We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent staffs”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kamu Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kamu Lodge
Ranked #27 of 69 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Hue, Vietnam
1 review
“Excellent staffs”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

Stayed in a double room, it was clean had wi/fi, a/c, tv, fan and hot water bathroom. It was clean and bright. Staff were all fine, hospitable and helpful with good English. The best was definitely the location.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kwok H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaMaly, General Manager at Kamu Lodge, responded to this review, August 5, 2012
Dear Kwok H,
Sunny greetings from Luang Prabang...
Many thanks for your kind message... I will definitely share them with our Kamu staffs.
I am always delighted to read when our guests did enjoy their stay with us, and am looking forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Warm regards
A. de Boynes
Operations Manager - Laos
Appletree properties: Villa Maly, Kamu Lodge, Nava Mekong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    85
    28
    9
    6
See reviews for
42
112
23
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

Spent one night at Kamu Lodge as part of a longer stay in Luang Prabang. The three hour trip up the Mekong on a slow boat was a highlight in itself and gets you in a suitably relaxed frame of mind. The lodge was everything we’d hoped it would be, felt like the middle of nowhere, in fact it was the only place in a two week tour of Laos where I couldn’t get a phone signal!
The accommodation is my kind of camping, proper beds and a ensuite shower room (although the water pressure was very poor possibly because we were one of the more elevated rooms).

Food was good, no menu just a selection of traditional dishes which were very tasty. The activities were fun and the staff, as we found throughout Laos were excellent.

I’d definitely recommend a visit but one night would probably be enough.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob_and_Sharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaMaly, General Manager at Kamu Lodge, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Dear Rob and Sharon,
Sunny greetings from Luang Prabang...
I would like to thank you very much for your kind feedback about your stay at Kamu Lodge. About the water pressure you mention, as you might know Kamu Lodge is self sufficient in electricity as we use solar panels and also in water. It is true that it can happen that the water pressure drops due to particular weather reason especially in rainy season. However it is not systematic. On another hand, I would suggest our 3D2N package. As you have been through our main activities on your first day with us, be informed that on the second day, we offer an amazing trek through the forest to an unspoiled waterfall where you will enjoy a picnic whilst you can relax in the fresh water of the waterfall. Definitely a must do.
Looking forward to welcoming you again in the future, I wish you, Rob and Sharon, a great day.
Warms regards,

A. de Boynes
Operations Manager - Laos
Appletree properties: Villa Maly, Kamu Lodge, Nava Mekong.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

We were on the 3 day cruise down the Mekong to Luang Prabang with overnight stays at Luang Say and the Kamu Lodge. As we were travelling in July the low season there were only 13 on the slow boat and we were the only tourists who got off at Kamu for an overnight stay. This was exactly what we were hoping for - a way to get a deeper insight into the culture of the hill tribes who are quite poor, whilst still having a level of comfort and cleanliness as expected by most westerners. We declined the activities to rest in our comfortable and clean tent and absorb the sounds and sights of the jungle around us. Later we walked around the village and saw the ploughing and planting of rice which is the way the villagers make a living. The village children giggled and followed us around and there is no begging - just happy, contented people. The food and service was very good. There was only one other family staying so we had the place to ourselves which is what we enjoy. Perhaps 2 nights stay would be good.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marjan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaMaly, General Manager at Kamu Lodge, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Dear Marjan M,
Sunny greetings from Luang Prabang...
A warm thank you for your kind feedback about your stay at Kamu Lodge. It is always very nice to read that our guests enjoyed their Kamu experience. Thanking you again, rest assured that I will share your comments with our team.
Looking forward to welcoming you in the future, I wish you a fantastic day.
A. de Boynes
Operations Manager - Laos
Appletree Asia Properties: Villa Maly ; Nava Mekong ; Kamu Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2012

The three hour boat trip from Luang Prabang to Kamu Lodge is magical. We got there in the afternoon just in time for lunch which was good but very bland. In the afternoon we did rice planting, archery, fishing and gold panning which kept us entertained for 30 minutes. We also went for a walk in the nearby village which was fascinating. The lodge should make more use of the village and what we as tourists could learn from the people living there. We had no light, and the fans were not working in our tent which made the overnight stay extremely uncomfortable. Had booked for two nights but managed to escape after one.......

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fudgebabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaMaly, General Manager at Kamu Lodge, responded to this review, June 6, 2012
Dear fudgbabe,
First of all, I would like to thank you for your feedback about your stay at Kamu Lodge.
It is never nice to read bad comments about our properties. Dealing with the activities, I am working with our new Kamu Lodge Manager, to improve our guests experiences, and we will shortly implement some new activities, such as an Open Air Cinema, a Bar, there will be more interaction with the Kamu villagers: guests will be able to learn from the blacksmith, to weave bamboo bags, in the evening, there already is a Kids show next to a bonfire, and more to come...
Regarding the lights and fans, when this kind of issue occurs (like a battery failing to charge...) we move our guests in another room where all equipment works.
I would like to apologize, fudgbabe, for this unpleasant experience, and would definitely appreciate if you could grant us the opportunity to demonstrate a much higher level of service by visiting us again in the future.
Warm regards
A. de Boynes
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
176 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2012

After reading the reviews I was a bit unsure but I was pleasantly surprised and enjoyed the trip

It is a steep climb to the top and the pathways are uneven but the tents were well laid out we did get hot water very quickly but then there were only 6 people staying

The activities were ok it was interesting go around the village hard to know who us the tourist attraction us or them

Food was good and better than I imagined good sided portions and whilst lightly spice it was nice

We loved the tents and as our first ever Glamping expedition it was fun

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edwmagee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaMaly, General Manager at Kamu Lodge, responded to this review, March 28, 2012
Dear edwmagee,

First of all, I would like to thank you for having chosen to experience Kamu Lodge and also for your kind comments.
I will definitely share your comments with our team on site. They are working hard to improve everyday our guests' experiences and if it was not always perfect, reading your comments show us that we are on the right track. Hoping to welcoming you again in the future, I wish you a great day.

Axel de Boynes
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bray on Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2012

We like others stayed here as part of the Luang Say Cruise. Most people continue to go straight to Luang Prabang after the one night at Luange Say Lodge but we were glad we decided to stop here as it was an unusual experience. There were only 6 people in total when we stayed which added to the experience, I am not sure if it was full and busy we would have had such a nice time. We decided to decline the activities and just relax and have a massage - the massage was fine and only cheap, it was just nice to sit in the bar and watch the cute children playing, dinner was okay and plentiful, once it got dark there was not much more to do other than go to your room which was fine by us... The rooms are comfortable enough - you did get hot water eventually - but rememeber to leave the tap running for 20 mins before.... I wouldnt say I got the best sleep but listening to sounds outside and the bell of the monastary added to the "camping" experience.... breakfast was pleasant with freshly baked bread, omlettes and bacon.... the next day we had a boat to ourselves with one other couple! this was great as it meant we had the buddha caves to ourselves to exlore due to the time we arrived... if anyone is on a long trip and has time I would reccomend a stop at Kamu.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maniacnumber1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaMaly, General Manager at Kamu Lodge, responded to this review, March 29, 2012
Dear maniacnumber1,

A very warm thank you for your kind message. I am sure that the Kamu villagers will appreciate to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. This means so much for them, and us of course.
Everybody is looking forward to welcoming you again in a not too far future if you are in this part of the world.
Warm regards
Axel de Boynes
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
118 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2012

Stayed here as part of our three day trip down river to Luang Prabang. River very high following some months of heavy rain. The seven of us the only guests. Greeted on arrival with a glass of lemon grass tea. Nicely laid out camp, tropical plants, canvas tents on tiled base, beds frames made of bamboo, mattresses ok, but not very thick, and mosquito nets. Wet bathroom with solar hot water. Reasonable shower compared to some other places we have stayed. Lunch in the dining pavilion surrounded by rice paddy. Have had better lunches but soup was nice plus fresh fruit. Nashi pear, mango and paw paw. Afternoon activities gold panning, net throwing, bow and arrow and village visit, all fairly low key. Not a place for strenuous actvities but pleasant chilling out on verandah. Pre dinner drink in the "lounge pavilion" watching a buffalo plough the paddy. Dinner was five Lao dishes plus fresh fruit, adequate without being outstanding. Quite happy with the service. Pleasant night listening to the rain and insects. Nice change from crowded cities. Massage available. Bring a headlamp if you like to read at night.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank noelandmaxine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
17.2 mi away
Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort
Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort
#1 of 1 in Ban Xieng Lom
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
13.7 mi away
Luang Prabang View Hotel
Luang Prabang View Hotel
#21 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
13.6 mi away
Kiridara
Kiridara
#11 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#1 of 69 in Luang Prabang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
13.1 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 69 in Luang Prabang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
12.9 mi away
Satri House
Satri House
#13 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kamu Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kamu Lodge

Property: Kamu Lodge
Address: 44/3 Ban Wat Nong | Kham Kong Rd,, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 69 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kamu Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sitting along the Mekong River, Kamu Lodge offers the unique opportunity to experience slow travel with accommodation in our spacious "African Safari" tents, each with a private balcony and thatched roofs. Our tents provide all necessary comforts and great river views. Using only solar power energy at the lodge, rooms have lights, fans and each has an en-suite private bathroom with shower facilities. The experience includes boat transfers to and from Luang Prabang. Step back in time visiting and getting to know the people from the neighboring Kamu Ethnic Minority Village. Activities include the chance to learn traditional crafts from the Kamu people of net fishing, gold panning and to learn with a "hands on" opportunity of rice planting and harvesting. We also offer traditional massages that complement the experience. Enjoy al fresco dining at the lodge's rustic restaurant in the middle of the rice fields. We serve Lao specialties, offering lunch, dinner and breakfast included in the package. There is also a well-stocked bar, offering a delicious selection of drinks and refreshments. Kamu Lodge is in Yoi Hai Village, a 2.5-hour boat ride from Luang Prabang, tour includes a stop at the revered Pak Ou Caves. The 2 day 1 night package departs Luang Prabang daily at 9.00am, returning the following day before 4pm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Kamu Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kamu Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing