We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crowds but still a visual delight”
Review of Kuang Si Falls

Kuang Si Falls
Book In Advance
More Info
$83.00*
and up
Full-Day Luang Prabang Highlights Tour Including Kuangsi Waterfall
More Info
$56.00*
and up
Full-Day Tour Including Jungle Trek to Kuang Si Waterfall
More Info
$63.00*
and up
Private Tour: Kuang Si Waterfall from Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
94 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Crowds but still a visual delight”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

The waterfalls and colours are a photographer's delight.
It is also a great refreshing break from the heat.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Erik B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,470 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,225
    1,903
    297
    35
    10
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Spectacular”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Done this trip via our hotel, My Dream Boutique Resort. Cost was $30. Could have got cheaper but didn't have time to shop around as we were only in Luang Prabang for 2 days.
The falls themselves are impressive and we walked round them taking the right hand side to the top and down the left side.
The bear sanctuary is fascinating and seeing what they do to help the bears.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank elaaug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
95 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Amazing blue water pools and cute bears: what's not to like?”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

My wife and I went on a half-day minibus tour from Luang Prabang to the Kuang Si Falls. When we arrived our driver asked each of us for 20,000 Kip entrance fee, which was not included in the price of the tour. Once inside the first thing we came to was a large enclosure containing many Asian black bears. This was a Bear Rescue Centre where orphaned bears are raised. The bears looked in good condition and were either lounging around in straw hammocks or play fighting with one another: they seemed to be happy with their lot in life. Then we began walking up towards the main waterfall. On the way we passed close to a dozen large blue-water pools in a descending row that were fed by the water from the falls. People were swimming in some of the lower pools and swinging on a vine before dropping into the water at one of the pools. We walked onto a wooden bridge that spanned the uppermost pool and provided a view of the large waterfall. Even though we were in the dry season there was plenty of water coming down the falls. We then decided to climb up a steep path beside the falls to see if we could get a view from the top of the falls. It was a steep climb and then we had to wade through a stream to get close to the top of the falls. We couldn't see much of the falls themselves from there but the view was great. Then we found the path down the other side of the falls, bought a cold drink and our time at the falls was over. We could easily have spent more time there, especially if we'd wanted to swim and climb the falls, but we only had two hours on the tour and everyone else was already on the minibus by the time we got back. Overall it was a great afternoon out.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Donald R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Spectacular blue”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

I loved these terraced pools and the colour of the water was gorgeous. Many people were taking the opportunity to swim in some of the pools and I did too. The grounds were tidy with picnic tables, seats and change facilities available. The falls are also the site of the Bear Rescue Centre where visitors can see different bears relaxing in a a natural setting and, if they arrive at the right time, can see the bears being fed. Unlike much of Laos, the centre has information about the different types of bears and the individual stories of some of the bears at the centre. I hope they can continue their work freeing bears from captivity.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Mausy35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“beautiful and worth a visit”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

This was very busy but the waterfalls are beautiful. Lovely coloured water in the lower pools which you can swim in and a great looking fall at the top. worth wearing "sensible" shoes or barefoot for this bit. The paths and sites generally are well maintained and easy to access different areas. Rescue centre for bears at the bottom and worth checking feeding times if you can as we got s good look at the bears foraging for food. I think we got there about midday. There are plenty of places for a quick bite or drink by entrance and where the Tuk/tuk Jumbos drop people off. Worth sharing or going as a group as one set price for transport with extra 20,000 kips for admission.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank bluem5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kuang Si Falls also viewed

Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Ban Xieng Lom, Luang Prabang
 

Been to Kuang Si Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing