We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Thatsaphone Guest House
Nearby Hotels
$107
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$130
$100
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Satri House(Luang Prabang)
$112
$93
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$188
$158
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$87
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kiridara Luang Prabang(Luang Prabang)
$241
$74
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Sen Boutique Hotel(Luang Prabang)
$93
$87
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$380
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$135
$82
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (70)
Filter reviews
70 results
Traveler rating
18
28
18
3
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
18
28
18
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main streetnight marketroyal palaceroom upstairsold quarterstayed here for nightsin townalleyguesthousesfridgenoisetvmountmekongwifilaundryasia
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
48 - 53 of 70 reviews
Reviewed September 20, 2010

I was able to walk off the street and secure a downstairs room for $US 15, but I wouldn't think this is usual. Problems were there was no window view, no TV remote, and no fridge - all provided at another nearby guesthouse I stayed at previously for the same rate. However, the bed linen was very clean and comfortable and the ensuite well-maintained. Internet access is available free via a computer in reception. The staff here are exceptionally welcoming and helpful, and I would say overall this place is a good value. The location is superb, in the heart of the old quarter.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jac002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2010

I stayed at Thatsaphone for 5 nights in early September 2010.

The guest house is well located in a quite Soi (no vehicle access except for motobikes) which goes to Chuomkong temple, 2 minutes walk from the main street (Sisavangvong Rd) and about 3 minutes to the Mekong Esplanade.

Rooms are economically priced ($20 for an upstairs room and $15 for a downstairs room). Upstairs has easy access to a balcony with some tables and chairs for relaxing but when I visit again I would probably stay in the cheaper downstairs rooms.

The only thing I thought that was lacking was that there is no fridge in the rooms.

Free wifi is available but is not high speed. Laundry is done on site and is very cheap.

The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and spoke good English.

For those wanting to contact the guesthouse the email address is tsp_villa@yahoo.com, phone number is 856-20-55671888. Emails were answered promptly.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yiiim2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2010

When we arrived in Luang Prabang, we stayed a night each at 2 other guesthouses (Muonglao @ $20 - good value, but a bit of a hike from the main drag) & 1 on Khem Khong on the Mekong stretch (forgotten its name) @ $16 - also good value but very poor layout bathroom-wise. We decided to lash out for a few days and settled on Thatsaphone - $30 for an upstairs room. The location's perfect - quiet but very central - just 50m.from the action on Sisavangvong. Our room spotless, with very elegant furniture, crisp linen and a comfortable( !) bed. The adjoining balcony is perfect for the evening G&T, overlooking the neighbouring beautiful & typical LP buildings - slightly decaying thatched or rusty gal iron roofs, woven bamboo or limewashed plaster walls with colourful shutters & nicely detailed teak timberwork. You get the picture. Thatsaphone's small garden's great for relaxing over the modest but perfectly adequate breakfast included in the room price. Free internet in the reception area and very competent and pleasant staff. However, the place does still seem to be suffering from the water supply problems described by other reviewers. Warm enough for a shower, but tends to cut out completely at inconvenient moments such as when you've got a whole headful of shampoo lather, resulting in an undignified, dripping but necessary wander downstairs to report the situation to Reception. Insignificant, though, when you look at what else you're getting. By the way, I'd go along with a previous contributor who suggested that you shouldn't panic if you don't have a hotel lined up before you hit town - even in peak season. Just find your way to Khem Khong (near Ounkham Road for example) and comb the waterfront and/or the backstreets & lanes up towards Sisavangvong. This is how we found Thatsaphone. The area is close to shops, restaurants & the Night Market, and there are dozens of accommodation possibilities in all price ranges. ( Don't think of it as being like tourist areas anywhere else. It's all very low-key and Lao.) You could probably leave your gear with one of the outdoor restaurants along the Mekong while you go hunting if you didn't want to lump it around with you.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Furlquists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2008

Best location in Luang Prabang, half block off main street and on same alley as my favorite temple in town. Get a room upstairs, preferably by outside staircase. Showers are not great but overall safe and pleasant experience. No frills, but fantastic value.

  • Stayed: December 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank LeMunro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2006

We stayed at Thatsaphone GH for 4 days in late November 2006, and would definitely stay again. It is bare bones, and no frills, but it is clean, cheap and run by an exceptionally friendly family.
The balcony is also a nice touch, as it overlooks the beautiful cobblestone street, and is very close to the Sisavangvong, the main drag.
I recall there being some warm water showers, but they don't last long!
Earplugs are essential, the roosters will rouse...

  • Stayed: November 2005, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Dalaguete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews