We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kamu Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Calao Hotel(Luang Prabang)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Lan Kham Riverside(Luang Prabang)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Sala Prabang(Luang Prabang)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Sokdee Residence(Luang Prabang)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Villa Lao Wooden House(Luang Prabang)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (269)
Filter reviews
269 results
Traveler rating
131
91
31
10
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
131
91
31
10
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgold panningrice plantinglocal villagesolar powerwater buffalopaddy fieldspak ou cavesvillage childrenone nightvillage visitoptional activitiesbeautiful tripmekong riveradjacent villageliving conditionsday cruiseoil lamps
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
124 - 129 of 269 reviews
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Stayed in a double room, it was clean had wi/fi, a/c, tv, fan and hot water bathroom. It was clean and bright. Staff were all fine, hospitable and helpful with good English. The best was definitely the location.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kwok H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaMaly, General Manager at Kamu Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2012

Dear Kwok H,
Sunny greetings from Luang Prabang...
Many thanks for your kind message... I will definitely share them with our Kamu staffs.
I am always delighted to read when our guests did enjoy their stay with us, and am looking forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Warm regards
A. de Boynes
Operations Manager - Laos
Appletree properties: Villa Maly, Kamu Lodge, Nava Mekong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Spent one night at Kamu Lodge as part of a longer stay in Luang Prabang. The three hour trip up the Mekong on a slow boat was a highlight in itself and gets you in a suitably relaxed frame of mind. The lodge was everything we’d hoped it would be, felt like the middle of nowhere, in fact it was the only place in a two week tour of Laos where I couldn’t get a phone signal!
The accommodation is my kind of camping, proper beds and a ensuite shower room (although the water pressure was very poor possibly because we were one of the more elevated rooms).

Food was good, no menu just a selection of traditional dishes which were very tasty. The activities were fun and the staff, as we found throughout Laos were excellent.

I’d definitely recommend a visit but one night would probably be enough.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob_and_Sharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaMaly, General Manager at Kamu Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2012

Dear Rob and Sharon,
Sunny greetings from Luang Prabang...
I would like to thank you very much for your kind feedback about your stay at Kamu Lodge. About the water pressure you mention, as you might know Kamu Lodge is self sufficient in electricity as we use solar panels and also in water. It is true that it can happen that the water pressure drops due to particular weather reason especially in rainy season. However it is not systematic. On another hand, I would suggest our 3D2N package. As you have been through our main activities on your first day with us, be informed that on the second day, we offer an amazing trek through the forest to an unspoiled waterfall where you will enjoy a picnic whilst you can relax in the fresh water of the waterfall. Definitely a must do.
Looking forward to welcoming you again in the future, I wish you, Rob and Sharon, a great day.
Warms regards,

A. de Boynes
Operations Manager - Laos
Appletree properties: Villa Maly, Kamu Lodge, Nava Mekong.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We were on the 3 day cruise down the Mekong to Luang Prabang with overnight stays at Luang Say and the Kamu Lodge. As we were travelling in July the low season there were only 13 on the slow boat and we were the only tourists who got off at Kamu for an overnight stay. This was exactly what we were hoping for - a way to get a deeper insight into the culture of the hill tribes who are quite poor, whilst still having a level of comfort and cleanliness as expected by most westerners. We declined the activities to rest in our comfortable and clean tent and absorb the sounds and sights of the jungle around us. Later we walked around the village and saw the ploughing and planting of rice which is the way the villagers make a living. The village children giggled and followed us around and there is no begging - just happy, contented people. The food and service was very good. There was only one other family staying so we had the place to ourselves which is what we enjoy. Perhaps 2 nights stay would be good.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marjan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaMaly, General Manager at Kamu Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2012

Dear Marjan M,
Sunny greetings from Luang Prabang...
A warm thank you for your kind feedback about your stay at Kamu Lodge. It is always very nice to read that our guests enjoyed their Kamu experience. Thanking you again, rest assured that I will share your comments with our team.
Looking forward to welcoming you in the future, I wish you a fantastic day.
A. de Boynes
Operations Manager - Laos
Appletree Asia Properties: Villa Maly ; Nava Mekong ; Kamu Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2012

The three hour boat trip from Luang Prabang to Kamu Lodge is magical. We got there in the afternoon just in time for lunch which was good but very bland. In the afternoon we did rice planting, archery, fishing and gold panning which kept us entertained for 30 minutes. We also went for a walk in the nearby village which was fascinating. The lodge should make more use of the village and what we as tourists could learn from the people living there. We had no light, and the fans were not working in our tent which made the overnight stay extremely uncomfortable. Had booked for two nights but managed to escape after one.......

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fudgebabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaMaly, General Manager at Kamu Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2012

Dear fudgbabe,
First of all, I would like to thank you for your feedback about your stay at Kamu Lodge.
It is never nice to read bad comments about our properties. Dealing with the activities, I am working with our new Kamu Lodge Manager, to improve our guests experiences, and we will shortly implement some new activities, such as an Open Air Cinema, a Bar, there will be more interaction with the Kamu villagers: guests will be able to learn from the blacksmith, to weave bamboo bags, in the evening, there already is a Kids show next to a bonfire, and more to come...
Regarding the lights and fans, when this kind of issue occurs (like a battery failing to charge...) we move our guests in another room where all equipment works.
I would like to apologize, fudgbabe, for this unpleasant experience, and would definitely appreciate if you could grant us the opportunity to demonstrate a much higher level of service by visiting us again in the future.
Warm regards
A. de Boynes
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2012

After reading the reviews I was a bit unsure but I was pleasantly surprised and enjoyed the trip

It is a steep climb to the top and the pathways are uneven but the tents were well laid out we did get hot water very quickly but then there were only 6 people staying

The activities were ok it was interesting go around the village hard to know who us the tourist attraction us or them

Food was good and better than I imagined good sided portions and whilst lightly spice it was nice

We loved the tents and as our first ever Glamping expedition it was fun

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edwmagee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaMaly, General Manager at Kamu Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2012

Dear edwmagee,

First of all, I would like to thank you for having chosen to experience Kamu Lodge and also for your kind comments.
I will definitely share your comments with our team on site. They are working hard to improve everyday our guests' experiences and if it was not always perfect, reading your comments show us that we are on the right track. Hoping to welcoming you again in the future, I wish you a great day.

Axel de Boynes
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews