We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sala Prabang
Nearby Hotels
Satri House(Luang Prabang)
$136
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$57
$49
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kiridara Luang Prabang(Luang Prabang)
$99
$84
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Sen Boutique Hotel(Luang Prabang)
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$298
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Belmond La Residence Phou Vao(Luang Prabang)
$407
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (270)
Filter reviews
270 results
Traveler rating
77
120
47
15
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
77
120
47
15
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmain buildingmekong riverdifferent buildingsbreakfast is servedban laohotel consistsnight marketstreet noisewalking distance to everythinglarge bedegg stationexcellent locationlight sleeperfew minutes walkmini fridgeboutique hotellovely room
Filter
Updating list...
182 - 187 of 270 reviews
Reviewed September 2, 2008

For the money you'll pay, there isn't a better choice in town. Clean and with excellent attention from the personnel you'll enjoy your stay at Lang Prabang. Facing the Mekong river you've a centered location to all the activities, shopping and restaurants. The breakfast is included on the price but not to die for. Rooms very clean and the beds are excellent. Wooded and very clean floors.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank weston2537
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2008

If you're expecting 5-star chain hotels don't visit Luang Prabang. The hotels there are housed in beautiful old colonial villas and are charming, rather than with all the amenities. The Sala Prabang is opposite the Mekong and is in two beautiful buildings. The location is brilliant - in a quiet spot but a five-minute walk from the night market, local market and good restaurants and cafes.The staff were incredibly considerate and helpful. The room was lovely - ask for a Mekong View room with a private balcony. The breakfast was simple but nice, and the breakfast terrace overlooks the river. I'd highly recommend this hotel to anyone who appreciates simple good taste and colonial elegance.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank AliceL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2008

Yes, this hotel is perfectly adequate in Laotian terms. But beware a few points NOT properly explained in any of the guides which recommend it.
First it has two wings, ie two buildings about 75 metres apart on the same street. This gives it a slightly schizophrenic and un-managed feel.
Secondly, although its certainly on the street that runs right next to the Mekong, do NOT take up its offer to pay extra for a 'Mekong View' room. There ain't no Mekong view. There's a line of dense trees in front of the hotel which block out all sight of the river. In fact, if you book 'Mekong View', you'll pay extra for often quite intrusive street noise.
Thirdly, the 'restaurant' across the road right next to the river shore (which DOES have a nice river view) appears not to be owned by the hotel but actually to have an arrangement whereby it acts as their agent for the breakfasts. We never had such surly service elsewhere in Laos, almost as if they were doing us a favour. Yet when someone walked in off the street....wow, they jumped to it!
Fourthly, I notice there is a previous review criticising the hotel's cancellation policy. We certainly found them unyielding in another way. On the last day of our stay....we'd been there for 5 days which is longer than most tourists stay in LP.......our plane was not leaving until 5 pm. We asked them if we could use the room for an extra couple of hours after the checkout time of midday. This was low season and we knew they were not full. But they insisted we leave. I would say this is unheard of in Laos.

Otherwise, we had no real complaints. The room was fine although the bathroom nothing special. I recommend considering other places in LP before settling on Sala Prabang.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank pete-fran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2008

Gorgeous little hotel and a nice suprise. Great price. Great location. Baby friendly. Great service.

If you have a baby.......you'll appreciate this hotel. For $50 or $60 per night (yes I know you can get things even cheaper than that) we had a wonderful stay. Everything was clean and nice. They don't normally have refrigerators in the room but we needed one for our daughter (to keep her milk cold) and they kindly provided one in the room free of charge. Now the lights go off automatically and so does the fridge when you leave the room so again they were accomodating and gave us a spare key so we could leave the electricity on when we left.

Other nice touches.........a baby bathtub in the room!!!!! (what a nice surprise)
Nice hardwood floors
Nice decorations
Gorgeous baby crib
Great service

Fantastic place, fantastic town, well worth it! We were coming from Vietnam.........and looking for a great escape (vs. a cheap-o basics backpackers place) and were thrilled.

Only negative.........the bathroom door didn't really close so our baby was exploring in and out of the bathroom.......until we kind of sealed it off with a suitcase.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ilovetotraveldontyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2008

I booked a room for 3 nights at the Sala Prabang in February 2008. Unfortunately, I had to cancel my reservations nearly a month before I was to arrive in Laos.

Upon returning home from my trip to Cambodia, I found that I had been billed for the entire 3 nights--with the hotel insisting that I was told of their "cancellation policy"...and now am filing the disputed claim with my credit card company.

Beware!!!

Stayed: April 2008
1  Thank sanskritgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews