We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favourite place to stay in Luang Prabang.”
Review of Sala Prabang

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sala Prabang
Ranked #30 of 69 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
138 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“My favourite place to stay in Luang Prabang.”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

This is one of my favourite places to stay in the Luang Prabang. Everytime I have stayed here I have felt well looked after. The staff go out of their way to make sure your needs are met and are extremely friendly. The location is in such a great position- right on the river and only 5 mins walk away from the main street. Breakfast is served overlooking the river and the only criticism of the hotel would be to have more variety in the buffet. The rooms are clean and lovely. A lovely little boutique hotel in Luang Prabang that I like going back to again and again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank intrepid_pixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    113
    42
    15
    11
See reviews for
24
100
31
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Luang Prabang is a walking city and this hotel is well placed...a short walk to the palace museum, night market, wet market and Main Street. The hotel takes up small Mekong river fronting buildings, with 24/7 reception. Breakfast is open air, across the road, looking over the river. Very basic....toast is baguette cooked over an open coal fire...but picturesque with it. Rooms are also rustic and nice. Mattresses were soooo hard! Our toilet blocked intermittently. Our room had a balcony, where we could enjoy a restorative beer in the afternoon and watch the world go by....so we did!

Room Tip: Upstairs with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterSyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Very helpful staff here, and I would reccomend this place as the best bargain for your money. they helped me book boating fun trips on the mekong. i bartered for the price a bit and it worked! the place is soooo quiet from your bed, I was able to sleep until 1:00 in the afternoon, that felt so nice after my 30 hour bus ride!.. highly recomended and happy travels people!

Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank andrew w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

Excellent location overlooking the Mekong River. Service offered by all staff great, location for breakfast across road with great view of Mekong River.
Rooms in hotel very good plenty of space and comfortable beds, my room was at front of hotel with wonderful would recommend if you can get the same room type.

Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank MichaelwEnglish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
234 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

Fine for a short stay. Clean, friendly and courteous. Multi site hotel - so be careful - promises of " Mekong views" may be somewhat fanciful ! Otherwise: yes- no problems - good place. For a short visit.

Stayed November 2012
Helpful?
Thank yanhLondon_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Adequate 3 star accommodation. Well located on the Mekong River side with nice outlook and perfect breakfast restaurant across the street overlooking the river. Clean but small rooms, good shower. No refrigerator in rooms. Nice sitting rooms on street side overviewing passing activity on the street. Excellent WiFi throughout.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SDM121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

This hotel was ideal for a trip to Luang Prabang. Set in the heart of the old town, on the banks of the Mekong, the hotel is in walking distance of all the major sites.

The hotel it's self has a guest house feel as it is set in a few old houses. The room it's self was very comfortable and clean. We slept really well in the large bed.

Would definatly return here if we ever visit Luang Prabang again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Safad0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.3 mi away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#16 of 69 in Luang Prabang
258 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
#14 of 69 in Luang Prabang
870 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Apsara
The Apsara
#24 of 69 in Luang Prabang
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sanctuary Luang Prabang Hotel
Sanctuary Luang Prabang Hotel
#13 of 69 in Luang Prabang
375 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lan Kham Riverside
Lan Kham Riverside
#34 of 69 in Luang Prabang
97 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lakhangthong Boutique Hotel
Lakhangthong Boutique Hotel
#20 of 69 in Luang Prabang
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sala Prabang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sala Prabang

Property: Sala Prabang
Address: 81/1 Ounkham Road, Ban Xieng Mouane, Luang Prabang, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 69 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sala Prabang 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Agoda, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sala Prabang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sala Prabang Hotel Luang Prabang
Sala Prabang Luang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing