We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid this place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Luang Prabang Bakery Guesthouse
Ranked #172 of 271 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 30, 2009

The owner of this guesthouse/bakery verbally abused me and my partner after we tried to use their power outlets to plug in our laptop to use their "free" wifi. Avoid this place at all costs. The rooms are unlean, the staff is unhelpful, and a better option is the Sakarinh guest house across the street. We moved there after our stay here.

Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank tug99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (55)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 55 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2009

We stayed in two different rooms. The room to the back was not clean when we arrived. The balcony to the back faces a backyard full of trash. You smell the kitchen from the restaurant all day and evening. At the time we were there a construction site next door was really noisy.
The room to the front is very small, the fridge is the table, the shower is above the toilet and there is no space for the luggage.
The breakfast consists is one (!) cup of coffee or tea (they charge for another one) and a baguette which seems to be the leftover from the day before. A very small package of butter and jam is provided.
The staff is not helpful, not friendly, not caring and really arrogant. Carry your luggage by yourself to the room, shout to get the breakfast and don’t expect the owner to greet you.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GaryMuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2008

I was surprised to see the mixed reviews for this guest house. I stayed in room 3 with my boyfriend and loved it. A little luxury at $35 USD a night was just what i needed after 2 days on the boat from huay xai. The room was really clean, great bed, cupboard space, balcony with views. Breakfast was excellent. We were there for 6 nights all up and it was the best place i've stayed all trip. The staff were great too - they helped us book accommodation in Phonsavan.
I would definetely recommend staying here :)

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mir222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2007

The room we stayed in for a few nights was rather small, had a lot of closet space, tv, minibar, a balcony (shared with room next door) with view on back of the place and visited by cute little cats.
The room and the bathroom were not really clean; dust, hairs, thingies ...
On the first night, when we wanted to get into bed, we discovered that the sheets were not clean. The next day, and the day after that, we got towels that were not clean either. When we asked for new sheets and towels, we just got new ones and the only apology we got from the lady of the house was that the staff sometimes gets busy. The lady owner doesn't appear to do much more than counting money, bossing around and calling after her two little fluffy dogs who are quit annoying as they run everywhere with their little bells around their neck and who sometimes leave a 'surprise' downstairs. So watch were you going bare foot as you have to take shoes off in the guesthouse area.
The restaurant and food is ok, busy every day & night, but - like the rooms - overpriced. Sweet staff in the restaurant. Irritating staff of guesthouse as they would ask us a couple of times per day when we would check out because they had new bookings.
Would not recommend the place, only if there's no other place to go to, like we had for a couple of days.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Crumpler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2007

The Luang Prabang Bakery GH is right next to the Phusi hill and across the road from the Old Royal Palace and Museum. The 5 small guest rooms are beautiful with nice wood furniture. The front 3 are best as they have a balcony. At $35 for B+B it's good value.

The small lobby and restaurant is very cosy and attractive; with dark wood furniture and an impressive water feature in the restaurant . It has the best food and cakes in town; which one of the reasons why I chose it. The American breakfasts were good; but I usually wanted extras. The banana pancakes are huge, and the cakes and pastries delicious.

The lady owner and staff were very friendly and helpful. My only criticism was that the reception staff tended to pounce on me asking for the room key every time I walked out to the lobby; including when I was eating in the Restaurant . I know the key fobs were expensive, but I found this irritating an unnecessary.

Other than that minor criticism; I felt totally at home here. I only intended to stay here 2 to3 nights; but ended up staying twice as long as I liked the place so much.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank peaceofangkor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2007

The rooms in this guesthouse were clean & nicely decorated and the location is quite good also, though it can be noisy if you are staying in a room facing the front. Our main problem with the guesthouse was the staff. On our first night the air con was dripping water so we had to change to another room. The next night there was no water in the guesthouse at all as they had turned it off for maintenance purposes. They didn't bother to inform us of this however. The worst thing though was on our last night, the woman on reception had a screaming match with some American over the phone. We could hear her voice over the television which we turned on only to drown out the noise. It was so inappropriate, she was cursing and threatening his parents, saying she didn't care if everyone heard and that she hated americans. We weren't American but I get the feeling it wouldn't have mattered if we had been. She had a blatant disregard for the fact that we staying there as paying guests and continued to shout even when we were passing her by. This continued for about an hour. Overall the guesthouse is fine but don't expect to be treated with respect by some of the staff.

Stayed: May 2007
7  Thank eoinpol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2006

Feb 06. Stayed 2 nights and then returned for another 3. Had a room 3 for the first stay at the front which opened out onto a balcony over the street. Room 4 on our second stay which opened onto a balcony over the rear yard. (Not as nice.) The rooms themselves were much the same in size and facilities. A/C was good. Standard Laos HWS. Clean and comfortable with statelite TV. Breakfast included and staff very helpfull. Enjoyed our stay and would stay again. They are very busy so suggest you book early if you choose this place. Well located to everything. Recommended.

8  Thank Zott58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0 mi away
Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort
Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort
#1 of 1 in Ban Xieng Lom
252 reviews
0 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#3 of 71 in Luang Prabang
857 reviews
0 mi away
Luang Prabang View Hotel
Luang Prabang View Hotel
#19 of 71 in Luang Prabang
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#20 of 71 in Luang Prabang
291 reviews
0 mi away
Villa Maly Boutique Hotel
Villa Maly Boutique Hotel
#10 of 71 in Luang Prabang
881 reviews
0 mi away
Villa Meuang Lao
Villa Meuang Lao
#34 of 71 in Luang Prabang
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luang Prabang Bakery Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luang Prabang Bakery Guesthouse

Address: Sisavangvong Road | Ban Chamkong, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Hotel Style:
Ranked #172 of 271 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range: $55 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing