We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“River View”
Review of Sala Prabang

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sala Prabang
Ranked #31 of 69 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“River View”
Reviewed January 31, 2010

We stayed at the Sala Prabang for 8 nights. We arranged for pick up/drop off from/to the airport and we were met by a van and dropped off by a tuk tuk. (class and no class). The room and bath were clean and we had a huge bed and a river view. However, we were placed in their annex, down the street from the main hotel, and thus were apart from the restaurant and other guests. Perhaps an advantage? There was free internet for guests but, alas, no wifi and no access to many internet sites. Breakfast was included and western and asian foods were available, however, the western "egg and bacon" became tiring after just a few days. We enjoyed the hotel and our stay but felt that similar accommodations in the town were more reasonably priced. However, we would probably stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bumihills2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    116
    42
    15
    11
See reviews for
24
101
31
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2010

We stayed in the Ban Lao portion of Sala Prabang. I think the mixed reviews have a bit to do with which bit you stay in. Also, you should not expect a hotel rather an upmarket guest house. The rooms are stylish, comfortable and clean. All the facilities work well. It would be nice to have more storage such as a chest of drawers or a wardrobe. It is hard to live out of your suit case for four days as we did. The breakfast by the Mekong is a real highlight and the staff were very helpful and attentive. The location is hard to beat. Close to all the main attractions and next to the Mekong. All in all we thought that it was excellent value and a good place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JandJAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2010

We spent three enjoyable nights at the Sala Prabang. Our room was located on the second floor of the cottage. The hotel was clean and the room simple, but spacious. Firm, but comfortable bed. Very hot shower with good water pressure. Shampoo, lotion, soap provided. Plenty of space in the bathroom for toiletries.

There was one average size floor to ceiling window that overlooked the building next door, so there was no view and minimal light came into the room. There was also a small skylight in the bathroom. The room didn't have a TV or phone and it could have used a bit more light in the evening. There was also almost no place to store clothes (there was a tiny "closet" with a few hangers and we used the small sofa for our other clothes). Be careful if you're tall, as the bathroom had a slanted roof and someone over 5'10 would need to watch their head when using the toilet.

There is a computer in the lobby with free internet access, as well as a network cable to plug into your own laptop. Wireless would have been nice. The breakfast was served across the street right on the bank of the Mekong. It's served outside, so bring a sweater and pants for the cool, misty mornings! The breakfast was excellent. Made to order eggs, cereal, breads, soup of the day, juice, and a different "entree" every day (fried noodles, outstanding spring rolls, etc.).

Staff was friendly and can arrange reasonably priced transport to the airport. Location was wonderful -- a short walk to everything in Luang Prabang.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2010

We stayed for 4 nights at the Sala Prabang Hotel. The first 2 nights we stayed upstairs in the Villa (main building). The room was very nice, clean, cozy, and we had a small balcony. The breakfast included in the room price is delicious! The 2nd night we stayed in the Issada building on another street. The rooms were nice, but a nasty sewer smell filled our bathroom all night. I would advise to stay upstairs if you stay in the Issada building. The last night we stayed in the Lattana room upstairs. It was very nice and we had a window that looked out onto the street and over the river.
Overall, I think the architecture is very nice, the service is excellent, and Luang Prabang is an amazing town. The hotel is a bit pricy, but I think it was worth it!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeliTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luang Prabang, Laos
Level 6 Contributor
347 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2009

We found this hotel to be beautifully simple, elegant, and clean, and we were well looked after. We had one lunch there which was fine, and daily breakfast was very good with selections and both Asian and Continental food, lots of fruit which changed daily. The location is superb - right near key temples (check out those along the alley running just behind the hotel), on the river, near main shops and the best restaurants such as Le 3 Nagas. Hard to beat for the price.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ditchnapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2009

I spent two nights at Sala Prabang on vacation in Luang Prabang. The rooms were spacious, quiet, and clean. However, they could have used an update, with old paint on the walls, with occasional chips missing.

While the rooms were more than adequate, I felt that they weren't a good value. After having visited 6 different hotels in Vietnam and Laos in a similar price range over the last two weeks, this one was the worst value for money. For example, this was the only hotel that did not have wi-fi. The internet machine in the hotel was extremelu slow. I finally gave up and went to the internet cafe around the corner. Breakfasts were adequate, but nothing to get excited about. The variety was the worst I saw at hotels at that price point.

Bottom line, the hotel is fine, but not a great value. However, in fairness, I'm not sure there are any great values for accomondation in Luang Prabang.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alki_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2009

I don't have much to say about this hotel, so I'll be brief.

We paid $65 a night for a double and for that amont of money in Laos I expected a lot more. The staff are inefficient, but friendly...took forever to check in and they had trouble organising airline tickets. They offered a tour to the Kuang Si waterfall, but the price they quoted was outrageous... I expect a hotel to slightly inflate the price, but after checking with a tour operator we found that they were doubling the price.

The rooms didn't offer anything special...no TV (I don't go on holiday to watch TV, but it is a nice to have) and no fridge. Breakfast was buffet, but very basic and they charged me extra for making my own espresso on the machine!?

In short, I think you could get better for $65 a night...we settled for this last minute, knowing the concerns of some reviewers and I have to agree with the majority > OVERPRICED.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheHunterTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.4 mi away
Indigo House
Indigo House
#18 of 69 in Luang Prabang
370 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
#14 of 69 in Luang Prabang
881 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lan Kham Riverside
Lan Kham Riverside
#35 of 69 in Luang Prabang
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#17 of 69 in Luang Prabang
266 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lakhangthong Boutique Hotel
Lakhangthong Boutique Hotel
#20 of 69 in Luang Prabang
304 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sanctuary Luang Prabang Hotel
Sanctuary Luang Prabang Hotel
#13 of 69 in Luang Prabang
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sala Prabang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sala Prabang

Property: Sala Prabang
Address: 81/1 Ounkham Road, Ban Xieng Mouane, Luang Prabang, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 69 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sala Prabang 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Sala Prabang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sala Prabang Hotel Luang Prabang
Sala Prabang Luang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing