We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous location and service.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Thongbay Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 257 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous location and service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2010

Splendid location, just out of town, with bungalows set in fantastic gardens full of orchids. Some of the rooms overlook the river - kids splashing about, vegetable growers busy on the opposite bank. Great service - rooms cleaned daily; meals and drinks delivered to your balcony in no time at all; or you can eat in the garden. Lovely, friendly staff. Great value. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louisecannon52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

947 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    771
    141
    22
    10
    3
See reviews for
142
444
107
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bellingen NSW
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2010

We stayed at Thongbay for six wonderful nights. Staff are very friendly and super helpful. Service is fantastic.
Bungalows can sleep up to four people. You can order yummy breakfast and have it delivered to your balcony. You can also have dinner at the guesthouse which is good too.
Shuttle bus runs to town (half hour walk) for free five times a day, you can get a tuk tuk back cheaply.
Also great value for money.
So good I\it was sad to leave.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sjcbellingen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2010

Uber friendly staff and more serenity than you can poke a stick at. A little slice of heaven a stone's throw from the meandering Mekong. And the mango sticky rice - to die for!

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coffey2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2010

We just returned from a week-long stay in Luang Prabang. We booked a riverside bungalow at Thongbay for the first 2 nights and ended up staying all six nights we spent in the town. The location of Thongbay is beautiful, with perfectly maintained grounds overlooking the peaceful Nam Khan.

It is quite a walk from town, but personally, we didn't mind walking through the nearby village once or twice a day. They also provide a free shuttle to town six times a day, and you can have them drive you any other time for a reasonable 10,000 kip per person. It was really nice to be able to relax outside of the city after a long day of sightseeing, and interesting to see a part of Luang Prabang outside of the tourist center.

Anywhere outside of town, things get rural quite quickly. This area consists of dirt roads, lots of chickens and dogs (and subsequent noise), and other various wildlife (we, personally, loved spending our evenings with the chirping geckos on our porch). Coming from Hong Kong, it took a night to adjust to these rural sounds, but we slept very well during our stay. We really enjoyed sitting on our porch, watching the farmers (and monks) tend their fields across the river. It gives you a bit more of a feel for the 'real' Laos than a hotel in the city would.

We were especially impressed by the friendly and accommodating staff and owners. They really went out of their way to make us feel at home. We are already planning our next stay at Thongbay!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emilylynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2010

We recently spent 4 nights at the Thongbay Guesthouse in Luang Praband and thoroughly enjoyed it. The Laotian bungalows on the river were around 29 USD per night accommodating up to 4 people. The gardens were beautiful. The breakfast was delivered each morning to our verandah overlooking the river and other meals could be ordered at any time for only around $1.20 USD per plate. Although the guesthouse is a little way out of town there are 3 free shuttles every morning and 3 free shuttles every evening and if we wanted to go into town at any other time they would take us for around $.120 USD per person. They also organised our trip to feed the monks, providing a carpet for us to sit on, the food, etc and took us to a place that was not too touristy. They also recommended a day spa which turned out to be fantastic. There was nothing we could fault them on and would definitely stay there again. There was a real personal touch to our stay there and all the staff came to wave us goodbye on the day we left.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank milly089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
55 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2010

As the breakfast was delivered to my river-facing veranda one misty morning, the aroma of Laotian coffee blended with farm scented air. Sublime.

Pros:
- The family who run this place are so friendly you almost feel like part of the family
- The high ground riverside location is superb for watching the life go by below
- The bungalows are tastefully constructed, the flowery garden lovingly maintained

Cons:
- A fair distance from the town centre, so everything must be a taxi or shuttle away
- My bathroom swarmed with termites one night, though the staff quickly cleaned it

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank umfridus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
153 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2010

My two friends and I stayed in a family bungalow right on the river - it was superb! The view was amazing, the room was spacious and clean, and breakfast on the balcony was a real treat. The guesthouse is located out of town but it was nice to escape back to our bungalow after a day of sightseeing (or a day of eating as was more likely in our case!). If you're only staying a couple of nights the location might be a bit of a hassle, but as we stayed for 5 nights it was just perfect.

The food and drinks available at the guesthouse (on your balcony!) were reasonably priced although we did end up having breakfast at Joma in town a lot ;) . There's free WiFi available near reception, and their shuttle van will also take you into town whenever you like for a reasonable 10,000 kip per person. This guesthouse is often used by Intrepid tour groups and if you're familiar with their "trip style" you'll be more than happy with this guesthouse!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pennae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
1.0 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#1 of 69 in Luang Prabang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
0.8 mi away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#15 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
0.9 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 69 in Luang Prabang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
#14 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 858 reviews
0.9 mi away
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
#7 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
0.4 mi away
My Dream Boutique Resort
My Dream Boutique Resort
#4 of 257 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thongbay Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thongbay Guesthouse

Property: Thongbay Guesthouse
Address: Ban Vieng May, Vat Sakem, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 257 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Thongbay Guesthouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Thongbay Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thongbay Guesthouse Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing