We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Life in the slow lane”
Review of Kamu Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kamu Lodge
Ranked #33 of 71 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 1, 2008

After a nice boattrip we arrived at the lodge. Very friendly people, excellent service, good food and great guide. The visit of the nearby village is an absolute must, takes you back in time...
Weather was dreadfull, but OK July is rainy season, The tent kept us dry but don't expect aircon or satellite TV.
Great experience, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bassins01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (257)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

143 - 149 of 257 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2008

i stayed there for 2 nights. the place is lovely, weather was dreadful...very cold and very rainy (dry season!). the tent was very nice, guide great, personal and service very very pleasant. food very nice, just too much. visit to the villages very nice!
itzi

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank itzibitzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2008

a 2.5 hour boat trip from luang prabang brings you to the remote kamu eco lodge , accomodation are tents under a thatched canopy but is not your standard camping as the tents contain comfortable beds with mosquito nets,solar powered electricity and even a bathroom with shower, a large flask with hot water was left to help u wash as the solar heated water soon went cool.from the balcony we had great views of the mekong and surrounding forest. the food was excellent and staff friendly and helpful whilst the local village gave a real insight into kamu life . a highlight of our trip

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
3  Thank khmerbleu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2007

We stayed here for 2 nights in December 2007. The guide and staff we dealt with could not have been more helpful or accommodating. The visits to local villages were a highlight and provided an insight to life in rural Laos. The food was superb and there was no difficulty in accommodating my vegetarian partner. Accommodation was in very atmospheric tents with thatched roof and attached en-suite. Staying here was one of the highlights of our 3-week trip to Cambodia and Laos. I can highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank viking100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2006

Kamu Lodge is a 2 hour trip upriver by boat from Luang Prabang but, because of the flow, just an hour back. All in all I think it’s one of the best examples of eco tourism I have ever seen because it’s a luxurious experience that obviously directly benefits the local villagers without ramming the whole “eco” thing down your throat. It’s wonderfully relaxing and I just wish we’d spent 2 nights there not one – it is very conducive to just chilling out and reading a good book!
You stay in tents, but they are “African safari” style, semi-permanent tents with good toilets and shower attached – because it’s solar heated, grab your shower as the sun goes down, otherwise it’s cold water only. The food was good and plentiful. Having a look round the (dirt poor) village next door didn’t seem exploitative or like a zoo, the villagers seemed genuinely happy to have us have there.
In the evening we were shown how to fish, do a bit of gold panning (not sure who’s making any money out of that but it sure as heck isn’t the villagers), shoot a bow and arrow and also there was some local dancing which probably sounds a bit cheesy but just about managed not to be.
Anyway, it was a highlight of my stay around Luang Prabang and I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank Worldtraveler67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daniel m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Torben H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
12.3 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#3 of 71 in Luang Prabang
857 reviews
12.3 mi away
The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel
The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel
#8 of 71 in Luang Prabang
745 reviews
12.4 mi away
Villa Lao Wooden House
Villa Lao Wooden House
#40 of 71 in Luang Prabang
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Parasol Blanc
Parasol Blanc
#12 of 71 in Luang Prabang
96 reviews
17.2 mi away
Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort
Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort
#1 of 1 in Ban Xieng Lom
252 reviews
12.7 mi away
Azerai Luang Prabang
Azerai Luang Prabang
#35 of 71 in Luang Prabang
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kamu Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kamu Lodge

Address: 44/3 Ban Wat Nong | Kham Kong Rd,, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 71 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Hotel Class:3 star — Kamu Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sitting along the Mekong River, Kamu Lodge offers the unique opportunity to experience slow travel with accommodation in our spacious "African Safari" tents, each with a private balcony and thatched roofs. Our tents provide all necessary comforts and great river views. Using only solar power energy at the lodge, rooms have lights, fans and each has an en-suite private bathroom with shower facilities. The experience includes boat transfers to and from Luang Prabang. Step back in time visiting and getting to know the people from the neighboring Kamu Ethnic Minority Village. Activities include the chance to learn traditional crafts from the Kamu people of net fishing, gold panning and to learn with a "hands on" opportunity of rice planting and harvesting. We also offer traditional massages that complement the experience. Enjoy al fresco dining at the lodge's rustic restaurant in the middle of the rice fields. We serve Lao specialties, offering lunch, dinner and breakfast included in the package. There is also a well-stocked bar, offering a delicious selection of drinks and refreshments. Kamu Lodge is in Yoi Hai Village, a 2.5-hour boat ride from Luang Prabang, tour includes a stop at the revered Pak Ou Caves. The 2 day 1 night package departs Luang Prabang daily at 9.00am, returning the following day before 4pm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kamu Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kamu Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing