We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet but walking distance from everything in Luang Prabang”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
Ranked #14 of 69 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Petersburg
1 review
“Quiet but walking distance from everything in Luang Prabang”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

The staff is helpful, the bedrooms clean and spacious, you are five minutes on foot from some of the best restaurants, breakfast in the courtyard is very good indeed and the monks walk past your door in the morning. What more could one ask.

Room Tip: It was only my daughter and myself so we did not need a suite but we did see one and it looked extre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

861 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    540
    247
    59
    13
    2
See reviews for
135
428
99
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Recently we spent one week in Luang Prabang in Laos. Following previous reviews we picked Lotus Villa as our place to stay for 4 of the 6 nights (two nights were on the Mekong) and were absolutely intrigued by this elegant small hotel in the middle of Luang Prabang. It is only one street away from the main street, nestled between the Mekong and the Nam Khan River, the neighborhood is very quiet. Our deluxe room was very spacious with a bathtub in the room next to the King Size bed and shower and toilet separated. The doors opened to a peaceful garden where breakfast was served every morning and obe could sit during the day to relax and read. The staff was absolutely wonderful, friendly, efficient and responding to every need we expressed.

A special treat was that the Morning Ams by the monks passed right in front of the hotel. The hotel staff offered us to set us up for this ceremony with cushions to kneel on and sticky rice to offer and we participated one time in this colorful event. Even though we are no Buddhists, we felt that we could give thanks to the monks for the serenity of their monasteries they so generously shared with the visitors (most are open to the public for free to walk around in and enjoy the peace).

When we left for our cruise on the Mekong the staff took care of our main luggage and happily greeted us when we returned three days later. And evethouh we returned back to the hotel before noon our room was ready and waiting for us.

I highly recommend this jewel for your stay. The only warning I might give: if you need to get your laundry done, think twice what you want to include. This is farmed out to local people and I would not include sensitive or expensive pieces. Mishaps happen, in our case I received things back with one of my men's briefs replaced by a women's xl size slip - the staff tried to correct this switch, but was not successful.

Room Tip: I would go for a Deluxe Room again. The lower level rooms open directly to the garden, which is nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Meikie1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Living in Thailand this is the second trip by my wife and I to this great hotel, this year with visitors from overseas.
Lotus Villa is everthing they claim from the French-Laos architecture, lush tropical garden and stylish modern design coupled with value for money
Andrew and his staff do everything possible to make your stay enjoyable and memorable and they certainly succeed
The breakfast is great and the staff will provide advice and assistance for trips saving you money
Lotus Villa has a great location close to the Meekong, restaurants and within easy reach of the centre of town.
If you visit Luang Prabang this is the place to stay

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Wonderful little guesthouse in a good, quiet location in LP. Typical dark wood and very rustic. The service was excellent, and they helped us with booking trips and giving rice to the monks early one morning (thoroughly recommended). The bed was very comfy too, which we didn't always find in Asia. The breakfasts were exceptionally good, with lovely fruit and freshly cooked eggs. We would happily stay there again.

Room Tip: Pick a room at the front and you can see the monks passing in the morning from your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shropshirefoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We stayed at the Lotus Villa for four nights & couldn't have been happier with the accommodation & service. We originally reserved a Lotus room for two nights - this was a spacious double room accessed from a communal balcony at the front of the Villa (also good for observing the daily monks alms giving procession) that also had a lovely private balcony overlooking the luscious garden. It is stylishly simple - decorated in a traditional wooden style with a good shower wet room. We then extended our stay by two nights and moved to a Frangipani room (as the room we were staying in was already booked) at the back of the Villa. This is also a lovely & spacious double room. The main difference was no private balcony (there is a good communal balcony with chairs) and a different bathroom set up with a shower & sink in open plan - not a problem for us but something to be aware of. We also found it to be slightly quieter at the back as you do pick up some noise from the street in the front rooms.

The Villa itself has been restored & finished to a very high quality and the garden area it is set around, is a beautiful oasis and a great place for breakfast & spending a quiet afternoon/evening. The breakfast is one of the best I've had in a hotel. A wide choice of eggs, bread & traditional noodles etc which you order off a menu & all cooked freshly to order. Staff are friendly & attentive. Location wise you are in walking distance of all main sights & good restaurants. We had a fabulous time & would go back in an instant!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Louisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Far North Queensland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

This impressive little guesthouse situated in a great position in Luang Prabang is extremely clean and well appointed and great value.

Superb cooked breakfasts (with freshly squeezed juice and fruit platters) are served in a delightful tropical courtyard. The staff are extremely helpful and courteous. We stayed for four nights and highly recommend Villa Lotus.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VJRey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver island
Level Contributor
60 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed 5 nights before heading up the Nam Ou river for a few days. We would have stayed again upon our return but the place was full. Its quite popular, so I would suggest reserving. Friendly staff and a great courtyard with good breakfasts.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arturo36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.3 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#2 of 69 in Luang Prabang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#16 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
0.0 mi away
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
#7 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 69 in Luang Prabang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
1.0 mi away
Lakhangthong Boutique Hotel
Lakhangthong Boutique Hotel
#22 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
0.1 mi away
Burasari Heritage
Burasari Heritage
#8 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel

Property: Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
Address: Ban Phone heuang, Unit 3, Kounxoa Rd | Ban Phone heuang, Unit 3, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Luang Prabang
#11 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the UNESCO precinct of Luang Prabang, Lotus Villa is an established boutique hotel with 15 tranquil rooms and 2 suites. Nestled amongst cafes, temples, restaurants and local life, you are part of the enchanting atmosphere of the UNESCO World Heritage precinct by simply stepping outside the doors of the hotel. Neither a standard hotel nor a guesthouse, we strive to bring you the perfect synergy of both. Ideally located in between the mighty Mekong and Namkhan Rivers, a short walk to the heritage listed temples Wat Nong and Wat Xieng Thong as well as the Royal Palace are surrounded the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lotus Villa Laos Hotel Luang Prabang
Lotus Hotel Luang Prabang
Lotus Hotel Laos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing