We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Luang Prabang Bakery Guesthouse
Nearby Hotels
Thongbay Guesthouse(Luang Prabang)
$45
$43
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Bougainvillier(Luang Prabang)
$45
$42
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Le Sen Boutique Hotel(Luang Prabang)
$98
$92
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$130
$101
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Golden Lotus Place(Luang Prabang)
$31
$27
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$33
$25
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$86
$83
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $95/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Satri House(Luang Prabang)
$136
$116
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$298
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Belmond La Residence Phou Vao(Luang Prabang)
$410
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (58)
Filter reviews
58 results
Traveler rating
10
18
14
5
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
10
18
14
5
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbaguettenight marketcentral locationthe main streettwo nightsbalcony
Filter
Updating list...
47 - 52 of 58 reviews
Reviewed November 15, 2007

The room we stayed in for a few nights was rather small, had a lot of closet space, tv, minibar, a balcony (shared with room next door) with view on back of the place and visited by cute little cats.
The room and the bathroom were not really clean; dust, hairs, thingies ...
On the first night, when we wanted to get into bed, we discovered that the sheets were not clean. The next day, and the day after that, we got towels that were not clean either. When we asked for new sheets and towels, we just got new ones and the only apology we got from the lady of the house was that the staff sometimes gets busy. The lady owner doesn't appear to do much more than counting money, bossing around and calling after her two little fluffy dogs who are quit annoying as they run everywhere with their little bells around their neck and who sometimes leave a 'surprise' downstairs. So watch were you going bare foot as you have to take shoes off in the guesthouse area.
The restaurant and food is ok, busy every day & night, but - like the rooms - overpriced. Sweet staff in the restaurant. Irritating staff of guesthouse as they would ask us a couple of times per day when we would check out because they had new bookings.
Would not recommend the place, only if there's no other place to go to, like we had for a couple of days.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Crumpler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2007

The Luang Prabang Bakery GH is right next to the Phusi hill and across the road from the Old Royal Palace and Museum. The 5 small guest rooms are beautiful with nice wood furniture. The front 3 are best as they have a balcony. At $35 for B+B it's good value.

The small lobby and restaurant is very cosy and attractive; with dark wood furniture and an impressive water feature in the restaurant . It has the best food and cakes in town; which one of the reasons why I chose it. The American breakfasts were good; but I usually wanted extras. The banana pancakes are huge, and the cakes and pastries delicious.

The lady owner and staff were very friendly and helpful. My only criticism was that the reception staff tended to pounce on me asking for the room key every time I walked out to the lobby; including when I was eating in the Restaurant . I know the key fobs were expensive, but I found this irritating an unnecessary.

Other than that minor criticism; I felt totally at home here. I only intended to stay here 2 to3 nights; but ended up staying twice as long as I liked the place so much.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank peaceofangkor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2007

The rooms in this guesthouse were clean & nicely decorated and the location is quite good also, though it can be noisy if you are staying in a room facing the front. Our main problem with the guesthouse was the staff. On our first night the air con was dripping water so we had to change to another room. The next night there was no water in the guesthouse at all as they had turned it off for maintenance purposes. They didn't bother to inform us of this however. The worst thing though was on our last night, the woman on reception had a screaming match with some American over the phone. We could hear her voice over the television which we turned on only to drown out the noise. It was so inappropriate, she was cursing and threatening his parents, saying she didn't care if everyone heard and that she hated americans. We weren't American but I get the feeling it wouldn't have mattered if we had been. She had a blatant disregard for the fact that we staying there as paying guests and continued to shout even when we were passing her by. This continued for about an hour. Overall the guesthouse is fine but don't expect to be treated with respect by some of the staff.

Stayed: May 2007
7  Thank eoinpol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2006

Feb 06. Stayed 2 nights and then returned for another 3. Had a room 3 for the first stay at the front which opened out onto a balcony over the street. Room 4 on our second stay which opened onto a balcony over the rear yard. (Not as nice.) The rooms themselves were much the same in size and facilities. A/C was good. Standard Laos HWS. Clean and comfortable with statelite TV. Breakfast included and staff very helpfull. Enjoyed our stay and would stay again. They are very busy so suggest you book early if you choose this place. Well located to everything. Recommended.

8  Thank Zott58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2016, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews