We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So peaceful”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lao Spirit Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lao Spirit Resort
Ranked #20 of 69 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“So peaceful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2011

This is one of the most memorable places I have stayed in. To sit on the balcony of your bungalow and watch the mist swirling around the mountains over the river is so relaxing and a world away from one's bustling city life back home. The surrounding gardens with bougainvilleas and native birds complement the bungalows and add to the magic. The restaurant has some of the best food we had in our whole month in Laos. The managers and staff were also very friendly and helpful. We did the elephant trek, kayaking and trekking on foot and enjoyed every moment. The day kayaking and visiting tribal villages was especially interesting, watching the little Hmong boys play "frisbee" with their rubber thongs (flip flops) and the little girls play hopscotch. Would love to return

Room Tip: Bungalow nearest to the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eileen16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    29
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
19
126
27
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2011

We booked the 2 day package with elephant ride and trek to a waterfall. The resort is beautiful and fits in perfectly with the local surroundings. The hotel owners have made a big effort from the authentic buildings to the hiring of local people to staff the hotel.

The food in the restaurant is great - really tasty and great value. We had the Nuad Phaen Boran massage on the deck of our cabin. It cost us about 12 euro and was one of the best massages I have ever had.

The views from the cabins and restaurant are fantastic. After our jungle trek, we enjoyed our Beer Lao overlooking the river! Our guide on the trek was Joy - he was a great guide and great company.

Tip: bring a good repellent as the rooms have shutters and insects will get in

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrandMrsOBrien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2011

I completed the two-night stay package offered directly by Lao Spirit Resort on their site.

This place feels magical. It is so peaceful; you can enjoy the sights and sounds of nature all around you. They've really done a remarkable job of building this place to integrate with and complement the surroundings. My room and the restaurant overlook the Mekong, a perfect backdrop to sipping lemongrass tea while reading a book. The rooms are gorgeous, complete with a bathtub and a separate outdoor shower! The towels are big and fluffy, a rarity in SE Asia where most everything is air-dried. you can also get a relaxing massage on the balcony of your bungalow for $15! As an added treat, they bring you a pot of fresh ginger tea afterwards.

Just a few minor drawbacks to note:
• Limited hot water supply; not enough to last for a 10-minute shower.
• In December, it is frightfully cold at night. I wore tights, pants, wool socks, three tops, a fleece, a shell, the comforter, and two extra blankets and I was still cold! And I'm from Canada.
• On their site, the price for the tour listed a single supplement. But when I confirmed the price with them, it was in fact a significant deal higher than even the cost of the supplement (don't remember exactly; maybe $70 more?) when I asked why, they said the single supplement only reflected solo accommodation. Since I'd be doing everything on my own (transfer, tour, etc.), there was additional single supplements for those activities. I think this pricing is disingenuous since it was for the package, not for a room. Obviously, if I'm going alone for the package, I'm not going to sleep alone but miraculously find friends during the day to accompany me on the excursion! That part did leave a bad taste in my mouth, and I nearly cancelled my trip here because of it.

Notwithstanding these drawbacks, it is still a wonderful place to visit. The guide, Joy, was amazing, and the staff were very kind and accommodating. This has been one of the top highlights of my trip.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Passportable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laospirit, Manager at Lao Spirit Resort, responded to this review, December 17, 2011
Dear Guest,

thanks a lot for your review and your booking with us. We are very glad to read that over all you
have been very satisfied with the services provided by us. We feel very sorry about the fact that
there seem to be some misunderstanding regarding our pricing policy and we would like to take the opportunity to make this point more understandable.

Our website contains different offers split up into three groups. There are the room rates only
refering to overnight stays including breakfast for a double room with two persons or a room with single occupancy. The second part of our offers refers to packages a combination of transportation, active tours and accomodation. The third part refers to tours only which can be booked in addition to an overnight stay.

The part you refer to are the package offers. The prices given are per person for 2, 3 and 4 persons with a single supplement. It seems that the misunderstanding is at this point as
we offer a single supplement which refers to the room supplement only if two or more people are travelling together. This seems to be the point of misunderstanding and I have to admit that we have to change it to make it more clear.

If you look at our website and see the individual rates for transfers, tours and rooms our rate policy might be more easy to understand and becomes very transparent. Of course it is always a burden for a single individual traveller in regards of prices as costs for room, cars, boat, guide, registration fees, etc. are not shared and have to be paid by one person only.

It is not and was never our intension to make prices look better then they are. As we understand your concern in regards of our package rates we will change the rates on our website and add the total cost for a single individual traveller to the package rates.

We have been very happy to have you stayed with us and we would like to thank you
for your review that will help us to improve our service for future guests.

Yours sincerely

The Managmenet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2011

All in here are all very friendly and welcoming.
The room had very nice view.
We''ll back :--)

Room Tip: Higher floor has nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HPhappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamala, Thailand
Level Contributor
147 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2011

This hotel provides a very comfortable place from which to experience the rural side of Laos. The rooms are all individual cabins built out on a hillside overlooking the river and mountains beyond. They are beautifully equipped and have a terrific bathroom in which you can take a shower outside (in complete privacy). The staff are very friendly and accommodating. the only (slight) blemish is the quality of the food which is perfectly adequate but not up to the standard one would expect from a hotel in this price range or of many of the restaurants in town

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamvong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, CT
Level Contributor
230 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2011

My husband and I spent two nights at Lao Spirit Resort in November and really enjoyed it. The resort is in the "middle of nowhere" which is just where we wanted to be! It was about a 40 minute trip from airport. The asphalt ended and then the rest of the way was down a bumpy, dusty dirt road that needs to be rebuilt each year after the rains. We were warmly welcomed by the manager and his wife. There are a lot of steps at this resort -- uphills and downhills to everything -- which was a bit hard on us older folks, considering my husband is in need of knee surgery shortly, but I felt in much better shape when leaving than when arriving! The grounds were beautiful. It was like heaven to sit on the veranda and smell the jasmine flowers. The view from the verandah of the Lao mountains (especially in the morning when the mist is rising off) and Nam Khan river were stunning. We stayed in bungalow #4. It was lovely teak wood, with Burmese style doors, mosquito net on bed, and lovely bathroom with outside shower. It was a bit chilly at night as windows are not screened in, but with the thick coverlets we were quite cozy. It being the dry season we had no issues with mosquitos. The meals were good, although for a longer visit, the menu selection could be a bit wider, with more Laotian food. The menu, while including some Laotian selections, tended towards Laotian/European selections. We requested that traditional Laotian music be played in the restaurant, as that is what we preferred to listen to rather than jazz. The staff were all very pleasant and went out of their way to be of service. I had two massages while I was there. The masseuse had excellent skills and the massages were great, ultimately very relaxing, but a bit painful at some points. You must have one. We took the boat ride upriver to the waterfalls, which were lovely, and also to a hill tribe village, which was very interesting and we had a lot of fun making friends with the villagers and taking photos. It was great to be out of the city, away from it all, and to see life in Asia the way that it used to be before getting so developed.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eramakri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austin
Level Contributor
48 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2011

Don't get me wrong, Luang Prabang is a great town to shop, eat good food, see interesting sights and scenery, and have a relaxing, good time for two or three days. It is, however, increasingly touristy, and it's difficult to feel like you're really in Lao. Many tour companies offer boat trips on the Nam Khan river to the elephant camp and waterfall, so visitors can experience some of the considerable natural beauty of Lao. But why not just stay at a place that's right in the midst of it? From Lao Spirit, you can walk to Elephant Village in ten minutes, or take a short boat ride to the falls. And when you're not doing that, you're in a lovely bungalow surrounded by a lush garden in a teak forest, with one of the most mystically beautiful views in the world.

The owners, Christine and Thomas, greeted us warmly on our arrival after our 30 minute drive from town. Our pleasantly rustic bungalow, #2, had a comfortable king-sized bed, and a large wardrobe, so we didn't have to live out of our suitcases. We loved the outdoor shower! The high wall surrounding it provided perfect privacy. Hot water wasn't limitless, but there was enough. We spent a lot of time on our front porch, taking in the view.

Three issues of concern when staying away from a town are generally 1) cleanliness 2) food and 3) boredom. We need not have worried about any of these. We personally watched the housekeepers wipe down every surface in the spotless room, even the windows, front porch, chairs, and railings. The food was very good, with excellent Thai-style curries, and a wonderful appetizer made from tissue-thin fried Mekong riverweed, served with a sweet, spicy chutney made with dried buffalo skin (which had a texture like gummy bears.) And there was plenty to do. One day we walked into an interesting small town nearby, and saw the most unusual painted wat. On another day we visited the elephant camp. We also had a massage. Although mine was excruciatingly painful, to the point of being humorous, the normal tension in my back and between my shoulders disappeared, and hasn't returned, to this day. There were plenty of other activities offered by Lao Spirit, but our stay was sadly only three nights.

The only problem about staying at Lao Spirit, which is not the fault of the owners, is the occasional noise pollution of boat motors taking tourists from LP up and down the river to visit the elephants and falls. So why contribute to that pollution....why not just stay at this beautiful place, and take it from there?

The best thing is that Luang Prabang is so easily accessible from Thailand. It's only a 30 minute plane ride from Chiang Mai, on Lao Airlines, and Lao visas are available on arrival. So on our next trip, we plan to be spirited away from the LP airport directly to Lao Spirit!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tripartist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
6.1 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#1 of 69 in Luang Prabang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
0.2 mi away
Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort
Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort
#1 of 1 in Ban Xieng Lom
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
6.5 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 69 in Luang Prabang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Luang Prabang View Hotel
Luang Prabang View Hotel
#21 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
6.1 mi away
Burasari Heritage
Burasari Heritage
#7 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
5.9 mi away
Kiridara
Kiridara
#11 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lao Spirit Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lao Spirit Resort

Property: Lao Spirit Resort
Address: Xieng Lom, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lao Spirit Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Resort is located 15 km outside of Luang Prabang city in beautiful jungle area. We offer 5 beautiful styled Bungalows with a large terrace and an appr. size of 45 square meters space. The bungalows are built in a traditional style from local craftsman and artists. Materials of wood, stone and an interior of antique furniture give each bungalow a unique atmosphere. There are no electric appliances like aircon and TV which may disturb the laid back atmosphere of the resort. Bathrooms with tub, open air shower and a big terrace facing the river offer peace and relaxation to the guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Lao Spirit Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lao Spirit Hotel Luang Prabang
Hotel Lao Spirit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing