We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit of a disappointment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sanakeo Boutique & Spa LuangPrabang
Ranked #29 of 71 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Reviewed March 6, 2012

We spent 6 days in Luang Prabang and we were quite pleased to be leaving the hotel.Don't get me wrong the room was clean,the air conditioner worked though a bit noisy,the shower had a mind of its own would have cold water for one person then have scorching water for the next.If you were taller than six foot you would be in trouble as your head would touch the ceiling while in the shower.After a busy day sometimes you would like to relax and watch TV but there was a problem there as they had 1 channel that had english speaking the rest were Thai and Lao.The breakfast was the worst,so we skipped it eveyday. The staff were not the most friendliest they made you feel like you were not important.

Room Tip: They did have rooms with verandahs not sure if the rooms are all the same but be prepared for the cr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mspitstop63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (87)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 87 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2007

We had to stay in Luang Prabang for business, although my spouse came along for the tourism. The hotel is a little ways out of the town center, but easy to get into town (walk in the cool morning - very enjoyable; or take a tuk-tuk).

Some rooms have balconies, but we didn't get one. We didn't in fact even have a window, so if you are pre-booking or when you arrive ask for a window or balcony. Other members in our group did get windows and balconies, and as we were a large group we probably filled the hotel. There's so much to do in LP that this didn't matter - we only went to the room to sleep.

Our room was very pleasant. Wooden floors. Basic bathroom, but it worked fine. Standard fittings, including minibar, but no safe or security box in the room. Air conditioning.

Breakfast was basic. Juice, choice of eggs, delicious baguettes (thank you, French colonists!), fruit of the day on the table (only one type, but it changed each day). Excellent tea and the worse coffee I've had for a long time.

Lots of stores in close walking distance. Local stores just down the street. I think I saw a pharmacy as well. Convenience store across the street with good prices on beer, snacks, water and basic pharmaceuticals. Nice restaurant next door (we had our business meetings there). Go for a meal or go for a beer. Bank about 15 minute walk away with good opening hours.

If you want to get away from the tourists (and I really wanted to in Luang Prabang) this is a nice small hotel.

Stayed: February 2007
6  Thank old-jogger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bbjmnrv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul_SanakeoBoutique, General Manager at Sanakeo Boutique & Spa LuangPrabang, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, traveled with family
Thank cecile m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul_SanakeoBoutique, General Manager at Sanakeo Boutique & Spa LuangPrabang, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Rafał R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul_SanakeoBoutique, General Manager at Sanakeo Boutique & Spa LuangPrabang, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nageuse1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul_SanakeoBoutique, General Manager at Sanakeo Boutique & Spa LuangPrabang, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
Thank jose manuel v v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul_SanakeoBoutique, General Manager at Sanakeo Boutique & Spa LuangPrabang, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.1 mi away
Sada Hotel
Sada Hotel
#38 of 71 in Luang Prabang
107 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lakhangthong Boutique Hotel
Lakhangthong Boutique Hotel
#24 of 71 in Luang Prabang
314 reviews
6.5 mi away
Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort
Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort
#1 of 1 in Ban Xieng Lom
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Parasol Blanc
Parasol Blanc
#11 of 71 in Luang Prabang
96 reviews
1.2 mi away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#19 of 71 in Luang Prabang
291 reviews
0 mi away
Xishuangbanna Hotel
Xishuangbanna Hotel
#62 of 71 in Luang Prabang
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanakeo Boutique & Spa LuangPrabang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanakeo Boutique & Spa LuangPrabang

Address: Phu Vao Road | Ban Pong Kham, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Phone Number:
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 71 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Price Range: $63 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sanakeo Boutique & Spa LuangPrabang 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish Sanakeo Boutique Hotel & Spa reflects the elegance of enchanting Luang Prabang. From the moment you step into our reception area, modern decor boasting subtle Laotian charm will transport you to a time of luxury and indulgence . Our facilities offer the opportunity to relax and revive following a busy day of sight-seeing in and around our UNESCO world heritage listed town Enjoy a soothing massage. Pamper yourself with a revitilising spa treatment in our health spa santuary. For the more energetic, we provide a fitness centre and complimentary bicycles for you to explore the local surrounds. Stretch those muscles in our yoga relaxation booth. Take in the early morning fragrance of the lemon grass-topped walls. Marvel at the lotus flowers as they open to welcome another day while you stroll to the pool and activities area . Witness a birds eye view of the ancient Tak Bat alms giving ceremony from the comfort of our restaurant balcony, or from our doorstep, as over 100 monks make their way past the hotel each morning. ​ Let your taste buds be tantalised with our authentic Luang Prabang cuisine, or international dishes. Start your day with our buffet breakfast, showcasing many local delicacies sourced from the local region. Allow our staff to arrange your tours to explore and discover the local landmarks, including the humbling Pak Ou Cave filled with countless Buddha icons, the majestic Kwangsi Waterfalls, and many other attractions. Take a sunset cruise on the legendary Mekong River. All this and much much more when you allow Sanakeo Boutique Hotel & Spa welcome you to magical mystical Luang Prabang ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Sanakeo Boutique & Spa LuangPrabang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing