We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Thongbay Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 261 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

I would recommend this guesthouse --- friendly staff, best service, comfortable room and free shuttle to town. We check out of our room at 12:00 noon but the bus to Vientiane departs at 8pm. We left our luggage in there after checking out. The staff allowed us to take their free shuttle to town and come back to guesthouse before 6pm. They still provided a bathroom for us to take shower before we leave.

The location is a bit far from town, but anyway, free shuttle is provided. You may also borrow bicycle at here, it's FOC.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skwan1024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

965 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    789
    141
    22
    10
    3
See reviews for
145
451
109
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Française LAX
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 9, 2013

marvellous and peaceful ,just like this photo of Luang Prabang . we will definetly come back for a long , long , very long stay . the staff is so helpful and friendly and the view on the river just unbelievable. the free shuttle to the city is perfect .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jessicaFrancaiseLAX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aachen, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

It was my second stay at Thongbay Guesthouse. Why? This place is amazing, wonderful stuff, beautiful garden, very nice big bungalows, best service and fantastic view to river Nam Khan and Mt. Phousy. Who needs more?
I love this place and i miss it every day!
Many thanks to Koung, Vanh, Keo, Net, Thu and Thy and all from the Thongbay Team who give me a perfect time there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lutz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

I stayed here with part of a trip (Intrepid Travel - the Indochina Loop) and loved the bungalows. They were very clean, air conditioned, nicely decorated and comfortable to stay in. The surroundings of the complex are really beautiful and it's about a ten minute tuk tuk ride from the Luang Prabang market which again is one of the best markets I've ever been to and the food is out of this world and very safe.
I would deffinitely stay here again, there is a computer for guests to use and a bar area also. The staff were always cheery and helpful.
A great stay!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Minor_moo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

I would like to say how nice and friendly Thongbay Guesthouse was and the rooms where fantastic and the staff great. I would highly recommend them over any 5 star Hotel.
We went there with intrepid on a tour and stayed 3 nights in April and everyone day was fantastic and the breakfast on the porch superb.

Room Tip: we had one looking over the rive/
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

With the free bus into town, and being told the maximum to pay for a tuk tuk, being out of town was never an issue. The views were excellent and eating breakfast n the balcony was wonderful. Evereyone here was extremely helpful and the friendship bracelets were a nice touch. The rooms we large and the bathroom was well equipped.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lintski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morzine, France
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

Thong Bay guest house has a delightful setting overlooking the Nam Kong river. The wooden bungalows on stilts are simply decorated and clean, although lack of air con meant multiple fans and a couple of exceedingly hot nights. The staff are friendly and efficient and the garden setting delightful. There is a small restaurant which we didn't try, but from other guests they enjoyed it. The main and only draw back is the location which is outside of the old town and a taxi or tuk tuk journey away. The guest house runs a shuttle bus at key times of the day, but this means you need to plan and commit to using this service if you don't want to pay. A local tuk tuk standard charged seemed to be 30,000 kip for a one way service to the accommodation.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Claire P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.9 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 69 in Luang Prabang
756 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel
The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel
#7 of 69 in Luang Prabang
693 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#2 of 69 in Luang Prabang
805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#16 of 69 in Luang Prabang
264 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lakhangthong Boutique Hotel
Lakhangthong Boutique Hotel
#20 of 69 in Luang Prabang
303 reviews
0.9 mi away
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
#6 of 69 in Luang Prabang
782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thongbay Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thongbay Guesthouse

Property: Thongbay Guesthouse
Address: Ban Vieng May, Vat Sakem, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 261 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Thongbay Guesthouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Thongbay Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thongbay Guesthouse Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing