We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Lao Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Thongbay Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 266 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 5, 2013

I've spent 3 nights at Thongbay on a brief journey to Luang Prabang in November 2013. The guesthouse is located roughly 5 minutes from the city center by car or tuk-tuk, which is rather an advantage than a disadvantage. First, the sleeping quality in the bungalows is simply superb and second, free pickups are offered by the guesthouse every hour until 21:30. In case you have missed the last pickup, just grab a tuk-tuk for a couple of Kips.

Apart from the fantastic Lao style bungalows, the team at Thongbay makes your journey really unforgettable. The kindness and service is simply unparalleled. It was probably the best service I have ever experienced. I'm already planning my return and look forward to enjoying the sunset with a marvelous Mekong view at Thongbay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aron V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (976)
There are newer reviews for Thongbay Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

366 - 372 of 976 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2013

My wife and I stayed here in late October and absolutely loved it. The staff were like family and were just the most beautiful people. The grounds are so gorgeous and the accommodation was lovely. We had a very comfy bed and it was so peaceful overlooking the river and being served such a gorgeous breakfast each morning on our deck. It was large enough so that we only needed 2 meals per day. We really enjoyed being invited to see the monk procession and the morning food markets also, a great little bonus. They took us to the airport also and it felt like we were leaving friends/family behind even though we had only been there 3 days. Will be recommending Thongbay Guesthouse to our friends as the place to stay in Luang Prabang.

Room Tip: We enjoyed our river view room
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BryceJanine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We stayed. Here for five night. We had a river view room and it was lovely. The room was clean and there was a lovely balcony that they served breakfast on which was cool. The best thing about this place was the wonderful staff who the owner should be very pleased with as they were so friendly and helpful

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank J_lite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

What a wonderful place with the kindest staff. Nothing is too much trouble. They even hosted an early morning excursion to show guests the tradition of giving rice to the monks in Luang Prabang. Beautiful setting, comfortable rooms and excellent value for money. Highly recommended

Room Tip: Riverside was great
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caramelcookies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

If you like a quiet place to stay, with chales facing the river and a super attentive staff to help you, that is the place!!

Staying at Thongbay was a great experience! The chale was clean, bed was confortable and big! We got to choose our breakfast the night before and it was served at our balcony! What could be more romantic than that?

The hotel is a little away from city centre, but there is a shuttle bus to take the guests all day long.

I highly recomend this place!

Room Tip: If you stay here, you HAVE to stay at the river view chales!
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cissaferreira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We stayed at Thongbay gueshouse for 7 nights in beautiful luang prabang. We were picked up from the airport & were upgraded to the river view bungalow on arrival which was a lovely surprise. Our bungalow was clean, spacious & beautifully decorated. Bathroom very rustic but lovely. We expected some ants in the bathroom from reading trip advisor reviews so a few insects weren't a problem. Fan was adequate & we found at night & early morning it was cool anyway so no need for air con.

Our balcony overlooking the river was so wonderful, we loved eating breakfast every morning whilst taking in the beautiful scenery. Food was delicious! We had to order breakfast the day before & it was then delivered to our balcony in the morning. Huge portions, really tasty French bread & pancakes.

The staff at Thongbay were so lovely & helpful. They advised us on day trips & always greeted us with a smile. when we checked out they gave us a bracelet each and said "safe journey" we thought was so nice :) we really didn't want to leave!

We would recommend Thongbay to anybody visiting Luang Prabang who want some peace & quiet, beautiful surroundings & a friendly atmosphere.

Thank you to all of the staff for a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: River view is totally worth it :)
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abigolucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

I think it's impossible to come here without extending your stay. We spent four nights in a river view bungalow and would have stayed longer if we'd had more time. Nothing like starting the day off with breakfast on your porch (breakfast not included, but reasonably priced). The staff is incredibly helpful and friendly (to us and our two kids). We used their free shuttle service to town every day, and also used their bicycles (it's a very short bike ride into town, as long as you don't get lost).

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoverRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
1.0 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#2 of 68 in Luang Prabang
814 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel
The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel
#8 of 68 in Luang Prabang
706 reviews
0.9 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 68 in Luang Prabang
770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Luang Prabang View Hotel
Luang Prabang View Hotel
#19 of 68 in Luang Prabang
297 reviews
0.8 mi away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#18 of 68 in Luang Prabang
269 reviews
0.6 mi away
Phone Praseuth Guesthouse
Phone Praseuth Guesthouse
#3 of 266 in Luang Prabang
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thongbay Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thongbay Guesthouse

Address: Ban Vieng May, Vat Sakem, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 266 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range: $38 - $72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Thongbay Guesthouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Thongbay Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thongbay Guesthouse Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing