We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel, and good situation for town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
Ranked #14 of 68 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights. The rooms were clean but I found them very dark. There was very poor lighting, which is great if you want to just chill and sleep, but not so good for reading.
The breakfast was very limited, but when you consider its only a small hotel, I guess that's to be expected. What they serve, they serve well. Its great to see the ladies cutting the leaf off a plant in the garden, and then have them serve your scrambled egg on the same leaf.

It is well loacted for town. Its also right around the corner from 'big brother mouse', for which I have done a seperate review. Its worth going to see that!
There is very noisey cockrel that wakes up at 4.30 am, so that may be an issue for some.

The staff are very obliging and helpful, and I would definalty return

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank khayam m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (883)
There are newer reviews for Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

456 - 462 of 883 reviews

Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

The place itself it just gorgeous- clean, spacious and a real delight with the courtyard nestled between the apartment buildings a real haven.
But the highlight of our stay was the staff - they were attentive, helpful, and really knew which tours to book for us. At one point there had been a mix up with the amount we paid for a tour and they were right on it making sure we were not charged over what had been quoted.
Whilst they were a bit hesitant on the phone accepting our booking with three kids in tow, they were lovely with the kids - so kind and patient.
Most importantly if you are keen to participate in giving alms to the monks, they arranged everything for us, laying out mats, organizing our supplies and instructing us what to do. On one day my wife asked if the monks got sick of rice what else they might like, it was suggested they would appreciate oranges - the afternoon before one of the staff got on his motor bike and sourced a couple of kilos of oranges for us the next day on his own initiative - just fantastic.
Basically I cannot recommend them too highly. It was a pleasure to stay there and the kindness they showed to my family enhanced our magical stay in luang prebang

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reubenpace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We booked our room at the Lotus some time in advance and paid - without any hassles - via PayPal. As a family of 4 we had a suite room: a generously sized double with an additional annex separated by bi-fold doors from the main room. This had the additional advantage of having a view onto the street from a balcony, a perfect spot from which to watch the monks collecting alms every morning.

We were very impressed by the room: it was well-designed: stylish yet both comfortable and functional. The hotel as a whole was very similar: professionally run but with an intimate feel as well. The lady who seemed to be the reception manager (whose name we unfortunately didn't catch) was unfailingly polite and made a real effort to help us with reservations. This is a service that the Lotus could promote even more. Breakfasts were good quality and very relaxing in the hotel's leafy inner courtyard.

Finally, the Lotus is also excellently located, mid-peninsula in Luang Prabang, effectively on the top so the spine that runs down the middle of it: both rivers are no more than a couple of minutes walk away as are some of the best restaurants in the town.

All of this comes at a cost: 186 USD per night for the suite room whilst we were there. But we think this was a fair price and worth every penny. You can also fork out a lot more for a river view in one of the swankier hotels but, in Luang Prabang, this is a misleading description as trees cover the river bank and getting an uninstructed river view anywhere is almost impossible. Far better to stick with the classy ambience, unbeatable location and warm hospitality of the Lotus.

Room Tip: Street front ideal to watch the alms giving ceremony and not noisy at all.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monkey-and-Sprite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

As many other reviewers have mentioned before, the location is ideal. It is towards the end of the peninsula near the Wat Xieng Thong temple and on the middle street which is very quiet. Actually the whole town of LP is very quiet really, especially after dark. Even the night market in the busy part of town has a subdued feeling to it compared to other Asian cities and their night markets. It is a very clean guesthouse/hotel. It is also on the road that the monks visit on their morning walk, so it is ideal to participate in this wonderful tradition. Wat the night man on duty at the desk will kindly prepare your alms and guide you through how to participate in this amazing event, rather than spectate as so many tourists do. I found it quite rude how many tourist literally are running to catch up with some groups and firing off mulitiple cameras from an uncomfortable distance. It actually turned me off to the whole thing, so on 2 of 3 mornings I sat quietly from our balcony and watched the procession from this point of view.
Another great part of this hotel is that you can literally get a room with a balcony over this street and see this activity and without disturbing your night sleep as that street is very quiet at night.
The breakfast was also delicious and served in the beautiful garden in the middle of the property. They have an excellent latte which is a nice departure from the Lao or Nescafe coffee train.
One morning the rain was coming down so hard, the staff brought our breakfast up to the room and delivered on the other balcony which was very nice as we were able to stay dry and enjoy.

The staff also allowed us to leave some luggage while we went up north and toured around the countryside for a few days. Very safe and friendly.

Beds were hard, but comfortable. Since everywhere we have been in Asia has firm mattresses we have come to just accept this as the way it is and I actually don't mind it at all.

Room Tip: Go for the outer rooms along the main road as you can see the monks daily and it is still very quiet...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gdogg2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

We were very satisfied with our stay at Lotus villa. A short walk to everywhere and especially the better restaurants and cafes in LP. The monks walk right past our hotel every morning. The breakfast was excellent and the staff also went out of their way to help us in liaising with an external tour operator who wasn't even recommended by the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HweeMin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

I was originally booked for two nights and ended up staying for eight in October 2012. Very pleasant guest house in the Xieng Mouane area of town, not far from the Wat Xieng Thong temple complex. It's on the road that runs between and parallel to the busier main street and Mekong riverfront, so it's quiet, but still close to all the bars, restaurants, temples, etc. Nice courtyard area for breakfast and the rooms were clean and decently sized. Young, friendly staff with good English, and they're able to arrange participation in the alms giving, if that's your thing. The breakfast menu was a bit limited if you're not into eggs and it felt maybe slightly overpriced, but I will almost certainly book in next time I go back to Luang Prabang.

Room Tip: There's rooms at the front which overlook the street where the monks walk for alms giving in the...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DanG54768
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

I stayed at Lotus Villa Laos with some friends for 4 nights. The property is 10 minutes walking distance from the famous night market and is situated on a quite street, lined with French Colonial buildings. My room was on the ground floor which stepped out into a lush courtyard where tables were set up for the a la cart breakfast, included in the room rate. I recomend the fruit plate, juice, coffee and omlet. The room was clean and bed comfortable. If you're traveling with someone, keep in mind that the shower does not have a door. It's separated from the bedroom with a wall but if you're standing in front of the sink and the other person is in the shower, you can see everything. I actually liked this design and enjoyed the room very much. The toilet is separated by a door.
One of the guys at the front desk was very helpful in organizing a kayaking/elephant ride/cave tour for us ($45 USD) as well as organizing a 6am offering to the monks. That was fantastic, watching hundreds of brightly robed monks walking down the street with their metal pots. The hotel put out a mat and cushions for us to kneel on and prepared some sticky rice. I can't remember how much we paid for that, but it wasn't alot and totally worth it. I brought some school supplies for an orphanage the Australian owner is involved in and he invited us to pass them out to the students. That was a truly memorable experience!

Room Tip: If you request a room facing the street on the 1st floor, you'll get to see the monks every morn...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoasiaZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.1 mi away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#18 of 68 in Luang Prabang
271 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#2 of 68 in Luang Prabang
816 reviews
1.7 mi away
Luang Prabang View Hotel
Luang Prabang View Hotel
#19 of 68 in Luang Prabang
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sanctuary Luang Prabang Hotel
Sanctuary Luang Prabang Hotel
#12 of 68 in Luang Prabang
395 reviews
1.2 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 68 in Luang Prabang
771 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel
The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel
#8 of 68 in Luang Prabang
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel

Address: Ban Phone heuang, Unit 3, Kounxoa Rd | Ban Phone heuang, Unit 3, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Luang Prabang
#11 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range: $41 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the UNESCO precinct of Luang Prabang, Lotus Villa is an established boutique hotel with 15 tranquil rooms and 2 suites. Nestled amongst cafes, temples, restaurants and local life, you are part of the enchanting atmosphere of the UNESCO World Heritage precinct by simply stepping outside the doors of the hotel. Neither a standard hotel nor a guesthouse, we strive to bring you the perfect synergy of both. Ideally located in between the mighty Mekong and Namkhan Rivers, a short walk to the heritage listed temples Wat Nong and Wat Xieng Thong as well as the Royal Palace are surrounded the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lotus Villa Laos Hotel Luang Prabang
Lotus Hotel Luang Prabang
Lotus Hotel Laos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing