Suite was lovely and very spacious. We had our own verandah from where we could view the monks on alms rounds every morning. When we decided to stay on an extra 4 nights, management kept us upgraded in the Orchid Suite for the price of the Lotus Room. Very kind indeed.

The location of Lotus Villa was great, very central and allowed easy access on foot to restaurants and night market. The staff were all helpful and very friendly without being over the top. Evelyn the manager was great and shared tips on where to go and what to see.

Breakfast at Lotus Villa was served in the garden. Breakfast was delicious with ample choice. Can recommend the Lao soup and omelettes, French toast was also very good. Coffee was great. I have found coffee to be hit and miss in Asia. My morning strong black at Lotus Villa was just right. Fresh juices, juiced to order, were fresh and tasty. The garden setting was a beautiful location to enjoy breakfast or a cold beer in the afternoon. The garden setting a highlight for me.

We hired bicycles for a couple of days and motorbikes for a day while staying at Lotus Villa. Evelyn and staff were happy to assist us in keeping the bicycles and motorbikes locked up and safe overnight.

Onchan, Lia, Wat, Touey, Certs (forgive my spelling) were staff members at Lotus Villa who helped us have a great stay. The behind the scenes staff members who we met briefly and in passing,whose names I do not know, we're also great. Can't praise highly enough.

Room and bathroom cleanliness is a big deal to us when we travel. We were not disappointed.

In essence, I would highly recommend a stay at Lotus Villa. You won't be disappointed. We could not find a fault with the place!

Room Tip: Orchid Suite was spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gale M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.3 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#1 of 70 in Luang Prabang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#15 of 70 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
0.1 mi away
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
#7 of 70 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Lakhangthong Boutique Hotel
Lakhangthong Boutique Hotel
#19 of 70 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
0.2 mi away
Burasari Heritage
Burasari Heritage
#6 of 70 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
1.2 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 70 in Luang Prabang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel

Property: Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
Address: Ban Phone heuang, Unit 3, Kounxoa Rd | Ban Phone heuang, Unit 3, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Luang Prabang
#7 Best Value Hotel in Luang Prabang
#11 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the UNESCO precinct of Luang Prabang, Lotus Villa is an established boutique hotel with 15 tranquil rooms and 2 suites. Nestled amongst cafes, temples, restaurants and local life, you are part of the enchanting atmosphere of the UNESCO World Heritage precinct by simply stepping outside the doors of the hotel. Neither a standard hotel nor a guesthouse, we strive to bring you the perfect synergy of both. Ideally located in between the mighty Mekong and Namkhan Rivers, a short walk to the heritage listed temples Wat Nong and Wat Xieng Thong as well as the Royal Palace are surrounded the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lotus Villa Laos Hotel Luang Prabang
Lotus Hotel Luang Prabang
Lotus Hotel Laos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing