We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service and room with character”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Luang Prabang
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Thatsaphone Guest House
Ranked #110 of 261 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good service and room with character”
Reviewed February 23, 2011

The location of the guesthouse is right in the center of everything but it's on a small quiet street which keeps the noise out. We were in the room right next to the lobby and we heard no noise from outside.

The guesthouse has character. The rooms have great furniture and beds. The TV had many channels and we had a choice to use either a/c or fan. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We loved our stay here.

The rating is 4/5 because the bathroom could've been bigger and there were a some ants crawling around in our toileteries. Still, we looked at many guesthouses in LP and thought this was the best value.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jkjules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    26
    12
    3
    3
See reviews for
5
25
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2010

I was able to walk off the street and secure a downstairs room for $US 15, but I wouldn't think this is usual. Problems were there was no window view, no TV remote, and no fridge - all provided at another nearby guesthouse I stayed at previously for the same rate. However, the bed linen was very clean and comfortable and the ensuite well-maintained. Internet access is available free via a computer in reception. The staff here are exceptionally welcoming and helpful, and I would say overall this place is a good value. The location is superb, in the heart of the old quarter.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jac002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2010

I stayed at Thatsaphone for 5 nights in early September 2010.

The guest house is well located in a quite Soi (no vehicle access except for motobikes) which goes to Chuomkong temple, 2 minutes walk from the main street (Sisavangvong Rd) and about 3 minutes to the Mekong Esplanade.

Rooms are economically priced ($20 for an upstairs room and $15 for a downstairs room). Upstairs has easy access to a balcony with some tables and chairs for relaxing but when I visit again I would probably stay in the cheaper downstairs rooms.

The only thing I thought that was lacking was that there is no fridge in the rooms.

Free wifi is available but is not high speed. Laundry is done on site and is very cheap.

The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and spoke good English.

For those wanting to contact the guesthouse the email address is tsp_villa@yahoo.com, phone number is 856-20-55671888. Emails were answered promptly.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yiiim2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2010

When we arrived in Luang Prabang, we stayed a night each at 2 other guesthouses (Muonglao @ $20 - good value, but a bit of a hike from the main drag) & 1 on Khem Khong on the Mekong stretch (forgotten its name) @ $16 - also good value but very poor layout bathroom-wise. We decided to lash out for a few days and settled on Thatsaphone - $30 for an upstairs room. The location's perfect - quiet but very central - just 50m.from the action on Sisavangvong. Our room spotless, with very elegant furniture, crisp linen and a comfortable( !) bed. The adjoining balcony is perfect for the evening G&T, overlooking the neighbouring beautiful & typical LP buildings - slightly decaying thatched or rusty gal iron roofs, woven bamboo or limewashed plaster walls with colourful shutters & nicely detailed teak timberwork. You get the picture. Thatsaphone's small garden's great for relaxing over the modest but perfectly adequate breakfast included in the room price. Free internet in the reception area and very competent and pleasant staff. However, the place does still seem to be suffering from the water supply problems described by other reviewers. Warm enough for a shower, but tends to cut out completely at inconvenient moments such as when you've got a whole headful of shampoo lather, resulting in an undignified, dripping but necessary wander downstairs to report the situation to Reception. Insignificant, though, when you look at what else you're getting. By the way, I'd go along with a previous contributor who suggested that you shouldn't panic if you don't have a hotel lined up before you hit town - even in peak season. Just find your way to Khem Khong (near Ounkham Road for example) and comb the waterfront and/or the backstreets & lanes up towards Sisavangvong. This is how we found Thatsaphone. The area is close to shops, restaurants & the Night Market, and there are dozens of accommodation possibilities in all price ranges. ( Don't think of it as being like tourist areas anywhere else. It's all very low-key and Lao.) You could probably leave your gear with one of the outdoor restaurants along the Mekong while you go hunting if you didn't want to lump it around with you.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Furlquists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2008

Best location in Luang Prabang, half block off main street and on same alley as my favorite temple in town. Get a room upstairs, preferably by outside staircase. Showers are not great but overall safe and pleasant experience. No frills, but fantastic value.

  • Stayed December 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank LeMunro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2006

We stayed at Thatsaphone GH for 4 days in late November 2006, and would definitely stay again. It is bare bones, and no frills, but it is clean, cheap and run by an exceptionally friendly family.
The balcony is also a nice touch, as it overlooks the beautiful cobblestone street, and is very close to the Sisavangvong, the main drag.
I recall there being some warm water showers, but they don't last long!
Earplugs are essential, the roosters will rouse...

  • Liked — the friendly family, the clean room
  • Disliked — the beach towel that doubled as a sheet
  • Stayed November 2005, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dalaguete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2006

I travelled with my husband and our youngest child to Thailand, Singapore and Laos over New Year and throughout January 2006. It was our first visit to Laos, and very last minute so I knew from tripadvisor forums that accommodation could be limited. All we could get confirmed for Luang Prabaeng over the net prior to leaving home was the SAYNAMKHAN Guest House.
Saynamkhan promised triple deluxe rooom (at $55US per night) and airport transfers and appeared nicely located, (5 minutes to the main drag and across from the river) so we booked and paid and received confirmation prior to departing Australia from the LP hotels.com agency. However, our reservation was never received by the hotel itself and we rocked up late afternoon after waiting for someone to collect us from the Airport (didn't happen) only to find they had no triple rooms in the place, but eventually they put a mattress on the floor in a room with a double bed. The room was dark; the lights were poor; the TV didn't work - but they were enormously proud to have hot water over a bath-tub, and the room was warm. We had an early start to our full-day trek, so the noise of crowing roosters early the next morning wasn't a problem. However, after the second night of crowing, we investigated and found that directly opposite us, on the footpath above the river they kept about 20 caged roosters - hence the constant noise from first glint of light!!! That day we found alternative accommodation; they offered no reduction in price. We moved on to THATSAPHONE GUEST HOUSE (Ban Choumkhong) which is down a quiet street in the centre, close to the bank, restaurants, museum, temples and night market.
Although THATSAPHONE doesn't boast hot water, it did offer a very clean room at $10US a night !! After 2 nights of having no space, we could afford to take two rooms ! Sure, we had no TV, but we didn't travel all that way to watch a box and it was beautifully appointed in one of the prettiest streets. Despite being mid-winter there, the days are still warm so the cold shower wasn't a problem. Luang Prabaeng is changing so fast there seems to be building activity in every street and guesthouses coming on line all the time, so my advice to travellers would be "WING IT". There's a sufficient number of up-market hotels, and a huge number of guesthouses which don't appear on any website - the internet is very new to the area, so don't be afraid to arrive and then find something. I'd suggest anywhere in an off-street near the night market because the lighting is good and the side-streets are all being re-surfaced, and all the tour companies are right there for you, as are bikes to hire. In a town with as many buddhist monks and temples as LP, you will always be within earshot of chanting which is rythmic and soothing - it sure beats roosters crowing ! You will always find somewhere to lay your head - and you needn't pay $55 a room (neither guesthouse had a restaurant - why bother when there are so many dotted every few metres near the main strip!) We found the best meal was at the bar-b-q restaurant down by the Mekong; you can eat and drink for 3 of us it cost less than 10AUD for our own bar-b-q steam-boat of buffalo and vegies and a few bottles of Beer Lao.

Helpful?
15 Thank ceeceesteele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.0 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 69 in Luang Prabang
753 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#2 of 69 in Luang Prabang
805 reviews
0.0 mi away
Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort
Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort
#1 of 1 in Ban Xieng Lom
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
#6 of 69 in Luang Prabang
781 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#17 of 69 in Luang Prabang
264 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
#14 of 69 in Luang Prabang
875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thatsaphone Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thatsaphone Guest House

Property: Thatsaphone Guest House
Address: Main Street, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 261 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Thatsaphone Guest House Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing