We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Thongbay Guesthouse
Nearby Hotels
$200
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$188
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Sen Boutique Hotel(Luang Prabang)
$93
$87
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$88
$74
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Santi Hotel(Luang Prabang)
$64
$59
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$130
$100
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Sala Prabang(Luang Prabang)
$61
$53
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Santi Resort & Spa(Luang Prabang)
$57
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$60
$50
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,062)
Filter reviews
1,062 results
Traveler rating
871
152
23
12
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
871
152
23
12
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthong bayriver view bungalowthe riverfree shuttletuk tukriverside bungalowseach morningfamily bungalowbreakfast deliveredkaraoke barin townregular shuttle servicethe nam khan riverbeautiful gardenhomemade yogurtcrepesguest house
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
510 - 515 of 1,062 reviews
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed here with friends in two riverside bungalows for four nights and have nothing but praise for the staff and location EXCEPT for the bumpy approach road. The guesthouse is a little out of town and the approach from the main paved street is down a bumpy lane. We found it better to get out of the tuk tuk at the main road and walk in rather than being bumped around in the back of the tuk tuk. However the lane is not well lit at night.
Don't let this advice put you off, its a great place to stay and highly recommended.

Room Tip: We enjoyed breakfast by the riverside every morning which probably means booking a riverside bungalow although the area we had our meal was not exclusive to the riverside bungalows.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

I have nothing but high praise for the location , the rooms , the facilities , the service and the staff BUT if you are a light sleeper you may have trouble with the karaoke bar across the river in the evening and the monk's 4 a.m. drumming which wakes up the local roosters . Personally , I thought it added to the feel of the place and I soon got used to it . Maybe a garden room would have been quieter but then you would miss the enjoyment of sitting on your balcony watching the river drift by . Well worth the slight inconvenience of being out of town as there are free hourly shuttles to & from town , morning & late afternoon and only a five minute , 20,000 kip , tuk tuk drive back if you miss the last one at 7.10pm .

Room Tip: The river view villas are excellent with 201 & 202 having better views and easier access to the observation deck and hideaway .
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wade H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

This was one of our stops with the group I was travelling round Indo-China with and I am so glad it was included!! The staff were extremely welcoming and friendly, the rooms were spacious and clean and the food was delicious! I especially enjoyed having my breakfast on the verandah first thing in the morning. The Thongbay Guesthouse was a welcome stop for all of us to recharge our batteries and feel thoroughly pampered in between bouts of shopping and sight seeing. I would highly recommend it. Thank you!!

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Rosalie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Cannot fault this in any way, other than its being a little out of the centre so you need a tuc-tuc or bicycle to get in and out (the hotel does provide a free minibus service at fixed times as well). That said, everything else about the Thongbay (pronounced Thing-bai) is perfect. The rooms are fashioned from bamboo and other natural materials and each has a balcony area with mats and chairs for chilling out. The gardens are absolutely beautiful with orchids, palm trees and many other beautiful plants, immaculately cared for and arranged and overlooking the river. Excellent WiFi throughout, free bicycles (a great idea here in what is a small and relatively flat town) and breakfast brought to your room every morning to eat on your balcony if you don't want to use the outdoor dining-room. Even small details like plenty of sockets in the room and in the dining-room so you can easily recharge.

The staff were unbelievably helpful and friendly - this was the last hotel we stayed in over a four-week holiday in Vietnam, Cambodia and Laos and it was the best (to be fair, they were all pretty good). Cannot recommend it enough.

Room Tip: Pay the few dollars extra to get a river-view room, it is really really worth it! You could spend your entire holiday there just looking at the river, drinking a beer and chilling out!!
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruairi1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

we got in on a really late bus, but even though it was super late the staff greeted us with a smile and showed us to our room. they have a free shuttle in the morning to see the almsgiving to the monks. this was a great experience and many of the staff joined us (they said they go at least once a week). overall great place.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank j k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews