We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$198
$175
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of $198/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Thongbay Guesthouse(Luang Prabang)
$45
$41
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$130
$88
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $98/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Le Sen Boutique Hotel(Luang Prabang)
$110
$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Golden Lotus Place(Luang Prabang)
$25
$21
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel(Luang Prabang)
$86
$79
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $88/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$21
$20
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$180
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $202/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$58
$44
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Satri House(Luang Prabang)
$132
$109
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (33)
Filter reviews
33 results
Traveler rating
6
14
5
3
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
6
14
5
3
5
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 33 reviews
Reviewed May 31, 2011

I have stayed here again in 2009 and 2010, I did not get to Luang Prabang in 2011 but will be there in 2012 and will be staying at Wat That Guest House where I have stayed for many years. It is like coming home!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2010

I really, really like Luang Prabang. It's been compared to the south of France and southern California. It's definitely one of the prettiest cities in Asia.

As far as I'm concerned, there's only one place to stay in this fabulous city. Wat That Guesthouse is the perfect combination of cozy and comfortable, with private bathrooms, wireless internet, and a central location. At 80,000 kip ($10), it is a good value.

What makes this place stand out is the people. The main proprietress, Noy, is a charming young woman who speaks great English, is an excellent cook, and has a rare ability to make everyone present feel like old friends. The rest of her family is really welcoming too. Her father has an encyclopedic knowledge of the northern Laos, loves to joke around, and is a devout Buddhist who volunteers his time at Wat That at the top of the hill, a 450 year old temple dating back to the reign of King Xetthathirat.

I honestly think about this place every day, and recommend that everyone interested in seeing how friendly Lao people can be stay here for at least a few days. My family is planning a trip to Laos around Wat That Guesthouse, and I guarantee they'll have a great time.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJBNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2010

Set on a quite side street near the river, Wat That Guesthouse is the perfect place to stay if you're looking for a small guesthouse with wonderful people, clean and comfortable rooms for a good price!! Noy is a beautiful and kind-hearted hostess and made us feel like we really belonged in Luang Prabang - besides that, she's a great cook; able to whip up fantastic breakfasts, a Lao BBQ, Lao coffee or even pour the Beerlao or Laolao to make you smile! Everything is within short walking distance to Wat That but it's location, just out of the way from the busier tourist area, is ideal! We left to tour the north of Laos for a few days and returned to stay at Wat That for 3 more days - it was like coming home!!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank judyhenninger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2007

I stayed at the Wat That Guest House in April 2006 and again in January 2007; This is a clean budget guest house just a couple of minutes walk from the night market and the river. It is family run by Noy and her parents, Noy is a wonderful friendly woman who speaks good English which she learnt from her foreign guests. I pay $8 per night for a small room with double bed and its own shower room with hot water and a toilet. There was a fan in the room but no aircon which I don't find a problem in Luang Prabang.
Noy also serves excellent food and drink in the area in front of the Guest House where there is also a TV and DVD player with plenty of movies should you require it. I will always stay here because of the friendly atmosphere that prevails; Noy looks after her guests as though they were family and is always on hand for advice. Though there are many excellent places to eat in Luang Prabang I found it hard to beat Noy's Bamboo Chicken freshly cooked to order washed down with a Beer Lao. It is a safe and relaxing place to stay in a lovely part of old Luang Prabang. I hope you will stay there and enjoy it as much as I do.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Roger P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2015, traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews