We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thongbay Guesthouse in Luang Probang, Laos”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Thongbay Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 261 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Thongbay Guesthouse in Luang Probang, Laos”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

This guesthouse is a little bit of heaven tucked away from only 10 tuk-tuk minutes away from the heart of Luang Probang. You feel like you are staying in your own private resort! Breakfast is delivered to your specifications every morning to your front deck where your futons are unfolded for your comfort. They will even deliver cocktails or dinner ......and every meal we ordered was absolutely delicious! The staff is very accommodating and friendly. They even gave me a beautiful scarf as a going away gift! Treat yourself with this jewel of a hotel.

Room Tip: We had a garden view instead of river view and personally, I think it is more scenic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Casey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

965 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    789
    141
    22
    10
    3
See reviews for
145
451
109
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fukuoka, Japan
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Really nice place for a very good value. The riverside bungalows are worth the extra cost, as they face out to the Nam Khan River with a great view. The balconies are quite nice, with comfortable seats where you will be served breakfast if you order it. A great place to relax with a beer. Good service from the hotel overall, free shuttle into the city (it is a bit far). However we had major plumbing problems while there both in shower and bath. The lack of AC during the hot season was noticeable but was bearable. If they had AC it would have been better, but it was fine without it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AntiBrella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
701 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

I can't say enough about how much I enjoyed this bed & breakfast. I wish I could have camped out here for a month. I stayed in two of their river view bungalows which had wonderful balconies where we took our breakfast and in some cases just hung out. Their garden view bungalows also look cute and are slightly less expensive. The bungalows are charming. Good beds. (Pillows are a bit hard.) Lots of hot water. Mosquito nets are in rooms. Complimentary water. Service is amazing and the staff is fabulous. Breakfast brought to your room. You can order soups, crepes or more traditional Western breakfast. You are provided a lock box in the reception room for valuables when you tour around. We had dinner at the guesthouse one night and the soups were absolutely delicious. The guesthouse offers minivan transfer to central tourist Luang Prabang several times in the morning, They also have a few transfers late in the afternoon. We found taking a tuk tuk the approximately 3kilometers easy. The fare for two is typically 30 kip. All of the drivers will ask for 40. We managed 25 a couple of times. When we left town for a night, they were happy to hold our luggage. You can also book private tours/mini bus trips at the guest house. Did I say the service was excellent? I recommend this place without reservation.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackfalds, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Our party of 6 (aged from12 to 70) stayed 2 nights at Thongbay guest house. It is a bit out of the main city, but they provide free drop off and pick up several times a day OR you can easily and cheaply get tuk tuk drivers if the times they provide do not suite you
The view of the river was super and we think the food we ate at Thongbat was the best we had in Luang Prabang.
Staff was very accommodating and we would stay at this spot again if we were visiting Luang Prabang again.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the river are super and they will deliver breakfast to your balcony so you can eat and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Fantastic view of the river, not expensive, very comfortable, happy staff, good laughs, perfect service, decent breakfast, beautiful gardens... It's all true. Don't worry that there is no air con, it's perfect at night. It's very handy for the tiny airport, and there is a shuttle bus into town. Within one hour of landing we had hopped on the minibus and arranged scooters in town so the location wasn't an issue for us. There are undoubtedly some great places to stay in Luang Prabang, but I would definitely go back to Thongbay. Good memories.

Room Tip: Pay the extra little bit and get a river view room if they have one available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barneyDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We loved our stay here - end of story. Location is a little out of the center of LP, but easily reachable via a 7 minute bike ride, or by free shuttle from the guesthouse. Staff were unfailingly helpful and kind. We had a river-facing bungalow, that although did not have AC or TV, was delightful. All food from restaurant on-site was delicious, with breakfast being served on our balcony every morning. All in all, a fantastic stay, and would highly recommend!

Room Tip: Riverview bungalows are wonderful and very peaceful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noahvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Thongbay. The river bungalows offer privacy and a unique view of life on the river...locals escaping the heat with a quick swim, fishermen out on their boats with their lanterns, and yes, even karaoke. We particularly enjoyed our lovely breakfasts delivered to our balcony (at our leisure), as opposed to rushing to be up between 7 and 9. The gardens are lush and serene. Most importantly, the staff are all very warm, welcoming and helpful. The guesthouse is on the edge of town but we found the shuttle service to work well for us. We have been travelling for several weeks and Thongbay has been our favourite hotel. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebraOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.9 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 69 in Luang Prabang
756 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel
The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel
#7 of 69 in Luang Prabang
693 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#2 of 69 in Luang Prabang
805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#16 of 69 in Luang Prabang
264 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lakhangthong Boutique Hotel
Lakhangthong Boutique Hotel
#20 of 69 in Luang Prabang
303 reviews
0.9 mi away
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
#6 of 69 in Luang Prabang
782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thongbay Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thongbay Guesthouse

Property: Thongbay Guesthouse
Address: Ban Vieng May, Vat Sakem, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 261 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Thongbay Guesthouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Thongbay Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thongbay Guesthouse Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing