We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sala Prabang
Nearby Hotels
$254
$200
Sofitel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$150
$124
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$188
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$132
$84
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Sen Boutique Hotel(Luang Prabang)
$122
$115
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$380
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$233
$149
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Santi Resort & Spa(Luang Prabang)
$62
$60
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Santi Hotel(Luang Prabang)
$80
$64
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (268)
Filter reviews
268 results
Traveler rating
77
119
46
15
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
77
119
46
15
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmain buildingmekong riverdifferent buildingsbreakfast is servedban laohotel consistsnight marketwalking distance to everythingterrace overlooking the riverlarge bedegg stationexcellent locationlight sleeperboutique hotellovely roomper daythe breakfast area
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
142 - 147 of 268 reviews
Reviewed August 25, 2011

Stayed at Sala prabang during the low season so although there were still plenty of people around the road along the riverfront where Sala prabang is sited was fairly quiet at night. Never had any complaint about losing sleep due to noise. The rooms were comfortable and serene decor in beautifully resorted French colonial style villa. We were in an annexe just down from the main building. No mini bar in room but some are available. Fresh bottled water every day and an adequate if not 'flash' breakfast. No pastries but terrific house made fresh yoghurt to have with fresh season fruit each morning. Would recommend this hotel but ask for a room with fridge so you can sit on the balcony and enjoy a cold beer Lao and watch the world go by.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LovLifeNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2011

If you check out the architecture collection in the library, you will begin to understand that a lot of thought and technical talent went into the hotel's restoration. The use of natural materials such as stone and bamboo and the simple design accentutate the serene feel of the common areas and the rooms. As others have said, don't bother paying a premium for a 'river view' as trees hide it. And, with the wonderful weaving taking place in the area, its unfortunate that they haven't incorporated them into the decorations. The breakfast, across the street and overlooking the Mekong was very tasty and certainly atmospheric. We did hear noise as the street came to life after dark.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vicspics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2011

The Sala Prabang seems to be in a great situation, right beside the Mekong river in Luang Prabang. However that is also its drawback, as we found the situation made it very noisy, mostly as a result of motor bikes and tuk tuks late in the evening. This is a small hotel in a converted colonial-era building, which also means it has little sound insulation. We also found we had minimal hanging space for clothes and no drawer space at all. However the breakfast restaurant across the road and overlooking the Mekong was a very attractive place to eat and the breakfast was good. The position did also mean that we were in easy walking distance of most of the key attractions of Luang Prabang.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OxfordMeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2011

We stayed in another building of the hotel around the corner for 5 nights.
The rooms are minimalist...no decorations, small but neat and clean. However, the walls are paper thin. We heard our next door neighbor coughing through the night. Heard people leaving at 5:00AM which sounded loud enough to be in our room.
The room has only a bed or beds and 8 inch wide hanging space in an open wardrobe with absolutely no place to put your clothes but the floor.
Toilet not sealed to tiles on floor properly so there was leakage on the floor and a constant fetid smell. Bathroom sink also leaked.
Breakfast was a chaotic affair. Although breakfast was served from 7:00- 10:00AM if you were not early the fruit was gone and not replenished. They didn't bring you a coffee or tea to your table . It was self serve all the way from toast to eggs with 1/4 of a peice of fatty bacon placed on your plate with a que for everything. It was rare that all our breakfast was warm at the same time. There is ONE slow speed computer for all guests! Not only did you have to wait on line to use it but every guest complained about the intolerably slow speed. We gave up and went down the street to a high speed internet cafe.
Guests were instructed to remove their shoes BEFORE entering the hotel vestibule however on two occasions I saw one of the managers having a meeting with barefoot guests while he was fully shod!
The staff were wonderful and helpful however there are so many better places to stay for the high price that they ask. We would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank trulyByronBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2011

The previous reviews for this hotel are very mixed, but we thought it was lovely. We stayed in the main building, in a 'riverview room' (rather misnamed, as though it did face the river, the view from the balcony was obscured by trees - but still very pleasant). The room was large, the beds comfortable, we had a perfectly reasonable wardrobe, the water was hot, the bathroom a good size, and it was a great pleasure to sit on the balcony at the end of a long day (and we did have two chairs, unlike a previous reviewer). Staff very helpful, and breakfast good. Our room was quite quiet, even though it faced the street (and I'm a very light sleeper)

Other reviews have talked about the lack of heating - it was quite chilly, in December, but we just asked for extra blankets, and slept very cozily!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelquestLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews