We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic people in a beautiful location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Thongbay Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 257 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic people in a beautiful location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed at Thongbay for 4 days a few weeks ago and had a such a special stay there, we were actually tearful to leave. The staff at the hotel cannot do enough for you and the location is another particular highlight. Accommodation is in the form of beautifully and tastefully constructed wooden bungalows nestled amongst the grounds of the guesthouse on the edge of the river. We were upgraded to a river view and were able to enjoy breakfast on our private balcony every morning. The hostel really know their business and think of everything down to the smallest touches which, in my opinion, really make a good stay into an exceptional one. For example (and these are just a few); breakfast can be delivered to your balcony every morning at a time stipulated by yourself. There is a free shuttle bus every hour to and from the town in the evening and guests can hire bikes free of charge.

A truly memorable stay and somewhere we would wholeheartedly recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janes V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

946 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    770
    141
    22
    10
    3
See reviews for
142
444
107
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

The place is really great, wonderfully placed by the river with a beautiful garden and very clean bungalows. The bungalow caused us some "ah"s and "oh"s when we first went in - the decoration of the bedroom and bathroom are just beautiful and the little terasse great to relax after a day in the city. The food at the restaurant was also good. The only thing that could be improved are the times if the shuttle service as there is a bit too long break in the evening where no shuttle goes and the place is too far out to walk. Everything else was great.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lu8101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
even yehuda
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

we had stayed at thongbay for 6 nights at the middle of August . we actually planned to stay 3 nights there but evrything was so great that we stayed..
the gh it self is nice and the rooms are great as is the view to the river but the real story is the staff and treatment .Especially Whan but all the rest as well.. nothing was too hard evrything is possible.. we were with 3 young kids. the staf played with them, helped them, occupied them; excepted us at 5:00 in the morning when we arrived to town, orgenised with them secreatly a birthday surrprise for me, anything was possible to make sure our time is the best possible. i had stayed in many hotels and gh. the treatment we got at thong bay was outstanding! i am sorry we wont be there again soon and highly recommend it to anyone looking for a great stay.
lots of thank you to all of you for the great time we had
Idit Amnon and the kids

Room Tip: near the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phooEvenYehuda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg, Luxembourg, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

The guesthouse is composed of several different bungalows, some of which are facing the garden and others the river. The bungalows are rather large and all have their own balcony. The bungalows did not have air conditioning, but the ceiling fans were giving sufficient cooling. It was possible to order breakfast and dinner on the terrace of your bungalow.
Although the guesthouse is a bit outside of the city center, the guesthouse has organized a shuttle multiple times during the day to and back from the city for free. If you missed the shuttle is was not the end of the world as it was approximately a 20 minute walk back from the city or a short tuk tuk ride.
In some of the earlier reviews I read there was some noise from the karaoke on the other side of the river. Even thought I had a riverside bungalow, I did not experience much noise and when there was some karaoke going on it finished at a reasonable hour.
The internet was available in the bungalows, which was convenient.
Generally the service was good and the staff was very proactive in resolving any questions. In particular the hostess stood out.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie-GENS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

A collection of traditional bungalows around a lush garden with superb views over the river. Rooms are spacious and comfortable. Beds have mosquito nets. Fan cooled rather than air-con. Large bathrooms with rustic shower unit. Breakfast served on your verandah or overlooking river. Evening meals the same. A bit far from centre of town to walk but regular shuttle service by minibus.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flooziemg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

I just came back from my second stay at Thongbay... just as fantastic as I remember.
Lovely sitting (or reclining!) on the balcony watching the boats go by, the people on the other side gardening and fishing, kids playing etc. Aircon could be an improvement, but there are standing fans and ceiling fans provided. A bit noisy with singing, boats on the river, monk drums, roosters etc, but all part of it! Bring earplugs and you will be fine.
Staff so helpful and kind... Free shuttle to town, breakfast on your own balcony every morning, free wifi.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mungo3068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for two nights in a river view apartment. Breakfast delivered to our personal balcony overlooking the river was definitely a highlight. Our initial concerns about location were overcome by the fact that they run free shuttle buses to the centre throughout the morning, and also return journeys in the afternoon (although tuk tuks cost next-to-nothing anyway!). The staff were exceptionally helpful and very friendly. Our room was very comfortable and clean, but I’m glad they came with mosquito nets. There were a lot of bugs around as you would expect from the location and the abundance of planting. Our quirky bathroom, which is pretty much a stone outhouse bolted onto the back of the wooden house, had some ants and flies but it did not detract from the overall enjoyment of the place, just remember to pack the repellent spray! We would recommend this guesthouse and would definitely suggest trying to get a river view apartment!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
1.0 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#1 of 69 in Luang Prabang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
0.8 mi away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#15 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
0.9 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 69 in Luang Prabang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
#14 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 858 reviews
0.9 mi away
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
#6 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
0.4 mi away
My Dream Boutique Resort
My Dream Boutique Resort
#4 of 257 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thongbay Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thongbay Guesthouse

Property: Thongbay Guesthouse
Address: Ban Vieng May, Vat Sakem, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 257 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Thongbay Guesthouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Thongbay Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thongbay Guesthouse Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing