We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Thongbay Guesthouse
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$188
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$74
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$140
$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$130
$100
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Apsara Rive Droite(Luang Prabang)
$103
$86
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$87
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Maison Dalabua Hotel(Luang Prabang)
$63
$57
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Sada Hotel(Luang Prabang)
$63
$56
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Apsara(Luang Prabang)
$53
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Sokdee Residence(Luang Prabang)
$14
$13
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,062)
Filter reviews
1,062 results
Traveler rating
871
152
23
12
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
871
152
23
12
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthong bayriver view bungalowthe riverfree shuttletuk tukriverside bungalowseach morningfamily bungalowbreakfast deliveredkaraoke barin townregular shuttle servicethe nam khan riverbeautiful gardenhomemade yogurtcrepesguest house
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
454 - 459 of 1,062 reviews
Reviewed June 13, 2013

I would recommend this guesthouse --- friendly staff, best service, comfortable room and free shuttle to town. We check out of our room at 12:00 noon but the bus to Vientiane departs at 8pm. We left our luggage in there after checking out. The staff allowed us to take their free shuttle to town and come back to guesthouse before 6pm. They still provided a bathroom for us to take shower before we leave.

The location is a bit far from town, but anyway, free shuttle is provided. You may also borrow bicycle at here, it's FOC.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skwan1024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

marvellous and peaceful ,just like this photo of Luang Prabang . we will definetly come back for a long , long , very long stay . the staff is so helpful and friendly and the view on the river just unbelievable. the free shuttle to the city is perfect .

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jessicaFrancaiseLAX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

It was my second stay at Thongbay Guesthouse. Why? This place is amazing, wonderful stuff, beautiful garden, very nice big bungalows, best service and fantastic view to river Nam Khan and Mt. Phousy. Who needs more?
I love this place and i miss it every day!
Many thanks to Koung, Vanh, Keo, Net, Thu and Thy and all from the Thongbay Team who give me a perfect time there.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lutz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

I stayed here with part of a trip (Intrepid Travel - the Indochina Loop) and loved the bungalows. They were very clean, air conditioned, nicely decorated and comfortable to stay in. The surroundings of the complex are really beautiful and it's about a ten minute tuk tuk ride from the Luang Prabang market which again is one of the best markets I've ever been to and the food is out of this world and very safe.
I would deffinitely stay here again, there is a computer for guests to use and a bar area also. The staff were always cheery and helpful.
A great stay!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Minor_moo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

I would like to say how nice and friendly Thongbay Guesthouse was and the rooms where fantastic and the staff great. I would highly recommend them over any 5 star Hotel.
We went there with intrepid on a tour and stayed 3 nights in April and everyone day was fantastic and the breakfast on the porch superb.

Room Tip: we had one looking over the rive/
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews