We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth visiting” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kuang Si Falls

Kuang Si Falls
Book In Advance
More Info
$83.00*
and up
Full-Day Luang Prabang Highlights Tour Including Kuangsi Waterfall
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Worth visiting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

Waterfall and pools were a great place to relax and cool off.
Consider wearing footwear in the water to avoid rough stones in some pools... Great photo oppportunities here!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Shelley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,926 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,807
    1,802
    275
    31
    11
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very beautifil but too touristic”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

Breathtaking if you can leave out all of your fellow tourists. Like with the Taj Mahal, I could not really enjoy it due to the amount of tourists around you.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank David19051981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Amazing waterfall”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

This is where desktop screensaver images come from. This is a magical waterfall that is a must-see in Luang Prabang. It is located about 30km from town and we booked transportation booked through the White Elephant for 50,000 kip (about $6.25 USD). This gave us two hours at the waterfall which is the minimum I would recommend.

We climbed to the top of the waterfall which is a good hike but a little slippery and it's neat to see the slow moving river coming through the forest before it plunges over the edge but I would generally recommend skipping the hike and enjoying more time admiring the waterfall and swimming.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
180 reviews
78 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Early bird catches the worm!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

We hired a scooter from our hotel (sengphet GH) for 90,000 kip and cycled up early doors. It's well marked on the road and took us just under an hour going at 24mph. We were offered a tuk tuk for 200,000kip return. There are lots of stalls for food and crafts on the way up and a 20,000 kip entry fee and 2,000 kip topark your bike.
It's actually quite chilly for the falls are well enclosed in Forrest. We walked up to the top which I wouldn't really recommend unless you like a step climb and lots of mud as there isn't a view to reward your efforts! coming down was a bit of a trauma sliding on my bum!
The water for swimming is a murky blue and though the views are cute of the falls it's actually quite chilly. By midday you will have anaudience of 30 watching. The public toilets are a real disgrace considering they get over 1000 visitors a day. By the time we left at 1.30 the place was hoaching with people.

In honesty though it is undoubtedly beautiful I would suggest a trip to the tad thong falls which don't have the drama of the falls but is has tranquility where you can swim inthe sun by yourself.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank misspickle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
166 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Beautiful falls”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Very scenic falls bout spoilt by litter on the walk up. The public toilets disgusting but then that's common anywhere unfortunately. The Sun Bear sanctuary on the way to the falls a little disappointing, fairly small enclosure but at least they're not milked for bile.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rudi888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kuang Si Falls also viewed

Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 

Been to Kuang Si Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing