We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect bungalow, go for the river view!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thongbay Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Thongbay Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 258 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect bungalow, go for the river view!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

The river view feature is definitely worth a few extra bucks. It means your balcony is bigger, more private, and has a better view. Perfect place to share a breakfast of spicy noodles and lao coffee. The rooms are amazing! Big, beautiful, lots of light in the mornings. But remember! This is a bungalow, so you will have to share space with ants, centipedes, mosquitoes, etc, and there's no AC.

Room Tip: River view is definitely worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samuel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

939 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    763
    141
    22
    10
    3
See reviews for
141
441
105
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

I stayed here for three nights as part of a tour of Southeast Asia and it was by far one of the nicest places I stayed on the whole trip. I stayed with a friend in a twin bungalow with en suite bathroom and a lovely veranda. The rooms had plenty of space, mosquito nets, a decent fan and a fridge. The bathroom was very spacious with a separate shower area (not a given in Laos!).

In the reception there was a noticeboard upon which you could place a breakfast order from the comprehensive menu with the time you would like it brought to your veranda the next morning. Everything I had was really tasty, including scrambled eggs, bread rolls and pancakes. We also ate dinner at the hotel one evening on the covered decking area at the back of the guesthouse on the bank of the river, and it was great too. I also used the laundry service and all my clothes made it back in perfect condition.

The guesthouse also offers a shuttle bus to and from the centre of Luang Prabang at various times in the morning and evening, as it's slightly outside the town centre. We were all given pretty friendship bracelets before we left, which was a nice gesture. The service we received at all times was extremely friendly and helpful. I definitely wouldn't hesitate to recommend this place to anyone travelling to Luang Prabang.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jennyq89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Région De Bruxelles-Capitale, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

On our honeymoon, we intended to stay 3nights, and ended up staying 10 nights in Luang Prabang thanks to this beautiful place! Friendly stuff, a very awake and friendly manager, clean rooms, beautiful terrace, good breakfast, BICYCLES FOR FREE... It's sort of a perfect combination of being in a city with some activities and good restaurants while enjoying the calmness of the resort in a rural setting! You might want to try to get a river view Bungalow with the large terraces and beautiful view onto the river! Only problem: Be ready for the chickens to wake you up in the morning or some evening sounds from the Karaoke place on the other side of the river. Please keep your energy running the place in such a friendly, personal and professional way!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank picapucatrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
71 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

This place was simply amazing... The staff was very friendly and helpful.. I would recommend this guesthouse for everyone~~ If you're reading this... I need a favor.. Tip the cleaning ladies a few extra kip for me...

While sitting at the airport waiting for our flight out my friend and I realized we didn't leave a tip... If you could leave a tip with a little note from room 204 Robert & Jae Pil are sorry~~~ haha thanks a lot guys~~~

The room was always spotless and our breakfast was always delicious. We also used the laundry service and our clothes were washed very well. Everything about this place made our stay more enjoyable~~~

Room Tip: All the rooms are pretty similar, the ones with river view have nice views but you can't go wron...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bobby091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012 via mobile

The best place ever!
We went here in June and stayed for 7 nights. When we arrived here we where amazed by the beautiful garden, the views and the lovely staff. everybody was very helpful and the food was really good. our bungalow had everything we needed, nice bathroom great beds and a veranda (with garden view) which we enjoyed very much. Every night we fell asleep with frog and gecko sounds in the garden. We both agreed that this is the place to stay in Luang Prabang. If you deside to go and stay here you should atleast stay for a week :))) We got a great deal because it was low season and they had enough room, but if you plan your trip in high season get a reservation.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EllenTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
71 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

Thongbay GH is a very beautifull and peacefull place on the outside of Luang Prabang. The staff is very friendly en the service is very good. It is no problem that this place is not situated in the town center because there is free transportation to the town center and back. The rooms are very spacious and clean. We had booked a cottage with river view and that was really fantastic. Yoou can have your meals (breakfast, luch and diner) on the balcony of your cottage. A small minuspoint is the Smile (Karaoke) bar near to Thongbay GH. This bar produces a lot of noise. The garden cottages don't hear the noise, the river cottages do.

Room Tip: The river cottages are just stunning..., the garden cottages are more quiet (karaokebar)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grensjeverleggen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights only, but we loved every second of it. Breakfast served directly to your bungalow's front porch, very friendly and helpful staff, beautiful river view and also a very good restaurant for lunch and dinner.
We were even allowed to check out late (6pm when our pickup arrived) with no extra cost.

If we ever return to Luang Prabang, this is where we're staying.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DOtykier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
1.0 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#1 of 70 in Luang Prabang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
0.7 mi away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#15 of 70 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
0.9 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 70 in Luang Prabang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
#13 of 70 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 845 reviews
0.9 mi away
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
#7 of 70 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
0.3 mi away
My Dream Boutique Resort
My Dream Boutique Resort
#3 of 258 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thongbay Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thongbay Guesthouse

Property: Thongbay Guesthouse
Address: Ban Vieng May, Vat Sakem, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 258 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Thongbay Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thongbay Guesthouse Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing