We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Breathtaking waterfalls”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kuang Si Falls

Kuang Si Falls
Book In Advance
More Info
$83.00*
and up
Full-Day Luang Prabang Highlights Tour Including Kuangsi Waterfall
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Burleigh Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Breathtaking waterfalls”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

We paid 30000 to get there by mini van, by far a much better alternative to the tuk tuks as the roads can get quite dusty, and the price if negotiated can be the same if not cheaper(our friends paid 40000 each to get a tuk tuk. I would reccomend walking all the way to the highest and biggest waterfall first then work your way back down. We spent too much time at the lower falls not knowing there was more too see and we quickly ran out of time.
Theres a rope swing which is safe(provided your not a totally idiot) and fun. If you do loose something ie a camera, ask one of the locals to fish it out for you. They generally do this for a small fee 40,000($5) well worth it for most cameras, watches and jewellery.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Mattt0210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,090 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,936
    1,833
    280
    31
    10
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
237 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Natural beauty despite the tourism”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

The slow walk up to the falls through a series of turquoise lakes
The bear nature reserve
The lunch in front of the falls, so romantic
The drive from Luang Prebang trough lovely scenery

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Despite a dislocated finger, we'd return!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

It's well worth a trip to this waterfall! We took a tuk tuk from our hotel and just the ride to the waterfall is worth it. You pass through beautiful countryside and up into the hills. The water is really as blue as it is in pictures. Once there, you pass by the bears (strange, but... I guess interesting if you have never seen a bear) and then there is a easy walk to the waterfall. You can buy food just before you start your walk and lots of little food stalls or there is a restaurant along the walk to the waterfall. My husband dislocated his finger jumping off the rope swing and we had quite an adventure getting him medical attention (the hill tribe clinics couldn't help, so the paid a visit to the hospital in Luang Prabang). This is a beautiful place!!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank MominBoulder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipperary, Ireland
Level Contributor
88 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Swimming at a waterfall!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

GORGEOUS! This was amazing, swimming in the crystal blue waters of the Kuang Si waterfalls. Got some great photos too

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
157 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“This is a must-see attraction in the right season”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

The first time I visited was in April when there was very little water so the fall was so tiny. This time I visited in January and the fall was spectacular. Just a short walk from the gate. What I like most was the three connected emerald pools (not the fall).

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank asdaSap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kuang Si Falls also viewed

Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 

Been to Kuang Si Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing