We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly House and close to everything”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Luang Prabang
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wat That Guest House
Ranked #57 of 68 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Reviewed January 19, 2013

I would recommend this guesthouse. It is a friendly family run guesthouse close to everything you need but not in the middle of the hussle and bussle either.
Kids playing in the streets and locals sitting out the front of their houses talking left me with a calm, relaxed feeling.
I have stayed here several times over the year but I stay across the road at their daughters house (Also Wat That Guesthouse / Mala dressmaker), where she does dress making or clothes repair, laundry and has a few clean rooms up stairs with a nice veranda where you can relax and watch the happenings in the street.

Room Tip: The front room here is better insulated from sound from the ajoining rooms
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Craig_Vermeulen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (32)
There are newer reviews for Wat That Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 32 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2013

Stayed there for 5 nights. There are only 3 rooms upstairs in the house on the right side of the street when looking towards the river. Room is quite basic, but clean. Coffee and tea served in the morning. Atmosphere on the large balcony around the rooms is great. Location is just a few meters from the start of the evening market, but still the small street is very quiet.
Apparently there is a second house on the other side of the street where some of the family live and where you pass their "living room" when going to the room. This is not the case for this house.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

A hidden treasure just stone thro away from the town. Extremely friendly family, speak good english, they always offer us what they have when we leave or return to the hostel.
We had a room with aircon for the 3 of us upstairs. One of the bed was not so good on one side, could feel all the spring but lucky we were 3 so we could avoid that spot. We stayed there for 3 nights. They provide us a LP map during our stay and gave us lots of information about the local festival.
The only weird thing is that the family is living by the walkway from the gate to the hostel entrance. Basically we have to walk pass where they sleep,cook and eat, they are not covered so you could actually see everything. On the good side of this, we can always sit down and have a chat and a beer with the family.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mynudi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Stayed there for 4 nights in February 2012. The owner spoke good English. Paid 120,000 kip/night for a room with fan and hot water. No need for air-conditioning in LP; it's not too hot at night there. Liked the wooden patio and terrace. Wat That is a really nice neighborhood, by the way: tucked away from the hustle and bustle of the old town but still within walking distance from all places of interest. If you want to listen to the evening chants without being surrounded with hundreds of tourists, try Wat That.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michalprgbxl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

Stoppes here over there new year, cheapest could find in luang prabang but for a reason, verry basic, shared bathroom! NOt a problem for me. This guesthouse is one of two owned by the same people with the same name, one of which is more expensive but nicer and i stopped is the least expensive one which ok for backpacker but nothing more!! This was a very welcoming and friendly place!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank therams_1884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2012

Location close to the river and the night market was good. Owner spoke good english, The bathroom had a shower and hot water. $15 a night with fan and light breakfast probably as good as it gets in this city,

HOWEVER I could feel the bed springs and had to use the blanket-type cover as a matress pad. Pillows were very hard and I used a folded towel to cushion it a bit. Sheets were clean and the room not too bad, although it was never swept during my 4 days there. Some parts of the room were not clean at all. The ceiling fan was filthy and so were the ceiling tiles, the electric boxes etc. A pair of very grubby flip-flops were provided for use in the bathroom.

The walls and floors were very thin and every noise rattled through the building. Guests arriving back very late were disturbing.

This would probably be fine for back packers or young people who just needed to crash.

One thing that was rather strange was that you had to walk through the living and sleeping area of the owners to get to the rooms. It was as though they had given over the actual house to rent rooms and they really lived in the front garden.

Room Tip: Although the stairs are steep, a room above would probably be quiter.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2011

We stayed there for 8 nights in February. We pre booked from Hanoi at 120,000Kip per night which we realised was far too much when we got there. Noy was a nice hostess but has since left. The rooms were very average but clean. It is central to everything you would want to do but we would not stay there again. There are numerous guesthouses in the area of a much higher standard at a considerably less cost.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.0 mi away
Villa Lao Wooden House
Villa Lao Wooden House
#40 of 68 in Luang Prabang
143 reviews
0.0 mi away
Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort
Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort
#1 of 1 in Ban Xieng Lom
242 reviews
0.0 mi away
Luang Prabang View Hotel
Luang Prabang View Hotel
#19 of 68 in Luang Prabang
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#2 of 68 in Luang Prabang
816 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#18 of 68 in Luang Prabang
271 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Maly
Villa Maly
#10 of 68 in Luang Prabang
780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wat That Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wat That Guest House

Address: No. 2/26, Wat That Road, Luang Prabang 27000, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 68 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing