We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blue Beautiful Fall”
Review of Kuang Si Falls

Kuang Si Falls
Book In Advance
More Info
$83.00*
and up
Full-Day Luang Prabang Highlights Tour Including Kuangsi Waterfall
More Info
$56.00*
and up
Full-Day Tour Including Jungle Trek to Kuang Si Waterfall
More Info
$63.00*
and up
Private Tour: Kuang Si Waterfall from Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Blue Beautiful Fall”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

It is one of the popular spot in LP. It is not far from LP city, only around 36 Km. There are many floors of falls. It looked very beautiful. Water were clean and clear. When the water were under sunlight, it looked gorgeous.

The entrance fee were 20000 kip

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank jum_ruji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,480 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,232
    1,905
    298
    35
    10
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Well maintained waterfall park.”
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Quite a trip to go there, about 45 min on a little truck, little cold on a February morning but still a little adventure.
The waterfall park very well maintained indeed, no garbage or anything around. Nice walk along the "fall", there is also "free the bears" within the area , and they take care of a lot of bears
right there. Well worth a visit!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank iceflower136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nether Heyford
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Wonderous”
Reviewed February 22, 2014

My wife and I had hired a scooter to make the easy 25km journey, the waterfall is well sign posted and the roads good. You also pass through some villages and over 3 bridges which offer great photo opportunities enroute.

Once at the waterfall, firstly we walked passed the bear rescue centre, good cause and good facilities.

Then off up the hill to the various sections of the waterfall, the mid point is where you see the full majestic view, a small bridge / walkway allows for great photos.

Now we also took the steep climb up to the top, which offers the vista views of the countryside beyond. Our only recommendation is DONT take the right hand side way up! which is the sign posted route but go up and back down the left hand side! it's far easier.

Either route is not easy and the right footwear is advisable. Our Crocs just didn't hack it.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Nigel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lund
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A must visit”
Reviewed February 22, 2014

One of the best attractions close to Luang Prabang, specially on weekdays when it is not to crowded. Can be visited all year. Rent a motorcycle and go.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank swede02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tetbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
297 reviews
169 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
“Third time lucky!”
Reviewed February 22, 2014

On two previous visits to Luang Prabang we somehow never managed to find time to visit the falls, so we were pleased that we finally got around to it on our third visit. We left LP after lunch in order to arrive at the falls just before three, so that we could see them in afternoon light and get back to LP before dark (sunset about quarter to six).

We hired a sawngthaew for the two of us at a cost of $20, having bartered down from $30. (The vehicles based on a motorcycle can't manage the hills; you need to find one with a van cab). The hour's journey itself is fun, through villages, past water buffaloes in the fields, with views of distant hills, On arrival at the falls there are plenty of souvenir vendors and snack stalls. The Asian bear sanctuary is on the right shortly after the entrance and we had good views of several bears (they go into their night time enclosure about four, with a lot of very noisy protests). You can donate to their upkeep here, which we did.

The falls themselves are a reasonably steep climb but not excessive for older or less mobile visitors. The colour of the water is a surprising and beautiful turquoise - some of the pools can get quite crowded but it's fun to watch more intrepid swimmers swinging out on a rope and diving in. At the top are some quite large falls which cascade down cliffs and, given that we went at the end of January (dry season) we were quite impressed by the amount of water.

A really good half-day out, or a whole day if you take a picnic - some locals had taken cards, crates of beer, and picnic mats with them. Perhaps we'll do that too next time ...

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank j1954g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kuang Si Falls also viewed

Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Ban Xieng Lom, Luang Prabang
 

Been to Kuang Si Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing