We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, great atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Thongbay Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 272 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 16, 2010

Just stayed at Thongbay with our family and can only recommend it wholeheartedly. The Ritz it isn't but it provides extremely good value in the intermediate segment of hotels. River views are fab, they bring the b'fast to be enjoyed on your balcony and everyone is very friendly, from housekeeping to owner. Not in the center of town but with free shuttle and a 3$ return ride, it is a very minor inconvenient more than compensated by the river views. Yes, we did hear music at times but it wasn't deafening at all.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gloupsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,044)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

678 - 684 of 1,044 reviews

Reviewed March 13, 2010

The room at this Guesthouse are really nice. The twin room we stayed in had clean and comfy beds, everything is clean, cool idea of having the reception desk. Shame it is far out of town but apart from that, a great Guesthouse. Great staff too.. I will be satying there again for my next visit.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kanava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2010

We have stayed at Thongbay three times now and this last review on TA really annoys me. Yep, the hot water's dodgy; yep, the towels are a bit thin; yep, it's a bit noisy despite its location; yep, it costs (GASP) $2 to get to town. Hello, it's Laos. If you want 5-star accommodation, go somewhere else. The reason this place has moved up the rankings on TA is that as LP has become more popular, it is a bit out of the way and offers something a little bit different - and part of its niceness in my view is the chat you have every day going into town with the moto/tuk tuk driver...also just walking around the lcoal area chatting to people. It's a nice place in an extraordinary town - if you're lucky enough to find yourself there, don't fret about the quality of the bath mats and relish the experience. Jeez people: life is short...stop whingeing and LIVE.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacq56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2010

These bungalows were very nice, I had one of the nicest ones, along the river, very modern, and nicely designed with a great deck overlooking the river. The beds were great, and the fan rooms were just fine, since the nights and mornings were cool, and the days were warm, but I was always gone sightseeing during the day. The views were great from my deck, with a great view, and the bungalows were nicely designed with comfy beds and nice bathrooms, and even a fridge. Breakfast wasn't included, but the price was reasonable and you signed up for what you want , and the time, and they delivered it to your deck in the morning. The garden surrounding the bungalows was beautiful. I paid $33 for my bungalow, the ones along the garden I think were around $10 less. The downsides were,,,,it was a bit out of town... they did have transportation several times a day into town, but you had to pay for your way back, not really a big deal, but Luang Prabang is such a great town, so cute, and loved hanging out there, there is not much to do right by the guesthouse, so unless you just want to just hang out at your bungalow, which isnt a bad thing to do since its a great place to hang out. The staff was really nice...except for the manager "Mr T" ...interesting man, very unfriendly, and have no idea why hes the manager. The rest of the staff is amazing! They even said hes not nice to them...so that is the only reason why Im not giving this place a 5 star, the manager and location out of town took it down a notch, but I would recommend it as a nice place to stay on the river right outside of town, at a good price, all the other places in town were a lot more!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elizacass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2010

My husband and I stayed here for three nights and enjoyed the beautiful grounds very much. We stayed in a river bungalow which was very spacious. It did not have an airconditioner but it did not need it. The fans were enough. We really enjoyed breakfast on our balcony overlooking the river. The Lao rice-soup was excellent as were the banana pancakes (crepes).This was the perfect place to come to after a fast-paced city like Hanoi. We really enjoyed sitting on our balcony overlooking the river and relaxing. Across the river there was a bar that had loud music (it carried beacuse of the river) and we could clearly hear it from our room. It did not bother my husband or me, it actually helped us fall asleep!
The walk to the town is longer than expected so I would recommend renting a bicycle to get to the town. Since it was removed from the city, we made sure to eat dinner at the hotel at night and I highly recommend the Lao style noodles with chicken. When we stayed the WIFI was down but we were able to use the computer on the property to check our emails. I would recommend Thongbay to any traveler coming to Luang Prabang.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MK_Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2010

We arrived and were shown to our river view bungalow, which is a wooden bungalow raised on stilts with a little veranda over looking the river. To our delight our first glimpse from the top of the stairs was of two elephants crossing the river below us with their mahouts! What an amazing welcome. Each morning and late afternoon we enjoyed the coconut shakes and breakfasts on the veranda while watching the daily life of the residents along the river bank. As it was the dry season, the locals were growing vegetables on the banks, which made it look like postcard scenery. The management and staff were helpful and courteous. The only drawback is that it is 10 mins away from the action of Luang Prabang, so we kept the tuk tuks in business, but this is also it's biggest drawcard because it is a beautiful and peaceful haven from the bustle. The free shuttle at various times is great, but it only goes one way, so we caught tuk-tuk's back. Not a drama as they are plentiful. A lovely stay. We stayed 7 days.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LittleLaurie008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2010

We've just spent nine nights at Thongbay, and had a really great time.

Booking a riverside bungalow, each morning it was a joy to have breakfast brought to us on our private balcony, and just sit and watch the early morning Nam Khan river activity. The room itself was well furnished, a comfortable double bed with a very effective mosquito net, a ceiling fan (which is not really required much in this season) and a small desk, bedside table and wardrobe. One reviewer said the furnishings were inadequate and plugs inconveniently located. Well, maybe things have been changed since that review, but we certainly found no problems with the room and had plenty space for our Nine nights! The bathroom is spacious too, admittedly the shower pressure is not great for hot water but its not that bad, just dont expect a power shower.
The service provided by the staff is really first class, up there with many (supposedly) higher quality hotels. Each day we received friendly hellos and smiles, really made us feel at home and welcome. The food for breakfast and dinner was also of a good standard, up there with similarly priced places in town and sometimes better. Personal favourites were the chicken rice soup in the morning (to warm up) and the chicken noodle dish with veg/peanuts and finally the steamed mekong fish - delicious!
There are a couple of things that werent great - some noise at night from across the river seemed to be a nightclub, and also the wifi didnt work well during our stay - but i should make this clear neither of these things detracted from our excellent stay here. Having travelled extensively in South East Asia, this place is up there as one of my favourites - great setting and nice people running the place. Thanks for a really good stay.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KR_EDINBURGH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
1 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#3 of 71 in Luang Prabang
872 reviews
0.9 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#2 of 71 in Luang Prabang
844 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
#14 of 71 in Luang Prabang
925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort
Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort
#1 of 1 in Ban Xieng Lom
258 reviews
0.6 mi away
Phone Praseuth Guesthouse
Phone Praseuth Guesthouse
#3 of 272 in Luang Prabang
698 reviews
0.9 mi away
Golden Lotus Place
Golden Lotus Place
#2 of 272 in Luang Prabang
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thongbay Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thongbay Guesthouse

Address: Ban Vieng May, Vat Sakem, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 272 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range: $52 - $74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Thongbay Guesthouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Thongbay Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thongbay Guesthouse Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing